Customer Reviews for

I Shall Not Want (Clare Fergusson/Russ Van Alstyne Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awesome series...must read

I could not put it down. I read the whole series, but this last one is so far the best of all. Clare and Russ grow on you like fictional characters rarely do. I found this author by chance and she will be one of my favorites for a long time! Can't wait for the next inst...
I could not put it down. I read the whole series, but this last one is so far the best of all. Clare and Russ grow on you like fictional characters rarely do. I found this author by chance and she will be one of my favorites for a long time! Can't wait for the next installment.

posted by redz74 on February 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

To Thee I Pledge

I Shall Not Want gets off to a slow start and I thought I wouldn¿t be able to complete the book but I enjoy the characters Police Chief Russ Van Alstyne and Rev. Clare Fergusson so much I decided to stick with it and I¿m glad I did. I waited a long time for I Shall Not ...
I Shall Not Want gets off to a slow start and I thought I wouldn¿t be able to complete the book but I enjoy the characters Police Chief Russ Van Alstyne and Rev. Clare Fergusson so much I decided to stick with it and I¿m glad I did. I waited a long time for I Shall Not Want because it¿s a follow up to All Mortal Flesh which I thoroughly enjoyed. Three quarters through the book it started resembling Russ and Clare¿s other adventures.

posted by Anonymous on August 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome series...must read

    I could not put it down. I read the whole series, but this last one is so far the best of all. Clare and Russ grow on you like fictional characters rarely do. I found this author by chance and she will be one of my favorites for a long time! Can't wait for the next installment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    I love the Clare Fergusson series--accidentally discovered the f

    I love the Clare Fergusson series--accidentally discovered the first one and was hooked. I've read all of them so far except the seventh, which is waiting on my Nook, and once I start them, I read them almost straight through in a day or so. The books usually move along very quickly and offer suspense and well-rounded characters. This one has been the best of all in terms of the tension/interest between Russ and Clare, but there is one aspect of of the book that drove me crazy--it has to do with the lack of proof-reading and research. The story deals with Spanish-speaking people, yet there are several glaring mistakes in the Spanish. If an author puts words/expressions in a foreign language, the very MINIMUM readers should be able to expect from that author is correctness. Example: "BuenOS noches." Spanish adjectives agree with their nouns--it should be "BuenAS noches." (And the character who actually uses this incorrect Spanish in the book is Hispanic!) Russ speaks a couple of times about not "caring" what another character said. He uses the expression, "No cuido." Cuido means "to take care of", not "to care about." He should say, "No me importa." These are basic beginning Spanish grammar easily checked, and the errors were definitely annoying, at least for me. It's like people who write about someone putting on her "leotards" rather than her leotard (singular, unless you layer one over the other, which would be a very uncomfortable fit), when simple proofing/checking with someone who knows could avoid this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2008

    To Thee I Pledge

    I Shall Not Want gets off to a slow start and I thought I wouldn¿t be able to complete the book but I enjoy the characters Police Chief Russ Van Alstyne and Rev. Clare Fergusson so much I decided to stick with it and I¿m glad I did. I waited a long time for I Shall Not Want because it¿s a follow up to All Mortal Flesh which I thoroughly enjoyed. Three quarters through the book it started resembling Russ and Clare¿s other adventures.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Best series

    This was such a great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    To Jake

    Hi im Frostdrop. A silver she with big blcue eyes and a black tail. I cant stand being picked. I am brave . Thats stupid!!!!!! So may i be ur mate?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Excellent Series

    I've read/listen to the entire series earlier & waiting for the next book. I bought the entire series for Nook because my husband is reading them & likes the larger font option on the Nook. Each book in the series is different story line, only the characters remain the same. One of the few series I would buy twice (1st in paperback/hardcover books & now in e-books). Will probably read again on next vacation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    Highly recommend

    I became hooked on these books after reading #1 and have continued with the first six. My favorite type of book is always a mystery but I find the relationship between Clare and Russ intriguing and builds during each successive book. I can hardly wait for #7 to come out in paperback. I have kept all six books together in the box they came in and lend them as a set to friends and they all find them most enjoyable too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    Great Series

    I loved every book in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ongoing Series

    This is the first book of this series that I've read, I might read others but probably wouldn't search them out. Some interesting concepts but not as tightly constructed as they could be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another fine offering from Spencer-Fleming

    The author has a nice touch for dialog and characters. She effectively evokes small town America. Her characters are well-developed and interesting. The dialog is crisp and never tedious. This book ends on a positive note, but still makes us look forward to the next novel in the series.
    All in all Spencer-Fleming is a good author who turns out a very readable novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2008

    EXCEPTIONAL!

    I Shall Not Want is the 6th book in Julia Spencer-Fleming's award-winning series featuring the Episcopalian Reverend Claire Fergusson. Similar to the other books in this series I could not put this novel down and I was disappointed to read the final page. I am already anxiously awaiting the next book in this series! Religion, difficult ethical dilemmas, and current events are all interwoven with tragedy, humor, and romance. This superbly written novel handles all of these issues with sensitivity and ease. I love a good mystery and Spencer-Fleming consistently delivers engrossing, suspenseful twists in plot, as well as complex and engaging characters. The books are set in the sleepy town of Millers Kill, New York. There is a dark undercurrent running through the town, and Clare Fergusson always seems to be embroiled in troubling events in some way. I feel as if I intimately know Claire Fergusson, a truly good person who manages her troubles with grace. Her complicated relationship with Chief of Police Russ Van Alstyne is fascinating. They are supported by a number of interesting players, all of whom add depth to the plot. All books in this series offer intelligent, thought-provoking plots and well-developed characters. I strongly recommend that readers begin with In the Bleak Midwinter, Spencer-Fleming's first book in this series. Regular readers of this series and new readers alike will not be disappointed in her latest effort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2008

    A reviewer

    I love this series and this book does not disapoint. If you are new to this series, I would start at the begining and work your way up to this one. The story is smart, fun, and very well crafted. This series has become one of my absolute favorites. I can't figure out why it's not more well know. Maybe the 'priest' thing scares people off. If it does, they are missing out. The fact that Claire is a priest is a part of the story, but you are not over whelmed with religion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    engaging character driven police procedural

    In Miller¿s Kill, New York, Episcopal priest Clare Fergusson and Police Chief Russ Van Alstyne remain in shock over the death of his wife Linda (see ALL MORTAL FLESH). Out of respect for the dead and lingering guilt over their feelings for one another, though both remain strongly attracted to each other, Clare and Russ avoid one another. --- Their grief and guilt are interrupted when an unknown vigilante team assaults a van loaded with Mexican migrant farm workers. Russ investigates the nasty incident with Clare assisting him as he believes her presence as a woman and a minister might enable him to get the migrant workers to open up otherwise he faces a wall of silence as Mexican workers do not trust law enforcement in these times of harassment. Soon other Latinos are murdered leaving the cop and the preacher to wonder if a war on foreigners has come to Upstate New York. --- The latest Fergusson and Van Alstyne tale continues the complicated and convoluted relationship made exponentially even more complex by the haunting spectral memory of Linda each feels they betrayed her by their feelings for one another. Although the plot takes improbable spins, the exciting look at foreign migrant workers is timely. Fans of the series will enjoy this character driven entry. --- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    Another superb novel.

    Julia Spencer-Fleming¿s last book, All Mortal Flesh, was a stay-up-all-night read full of plot twists and turns. It also left her readers impatiently waiting for the next book in the series. I Shall Not Want was well worth the wait. I¿ve been a fan of the Clare Fergusson/Russ Van Alstyne series from its inception. Spencer-Fleming is one of those rare authors able to deliver the complete package. Her characters are consistently complex and engaging, and the emotional plotlines compelling. The mystery plots are intelligent and well delivered. Setting is beautifully portrayed and intrinsic to the story. And line-by-line, Spencer-Fleming simply writes well, allowing readers to sink into each story without distraction. The series arc of character development is most satisfying if the books are read in order. Therefore, although each book works as a stand-alone, I strongly recommend starting at the beginning of the series with In the Bleak Midwinter (which, by the way, won Anthony, Agatha, Dilys, Macavity, and Barry Awards.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2008

    I Shall Not Want does not disappoint.

    From the first, the author holds the reader captive and doesn¿t let go until the last page of this engrossing and addictive 6th entry in the series about Claire Fergusson and Russ Van Alstyne. The reader is quickly updated on what has transpired with the main characters as well as the town of Miller¿s Kill, itself as much a character as the people who inhabit the story, since the end of ¿All Mortal Flesh,¿ New characters are introduced, including Hadley Knox, a new arrival who is the town¿s newest member of the Miller¿s Kill Police Force. The addition of a young, attractive, single mother, begins ripples of change in the town¿s still waters. Even more than in earlier books, the sense of community is strong in ¿I Shall Not Want.¿ Claire¿s church community and Russ¿s police community stand strong to support Claire and Russ, and the introduction of Russ¿s sister Margie and her husband contribute to what we know about Russ. More romance than usual and several suspenseful events help keep the story moving swiftly to its conclusion. This book is well worth reading, both for regular readers of this series and new readers. They won¿t be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2008

    I laughed, I cried. It¿s wonderful!

    Julia Spencer-Fleming is one of my favorite authors. I don¿t want to tell any details because the surprises are part of the pleasure, but it will have your heart pounding and make you cheer, break your heart and make you laugh out loud. Julia Spencer-Fleming lulls you with the deep, quiet peace of the old church and then slams you with violence and passion. Clare and Russ are so real, I feel I¿d recognize them on the street, and the supporting characters are interesting and arouse strong feelings, both positive and negative. JS-F explores serious questions without lecturing¿she lets you experience the situations instead of telling you what to think. This book deserves more than five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2008

    Wants for nothing, but will leave you wanting more!

    Julia Spencer-Fleming's done it again! As a younger female Episcopal priest myself, I appreciate Julia's ability to unpack the complexities of the life of a single, female priest, serving in a small town in the 'North Country.' 'I Shall Not Want' is a particularly satisfying addition to the Clare Fergusson/Russ Van Alstyne series. Spencer-Fleming compellingly engages very timely topics such as immigration, the war on drugs and the war in Iraq, sexism in the workplace, and the gifts and challenges of generations of family negotiating life together. If that was not enough, the mystery is exhilarating, and the romance, hotter than August. And of course, she leaves us wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2008

    A reviewer

    Having just read an exerpt of Julia Spencer-Fleming's latest Clare Fergusson/Russ Van Alstyne novel, I SHALL NOT WANT, I can only say I want so very much more! This teaser flooded my mind with all that has happened to Russ and Clare, and how much I care for them. And in this short reading, I find I want to learn more about Hadley Know, the newest officer to join Miller's Kill finest. Julia Spencer-Fleming creates people who are so believable that it is sometimes hard to remember that they are fiction. I have marked June 10th on my calendar so I can be one of the first to have I SHALL NOT WANT in hand. But if YOU haven't read Julia Spencer-Fleming yet, buy this one and all the others, too. Then start at the beginning, and savor each page. You will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3