Customer Reviews for

I, Sniper (Bob Lee Swagger Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 268 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(108)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Good fun, lots of cool tech stuff about weaponry.

Exciting from start to finish, I,Sniper has hero Bob Lee Swagger in great form. Amazingly, Stephen Hunter's almost 70 year old Bob Lee is still a vital and unforgettable character. (Think Clint Eastwood in "Gran Torino") Tough as nails, but honor and duty bound, he wa...
Exciting from start to finish, I,Sniper has hero Bob Lee Swagger in great form. Amazingly, Stephen Hunter's almost 70 year old Bob Lee is still a vital and unforgettable character. (Think Clint Eastwood in "Gran Torino") Tough as nails, but honor and duty bound, he wades through the bad guys with little difficulty. Not even torture can keep him down. Great entertainment all around.

posted by BKR53 on January 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Won't pick up Hunter again.

It pains me to write this review of a favorite author. In "I, Sniper" it is obvious that Stephen Hunter has given up on caring about the little things that make a novel great. He seems dead set on making a political statement; bashing the "Liberal Media" in Glenn Beck f...
It pains me to write this review of a favorite author. In "I, Sniper" it is obvious that Stephen Hunter has given up on caring about the little things that make a novel great. He seems dead set on making a political statement; bashing the "Liberal Media" in Glenn Beck fashion, exposing the arrogant elitists for the moral deviants he believes them to be. Everyone hates the poor Marine sniper and loves the Hollywood star. I can get this rubbish on Drudge without paying twenty-six dollars for it.
Here are some flaws in the story that finally caused me to put the novel down:

Strike 1. On page 119, Swagger is receiving a report from agent Chandler about sniper trainer Anto Grogan. Her report is professional and filled with the military lingo of an experienced veteran, but when Swagger ends the conversation with "Out here," Chandler reverts to being a (paraphrasing) "Dumb girl".

Strike 2. On page 171, Swagger was catching up on the news and relates a story of a Wyoming congressman who represents the district where a Hollywood elitist owns a vast ranch. Newsflash: Wyoming has only one member in the House of Representatives who represents the entire state, not any one district.

Strike 3. On page 183, Nick Memphis's second in command begins a diatribe on how the media creates some false image that the poor republicans are bad and everything Liberal is good. That's fine with me if Stephen Hunter believes such rubish, but he shouldn't try to disguise it as a work of fiction.

I don't have any more because I put the novel down at Chapter 25. Stephen Hunter, you disappoint me, sir. I have been a Huge fan until now. I will put "I, Sniper" in a trashcan. I would be too embarrassed to sell it for a quarter at my wife's next garage sale.

posted by SuspenseJunkyWY on February 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 274 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted January 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good fun, lots of cool tech stuff about weaponry.

    Exciting from start to finish, I,Sniper has hero Bob Lee Swagger in great form. Amazingly, Stephen Hunter's almost 70 year old Bob Lee is still a vital and unforgettable character. (Think Clint Eastwood in "Gran Torino") Tough as nails, but honor and duty bound, he wades through the bad guys with little difficulty. Not even torture can keep him down. Great entertainment all around.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    Good Book - Embarrassing Gaffe for Publisher on First Page

    On the very first page, there is an obvious typo which casts a pall over the book, which otherwise reads very well. The book, entitled "I, Sniper", is very clearly, in large print titled "I, Snipper". No, I am not kidding! I am so tired of publisher mistakes such as this and wish I could get my money back like I could for other damaged materials. This leaves a bad taste for the rest of the book, which is really very good and better than the other previous Hunter books have been. I ordered this in the Nook version, so perhaps it is different in the printed version - I certainly hope so. As it is, I really would like to see publishers and book sellers start standing behind their products, especially for blatant errors such as this!

    5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good book, but ...

    I, Sniper is a good read. The plot moves right along without the wandering verbiage so many mystery writers seem to fall into. We don't need 30 pages of character building, thanks very much.

    Hunter provides the usual cast of characters, well done, good dialog.

    I would quibble that the plot is a re-run of one of his earlier novels (evil forces conspire to muddy the name of a hero and Swagger must defeat them) But it is so well done that it is worth the read.

    If you like Hunter, you'll like this book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    Won't pick up Hunter again.

    It pains me to write this review of a favorite author. In "I, Sniper" it is obvious that Stephen Hunter has given up on caring about the little things that make a novel great. He seems dead set on making a political statement; bashing the "Liberal Media" in Glenn Beck fashion, exposing the arrogant elitists for the moral deviants he believes them to be. Everyone hates the poor Marine sniper and loves the Hollywood star. I can get this rubbish on Drudge without paying twenty-six dollars for it.
    Here are some flaws in the story that finally caused me to put the novel down:

    Strike 1. On page 119, Swagger is receiving a report from agent Chandler about sniper trainer Anto Grogan. Her report is professional and filled with the military lingo of an experienced veteran, but when Swagger ends the conversation with "Out here," Chandler reverts to being a (paraphrasing) "Dumb girl".

    Strike 2. On page 171, Swagger was catching up on the news and relates a story of a Wyoming congressman who represents the district where a Hollywood elitist owns a vast ranch. Newsflash: Wyoming has only one member in the House of Representatives who represents the entire state, not any one district.

    Strike 3. On page 183, Nick Memphis's second in command begins a diatribe on how the media creates some false image that the poor republicans are bad and everything Liberal is good. That's fine with me if Stephen Hunter believes such rubish, but he shouldn't try to disguise it as a work of fiction.

    I don't have any more because I put the novel down at Chapter 25. Stephen Hunter, you disappoint me, sir. I have been a Huge fan until now. I will put "I, Sniper" in a trashcan. I would be too embarrassed to sell it for a quarter at my wife's next garage sale.

    4 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2010

    Great Read

    I'd certainly give the leftie who put this book down a quarter for his copy; in fact I'd give him the full asking price. Like every other Swagger book I couldn't put this one down. It was obvious who the bad guy was from almost the get go but it was enjoyable to witness his demise. Long live B. L. Swagger!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    Great read for a Conservative minded patriot.

    Along with a great plot, Hunter is extremely accurate when it comes to anything guns. I'm so tired of some idiot Liberal writing something stupid about guns because they haven't researched the subject, or simply hate guns. This author knows guns, and writes realistic TODAY kinds of plots that he has thoroughly researched. A real winner among all of his fine books. Liberal wimps will not enjoy Hunter's writings!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    Very good

    As a retired military member, 1966 to 1987, I have met my share of soldiers like Bob Lee. Those that volunteered for more than 1 tour in SEA did it for love of country. Sadly, their return to The World caused more pain for them than the war itself. Every one I know from that group is a patriot and a conservative. Hanoi Jane caused the death of 2 prisoners when notes they gave her for their families were given to a guard. It is reasonable to assume that Bob Lee is as conservative as I. I am a proud patriot. God Bless America.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    Bored to death. Recommed only if you have trouble sleeping.

    I have read all of the Swagger novels and was anxious to read this one. It was a total disapointment. As a matter of fact, it bored me to death, and for the first time ever it put me to sleep. There was just to much description, which I could have lived without, and did not enhance the story at all. Sad to say this is the first Hunter novel that I just could not finish.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Legacy Continues

    Swagger is back! There are definite turning points in the book that will keep you reading late into the night or perhaps long past the start of your favorite TV episode. You will most likely enjoy how this book ends and perhaps even think of the Gunslinger (Dark Tower) series.

    It is difficult to fully appreciate this book without having read the entire Swagger series. Nonetheless, this may be the book that motivates you to mass purchase Stephen Hunter's earlier works and then quickly realize the cheer character development is plenty to keep you wanting more.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    1 of my top 5 all-time thrillers!!!

    This book is absolutely fantastic. Extreme page-turner, very very intelligent plot and writing, wonderful main characters, original plot, extremely satisfying endings to book and other incidents within. I will get all of the other Stephen Hunter books, since this was my first one. What a treat! I've now read a couple more, and they are almost as good - this one tops them all!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    confusing

    unlike some of his early books, this one in attempt to weave a good story, confusing reigns!! in order to "keep" up the attention span, i often would skim several paragraphs in order to follow with an important event, issue and even a character. while i will continue to read his books, i wish he would change his style and givee his readers a story that is rich in characters as well as complexity of events.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Bob Lee Swagger never misses

    All of the Swagger navels have been entertaining, and the writer is very knowlegeble about firearms. In this book,the future of scope technologies is explored. It presents a solution to all of us long range shooters for range and windage compensation. Read it and enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    I'm a Stephen Hunter fan. This is one of the good ones.

    I have now read all of the books in the Bob Lee Swagger Series. In this one, I particularly liked the old Viet Nam combat veteran getting the chance to feel admiration & love from the younger men now in the military.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    Glaring Error

    At the beginning of Chapter 4, Nick is at a press conference in Washington, D.C. On page 34, at the end of the chapter he has Nick saying he can be in Grand Rapids, Michigan in 3 hours and that "It was 9:35 p.m, 10:35 in the Midwest." Last time I looked, Grand Rapids as well as the rest of the state of Michigan was in the same time zone as D.C. Even if Grand Rapids were in a "midwest" time zone, it would be an hour earlier, not later than D.C.

    Also, the dialogue is almost unreadable. I think chapter 4 is all I will finish. He needs a better editor.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I, Gamer

    I, Sniper is a fun read. Yes, there's a lot of killing, but it feels more like a video game than real life. Stephen Hunter does a great job at playing the reader along, tricking and surprising to the end. For me, there were no politics involved, because, as I say, I saw it as entertainment. If you take it too seriously, well, you might get worked up. Life's too short for that.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    Thriller

    Another great thriller with a surprise ending!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    1 Sniper

    First book by this author. However, I will now find the rest of his books and read them. Especially the Bob Lee Swagger Series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    I, sniper

    A very good read although a little to heavy on the techno-babble and a little light on action.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Good. Not the best.

    A bit drawn out, slow starting but decent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Great book

    Vvery good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 274 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14