Customer Reviews for

I Still Dream About You

Average Rating 3.5
( 424 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(141)

4 Star

(107)

3 Star

(95)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

This is a heartwarming story

Still beautiful, former Miss Alabama Maggie Fortenberry works for Red Mountain Realty in Birmingham. She is very successful at her job and considers her co-workers as friends. Yet with all she knows she has going for herself, Maggie has problems getting out of bed eac...
Still beautiful, former Miss Alabama Maggie Fortenberry works for Red Mountain Realty in Birmingham. She is very successful at her job and considers her co-workers as friends. Yet with all she knows she has going for herself, Maggie has problems getting out of bed each day as she wonders what she has worth living. Maggie has made elaborate plans to commit suicide without any of her friends knowing she killed herself.

On the day she decides it is time to deploy her exit strategy, she gets the contract to sell Crestview on Red Mountain. She has dreamed of owning that house all her life and wants to make sure the right people, appreciative of this lovely abode, will buy it. She postpones her departure until she finds two people she likes and trusts to do right by Crestview buy the place. Her time selling the house has given Maggie the will to live.

This is a heartwarming story about a woman who rejected love in pursuit of a dream of becoming Miss America and living on Red Mountain that never materialized. Instead she became a realtor instead, but fails to understand how rich she truly is with friends like Brenda and Ethel, and can eat Krispy Kreme doughnuts without weight gain Like Brenda I just look at one and gain 5 pounds). Miracles can come in many ways as Fannie Flagg merges humor with somberness to tell the passionate tender tale that we are all rich in our own ways if we take the time to learn how.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on September 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

not a mystery

Ahhhhh, Birmingham, Alabama, how I miss that city! I was excited to read what was advertised as a mystery by Fannie Flagg. But alas this book did not meet my expectations. While the descriptions of the Magic City were spot on and life in the Old South was true to what I...
Ahhhhh, Birmingham, Alabama, how I miss that city! I was excited to read what was advertised as a mystery by Fannie Flagg. But alas this book did not meet my expectations. While the descriptions of the Magic City were spot on and life in the Old South was true to what I remember, having lived there for ten years; I STILL DREAM OF YOU is not a mystery. Though there is a small mystery within the novel, the story is Maggie's. And I found her to be whining and a bit boring.

In the last days of the 2008 Presidential Election, Margaret Fortenberry has made the decision to leave. She has made a list of pros and con's: 14 pro and only 2 cons to stay in this world. Maybe she saw too many movies. After all, the former Miss Alabama spent her formulation years living above the Dreamland Theatre. She hadn't accomplished anything in her 60 years, had she? And she misses her great friend, Hazel "the biggest little Real Estate woman in the world." She should have married Charles, but then it was Richard that she devoted her child bearing years. Oh the scandal of it, she had a long adulterous affair with a married man! Always the gentile Southern woman, she can't leave until she ties up all the loose ends - and the loose ends keep her from her mission throughout the book.

We meet Red Mountain Real Estate's Team Hazel: Maggie, Brenda, Ethel and even the late Hazel through flashback vignettes and short chapters set in 2008 and 2009. The characters are well developed and the setting descriptions, especially Maggie's dream home, Crestview are wonderfully accurate. However, Flagg's humor doesn't seem appropriate when the subject of suicide is the main plot. For 175 pages I grew weary of Maggie, but after Crestview goes on the market and a skeleton is found in the old home's attic, the story picks up and Flagg's humor shines to the end of the novel.

posted by Molinarolo on October 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 432 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22
  • Posted September 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a heartwarming story

    Still beautiful, former Miss Alabama Maggie Fortenberry works for Red Mountain Realty in Birmingham. She is very successful at her job and considers her co-workers as friends. Yet with all she knows she has going for herself, Maggie has problems getting out of bed each day as she wonders what she has worth living. Maggie has made elaborate plans to commit suicide without any of her friends knowing she killed herself.

    On the day she decides it is time to deploy her exit strategy, she gets the contract to sell Crestview on Red Mountain. She has dreamed of owning that house all her life and wants to make sure the right people, appreciative of this lovely abode, will buy it. She postpones her departure until she finds two people she likes and trusts to do right by Crestview buy the place. Her time selling the house has given Maggie the will to live.

    This is a heartwarming story about a woman who rejected love in pursuit of a dream of becoming Miss America and living on Red Mountain that never materialized. Instead she became a realtor instead, but fails to understand how rich she truly is with friends like Brenda and Ethel, and can eat Krispy Kreme doughnuts without weight gain Like Brenda I just look at one and gain 5 pounds). Miracles can come in many ways as Fannie Flagg merges humor with somberness to tell the passionate tender tale that we are all rich in our own ways if we take the time to learn how.

    Harriet Klausner

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This Book Is Heaven Sent

    Let me start by saying I love Fannie Flagg and this book is another reminder why. Maggie...Brenda...Ethel...you will fall in love with everyone of these characters. Even in offering my review, I don't think my words will do it justice. I'd also recommend that you buy "When God Stopped Keeping Score," an intimate look at the power of God and forgiveness. If you ever felt bound by your hurt, guilt or anger, given the chance, this book will change your life.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    True entertainment!

    Love all of Fannie Flagg's books. Funny and touching.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Kevin

    Bios at vig res 1...i rip off your shirt popping off the buttons

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    not a mystery

    Ahhhhh, Birmingham, Alabama, how I miss that city! I was excited to read what was advertised as a mystery by Fannie Flagg. But alas this book did not meet my expectations. While the descriptions of the Magic City were spot on and life in the Old South was true to what I remember, having lived there for ten years; I STILL DREAM OF YOU is not a mystery. Though there is a small mystery within the novel, the story is Maggie's. And I found her to be whining and a bit boring.

    In the last days of the 2008 Presidential Election, Margaret Fortenberry has made the decision to leave. She has made a list of pros and con's: 14 pro and only 2 cons to stay in this world. Maybe she saw too many movies. After all, the former Miss Alabama spent her formulation years living above the Dreamland Theatre. She hadn't accomplished anything in her 60 years, had she? And she misses her great friend, Hazel "the biggest little Real Estate woman in the world." She should have married Charles, but then it was Richard that she devoted her child bearing years. Oh the scandal of it, she had a long adulterous affair with a married man! Always the gentile Southern woman, she can't leave until she ties up all the loose ends - and the loose ends keep her from her mission throughout the book.

    We meet Red Mountain Real Estate's Team Hazel: Maggie, Brenda, Ethel and even the late Hazel through flashback vignettes and short chapters set in 2008 and 2009. The characters are well developed and the setting descriptions, especially Maggie's dream home, Crestview are wonderfully accurate. However, Flagg's humor doesn't seem appropriate when the subject of suicide is the main plot. For 175 pages I grew weary of Maggie, but after Crestview goes on the market and a skeleton is found in the old home's attic, the story picks up and Flagg's humor shines to the end of the novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    Not her best!

    I tried to like this, but was definitely not one of her better ones. First, I don't usually care for an author reading her own book, and that held true for the audio version of this book. Second, I didn't care for what seemed like drawn out opinions of certain topics. If I wasn't one who feels compelled to finish every book, I would not have finished this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2010

    Sadly I must suggest a moderate rating

    Fannie Flagg is one of my favorite authors. I usually remember funny quotes, but not this time. This is not her best work and I feel disloyal even making these statements.


    This is not the best of Fannie Flagg.

    GrandmaJoOH

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Katherine

    I absolutely love Fannie Flagg books. Her characters are so engrossing and Daisy Fay is no different. I found myself laughing outloud. A must read like all her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    I wish I had a Hazel Whisenknott in my world!  As for Maggie, I

    I wish I had a Hazel Whisenknott in my world!  As for Maggie, I just wanted to shake her from time to time.  The characters were very well developed and I enjoyed the book.  I am a Birmingham gal and a huge Fannie fan!  Was it her best?  Nope, that would be the All Girls Filing Station, but certainly worth reading. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    ENTERTAINING

    I LOVE MOST EVERYTHING FANNIE FLAGG HAS WRITTEN. "I STILL DREAM ABOUT YOU" WAS A FUN READ...I NEVER GOT BORED. IT WAS COMPARABLE TO A JANET EVANOVICH "STEPHANIE PLUM" NOVEL, FUNNY AND INTERESTING.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2013

    Believable charaters

    The author does a great job making you feel like the characters are real. I would tell anybody to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I love all of her books. Each one is so different but with the s

    I love all of her books. Each one is so different but with the same hometown feel. I love her. I keep checking back when her next book will be coming out. I will be the first in line at the bookstore. She was great on t.v. but she is a better author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Worse book.

    It was like reading a book written for a ten year old. What a disapointment. Certainly not worth anyone's time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Enjoyed this book

    Fun, Light reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Enjoyed this

    I love all Fannie Flagg books and don't think I could ever rate one of her books lower than four stars. The main character in this book seemed to have everything going for her, but was a very sad person. Would definitely recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Fun book

    Fun book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fabulous Cast of Characters

    I Still Dream About You follows along with a former Miss Alabama, Maggie Fortenberry, and her bout with depression. She is lonely and not where she thought she would end up in life, but no one else around her seems to see her that way. Everyone else thinks she is still gorgeous and leading a pretty nice life. Maggie is a real estate agent, but the business she's worked at isn't doing so well - mostly due to a vindictive competitor. Maggie is planning her suicide throughout the entire story, but things get put on hold time and time again. Especially when she gets the listing for the best house in town - she has to see it through. The mystery of the story comes with the house and we go back and forth in time to discover how it all ties together.

    I felt sorry for Maggie at times, as great as she thinks her best friend is - she doesn't listen to her when she tries to tell her what's going on with her life. Maggie is too much of a pushover, even when she discovers she really does have a backbone, it still doesn't hold. The oddity of the characters was in true Fannie Flagg style and they were the best part of the book. From that best friend with an overeating problem to the midget boss that has a fascination with wearing costumes. The mystery was what I was waiting for the whole time and it took more than half of the book for it to even come up. That said the mystery was a good side story to what was going on in Maggie's life. I do wish the mystery would have taken place in the current time though so that more of the other characters would have played into it and kept those parts light and fun. All in all a decent read, but it's no Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Café.

    Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    always a pleasure

    Fannie Flagg always writes a comfortable, warmly human story... and this one is no different. There is always a character in the book you can relate to, or you somehow know. If you want a warm, fuzzy, with hints of humor, easy read to go with your cup of tea, this is it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Great book!

    What fun. I laughed out loud. The characters were developed in such a way that i could relate easily to them while i found their foibles very humorous. Thanks Ms. Flagg!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Not her best at all

    I am very disappointed in this book, and I have decided to stop reading it. I have read 137 pages (far more than I should have) and don't want to read a book centered around a character planning her death. The details are not interesting, and frankly, this book doesn't seem like Fannie Flagg at all. I've read both Can't Wait to Get to Heaven and Welcome to the World, Baby Girl, and both are excellent! The most redeeming character in this book is Hazel. Other than that..completely boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 432 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22