Customer Reviews for

I Still Dream About You

Average Rating 3.5
( 424 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(141)

4 Star

(107)

3 Star

(95)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

This is a heartwarming story

Still beautiful, former Miss Alabama Maggie Fortenberry works for Red Mountain Realty in Birmingham. She is very successful at her job and considers her co-workers as friends. Yet with all she knows she has going for herself, Maggie has problems getting out of bed eac...
Still beautiful, former Miss Alabama Maggie Fortenberry works for Red Mountain Realty in Birmingham. She is very successful at her job and considers her co-workers as friends. Yet with all she knows she has going for herself, Maggie has problems getting out of bed each day as she wonders what she has worth living. Maggie has made elaborate plans to commit suicide without any of her friends knowing she killed herself.

On the day she decides it is time to deploy her exit strategy, she gets the contract to sell Crestview on Red Mountain. She has dreamed of owning that house all her life and wants to make sure the right people, appreciative of this lovely abode, will buy it. She postpones her departure until she finds two people she likes and trusts to do right by Crestview buy the place. Her time selling the house has given Maggie the will to live.

This is a heartwarming story about a woman who rejected love in pursuit of a dream of becoming Miss America and living on Red Mountain that never materialized. Instead she became a realtor instead, but fails to understand how rich she truly is with friends like Brenda and Ethel, and can eat Krispy Kreme doughnuts without weight gain Like Brenda I just look at one and gain 5 pounds). Miracles can come in many ways as Fannie Flagg merges humor with somberness to tell the passionate tender tale that we are all rich in our own ways if we take the time to learn how.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on September 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

not a mystery

Ahhhhh, Birmingham, Alabama, how I miss that city! I was excited to read what was advertised as a mystery by Fannie Flagg. But alas this book did not meet my expectations. While the descriptions of the Magic City were spot on and life in the Old South was true to what I...
Ahhhhh, Birmingham, Alabama, how I miss that city! I was excited to read what was advertised as a mystery by Fannie Flagg. But alas this book did not meet my expectations. While the descriptions of the Magic City were spot on and life in the Old South was true to what I remember, having lived there for ten years; I STILL DREAM OF YOU is not a mystery. Though there is a small mystery within the novel, the story is Maggie's. And I found her to be whining and a bit boring.

In the last days of the 2008 Presidential Election, Margaret Fortenberry has made the decision to leave. She has made a list of pros and con's: 14 pro and only 2 cons to stay in this world. Maybe she saw too many movies. After all, the former Miss Alabama spent her formulation years living above the Dreamland Theatre. She hadn't accomplished anything in her 60 years, had she? And she misses her great friend, Hazel "the biggest little Real Estate woman in the world." She should have married Charles, but then it was Richard that she devoted her child bearing years. Oh the scandal of it, she had a long adulterous affair with a married man! Always the gentile Southern woman, she can't leave until she ties up all the loose ends - and the loose ends keep her from her mission throughout the book.

We meet Red Mountain Real Estate's Team Hazel: Maggie, Brenda, Ethel and even the late Hazel through flashback vignettes and short chapters set in 2008 and 2009. The characters are well developed and the setting descriptions, especially Maggie's dream home, Crestview are wonderfully accurate. However, Flagg's humor doesn't seem appropriate when the subject of suicide is the main plot. For 175 pages I grew weary of Maggie, but after Crestview goes on the market and a skeleton is found in the old home's attic, the story picks up and Flagg's humor shines to the end of the novel.

posted by Molinarolo on October 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    I wish I had a Hazel Whisenknott in my world!  As for Maggie, I

    I wish I had a Hazel Whisenknott in my world!  As for Maggie, I just wanted to shake her from time to time.  The characters were very well developed and I enjoyed the book.  I am a Birmingham gal and a huge Fannie fan!  Was it her best?  Nope, that would be the All Girls Filing Station, but certainly worth reading. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Enjoyed this

    I love all Fannie Flagg books and don't think I could ever rate one of her books lower than four stars. The main character in this book seemed to have everything going for her, but was a very sad person. Would definitely recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Fun book

    Fun book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    Warm Story

    Loved it. was just the kind of story I needed when I read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Warm and Lighthearted, but Thin Characters

    I have read enough Fannie Flagg novels to know not to expect a linear story, and "I Still Dream About You" is no exception. This novel is a quick read with mostly two to four page "chapters" that jump around from character to character and to different times and places. Some chapters have something to do with moving the story along. Some don't at all, but are rather little slices of life on the subject character. I was a bit disappointed in that most of the characters were not well formed, but rather had one single, often physical and quirky trait that was used to define them completely. Hazel is a little person. Ethel is an 88 year old who dresses in head to toe purple. Brenda obsesses about food. Babs Bingington is the completely evil nemesis. There isn't even a lot to say about the main character Maggie, except that she was a former Miss Alabama, who takes concern about hurting or inconveniencing others to an extreme. I also didn't like that Maggie, as a real estate agent, was particular in trying to make sure the houses she sold went to the "right" kind of person. Her intentions might have been honorable, but her practices seemed discriminatory. Aren't houses supposed to go to the highest bidder? Despite these shortcomings, I enjoyed the novel. The trick is not to get impatient, but simply enjoy the ride. Flagg's books are usually filled with reminiscences, both fond and regretful, and evoke in this reader similar thoughts about her own life. There is a running theme in the book about the collective shame the people of Alabama--and particularly Birmingham--have had to carry since the civil rights era, and one can feel Flagg's personal sadness about the city she clearly loves. It elicits thoughts about how often a whole group of people end up being fairly or unfairly tied to an ugly history. It's much like religion--in that when something very bad is done in the name of a religion, it sometimes ends up negating all the good things done in the same name. An unfortunate reality. And like the magnificent Miss Flagg, I digress. My recommendation--pick up the book, forget about taking away a huge and important message about life, and just enjoy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another Fannie Flagg Hit

    I love Fannie Flagg's humor ... she's funny without being crude. This book has everything from crazy real estate agents to little people to the main character, a former beauty queen, who's thinking about "leaving." She writes with warmth and wit. At times I laughed out loud! If you're looking to read something light and worthwhile, this is it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    If you liked Fried Green Tomatoes, you'll love this book. The characters were easy to relate to and you feel like you know them personally. Very uplifting messages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    What a wonderful surprising ending!

    This is a must read book. The characters are portrayed so beautifully and as hard working women. The entire book is a fascinating mystery that keeps you guessing until the last page. Actually, you are sad to see the book end. A wonderful touching book to read on a cold winter day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    Modern classic southern literature

    Fanny has done it again. She nailed Miss Alabama with Maggie. As a matter of fact I know one myself. Great read, very funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    Charming character portrayals, vintage Fannie Flagg

    Flagg, for me, has never quite been as entertaining as in Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe. But, this book was a delight to read. I smiled through the entire book. A light breezy read that will please any Fanny Flagg fan or any Southerner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    Recommed to a friend

    Always enjoy Fannie Flagg, warm, funny and delightful, like a warm blanket on a cold morning,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    Typical Fannie Flagg

    If you are a Fannie Flagg fan, you will enjoy this book. Warm with some humor. Not as good as some of her earlier books, but still captivating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2010

    Another great piece of writing for Fannie Flagg

    Fannie Flagg is a genius at creating characters and story lines that are entertaining, interesting and fun. I thoroughly enjoyed this book as is the case with all of Fannie's books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2010

    Southern humor and truth at its best

    Though the plot is not extraordinary, the characters define southern eccentricity and strength. Although the depth of most characters is rather shallow, they each engage us to keep turning the page.

    The book does a nice job of presenting history of racial strife in Birmingham and its lasting effect on Southerners. The racial message is more postive than not.

    Perhaps the fine line between giving in to depression or embracing our short and sometimes imperfect lives is the most significant point of the book. This is a feel good book that throws in lots of humor regarding what it means to not only a Southerner but a human. The theme of embracing our human imperfections and forgiving ourselves of our inequities is poignant and powerful. Fanny Flagg has an acute and nonjudgemental mind which is refreshing and lighthearted. Everyone needs a Fanny Flagg as a personal friend. Delightful reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6