Customer Reviews for

I Still Dream About You

Average Rating 3.5
( 425 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(142)

4 Star

(107)

3 Star

(95)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

This is a heartwarming story

Still beautiful, former Miss Alabama Maggie Fortenberry works for Red Mountain Realty in Birmingham. She is very successful at her job and considers her co-workers as friends. Yet with all she knows she has going for herself, Maggie has problems getting out of bed eac...
Still beautiful, former Miss Alabama Maggie Fortenberry works for Red Mountain Realty in Birmingham. She is very successful at her job and considers her co-workers as friends. Yet with all she knows she has going for herself, Maggie has problems getting out of bed each day as she wonders what she has worth living. Maggie has made elaborate plans to commit suicide without any of her friends knowing she killed herself.

On the day she decides it is time to deploy her exit strategy, she gets the contract to sell Crestview on Red Mountain. She has dreamed of owning that house all her life and wants to make sure the right people, appreciative of this lovely abode, will buy it. She postpones her departure until she finds two people she likes and trusts to do right by Crestview buy the place. Her time selling the house has given Maggie the will to live.

This is a heartwarming story about a woman who rejected love in pursuit of a dream of becoming Miss America and living on Red Mountain that never materialized. Instead she became a realtor instead, but fails to understand how rich she truly is with friends like Brenda and Ethel, and can eat Krispy Kreme doughnuts without weight gain Like Brenda I just look at one and gain 5 pounds). Miracles can come in many ways as Fannie Flagg merges humor with somberness to tell the passionate tender tale that we are all rich in our own ways if we take the time to learn how.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on September 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

not a mystery

Ahhhhh, Birmingham, Alabama, how I miss that city! I was excited to read what was advertised as a mystery by Fannie Flagg. But alas this book did not meet my expectations. While the descriptions of the Magic City were spot on and life in the Old South was true to what I...
Ahhhhh, Birmingham, Alabama, how I miss that city! I was excited to read what was advertised as a mystery by Fannie Flagg. But alas this book did not meet my expectations. While the descriptions of the Magic City were spot on and life in the Old South was true to what I remember, having lived there for ten years; I STILL DREAM OF YOU is not a mystery. Though there is a small mystery within the novel, the story is Maggie's. And I found her to be whining and a bit boring.

In the last days of the 2008 Presidential Election, Margaret Fortenberry has made the decision to leave. She has made a list of pros and con's: 14 pro and only 2 cons to stay in this world. Maybe she saw too many movies. After all, the former Miss Alabama spent her formulation years living above the Dreamland Theatre. She hadn't accomplished anything in her 60 years, had she? And she misses her great friend, Hazel "the biggest little Real Estate woman in the world." She should have married Charles, but then it was Richard that she devoted her child bearing years. Oh the scandal of it, she had a long adulterous affair with a married man! Always the gentile Southern woman, she can't leave until she ties up all the loose ends - and the loose ends keep her from her mission throughout the book.

We meet Red Mountain Real Estate's Team Hazel: Maggie, Brenda, Ethel and even the late Hazel through flashback vignettes and short chapters set in 2008 and 2009. The characters are well developed and the setting descriptions, especially Maggie's dream home, Crestview are wonderfully accurate. However, Flagg's humor doesn't seem appropriate when the subject of suicide is the main plot. For 175 pages I grew weary of Maggie, but after Crestview goes on the market and a skeleton is found in the old home's attic, the story picks up and Flagg's humor shines to the end of the novel.

posted by Molinarolo on October 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted September 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a heartwarming story

    Still beautiful, former Miss Alabama Maggie Fortenberry works for Red Mountain Realty in Birmingham. She is very successful at her job and considers her co-workers as friends. Yet with all she knows she has going for herself, Maggie has problems getting out of bed each day as she wonders what she has worth living. Maggie has made elaborate plans to commit suicide without any of her friends knowing she killed herself.

    On the day she decides it is time to deploy her exit strategy, she gets the contract to sell Crestview on Red Mountain. She has dreamed of owning that house all her life and wants to make sure the right people, appreciative of this lovely abode, will buy it. She postpones her departure until she finds two people she likes and trusts to do right by Crestview buy the place. Her time selling the house has given Maggie the will to live.

    This is a heartwarming story about a woman who rejected love in pursuit of a dream of becoming Miss America and living on Red Mountain that never materialized. Instead she became a realtor instead, but fails to understand how rich she truly is with friends like Brenda and Ethel, and can eat Krispy Kreme doughnuts without weight gain Like Brenda I just look at one and gain 5 pounds). Miracles can come in many ways as Fannie Flagg merges humor with somberness to tell the passionate tender tale that we are all rich in our own ways if we take the time to learn how.

    Harriet Klausner

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This Book Is Heaven Sent

    Let me start by saying I love Fannie Flagg and this book is another reminder why. Maggie...Brenda...Ethel...you will fall in love with everyone of these characters. Even in offering my review, I don't think my words will do it justice. I'd also recommend that you buy "When God Stopped Keeping Score," an intimate look at the power of God and forgiveness. If you ever felt bound by your hurt, guilt or anger, given the chance, this book will change your life.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    True entertainment!

    Love all of Fannie Flagg's books. Funny and touching.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Kevin

    Bios at vig res 1...i rip off your shirt popping off the buttons

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Riana

    Screams again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Katherine

    I absolutely love Fannie Flagg books. Her characters are so engrossing and Daisy Fay is no different. I found myself laughing outloud. A must read like all her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I love all of her books. Each one is so different but with the s

    I love all of her books. Each one is so different but with the same hometown feel. I love her. I keep checking back when her next book will be coming out. I will be the first in line at the bookstore. She was great on t.v. but she is a better author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Enjoyed this book

    Fun, Light reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    always a pleasure

    Fannie Flagg always writes a comfortable, warmly human story... and this one is no different. There is always a character in the book you can relate to, or you somehow know. If you want a warm, fuzzy, with hints of humor, easy read to go with your cup of tea, this is it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Great book!

    What fun. I laughed out loud. The characters were developed in such a way that i could relate easily to them while i found their foibles very humorous. Thanks Ms. Flagg!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    I loved this book. I laughed out loud, then had to explain the story and event(s)to my husband. I hope they make a movie from this book, and stick to the story!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    Fannie Flagg does it again :)

    I have read every book by Fannie Flagg and then re-read every book because they are all so good and this book is no exception. It is a wonderful story that makes you think about other people's lives in a way that most people don't think about. The only thing that I did not like about this book is that it ended but that's the way I feel about all of her books. If you read this book you won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    I loved this book! I've loved everything I've read by Fannie Flagg and this one did not disappoint either! Her quirky characters keep you laughing as well as occaisionally holding a mirrir up to yourself! I loved the way the main character, Maggie, developed during the course of the book. She learned to appreciate life and herself with all her short comings...which really weren't short comings at all! If Maggie and Hazel and Brenda were real people, I would love to be friends with them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    Loved this book!

    This book probably will not appeal to everyone, but for women of a certain age who can relate to Maggie, it is a great story. I love all of Fannie Flagg's books, and this one was no exception. The characters in this book are every bit as unusual as those in Red Bird Christmas and Fried Green Tomatoes. If you don't like black humor or quirky characters in implausible plots, you probably won't like this book. If, on the other hand, you liked Fannie Flagg's other books, I highly recommend this latest one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    Great Book!!!

    One of the best books ever!! I liked it so well that I've read it twice within a few months! I gave a copy to my sister for her birthday and she loved it too. Fannie Flagg's quirky characters can't be beat!!! I hope that Ms. Flagg has another book in the works!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining Read For Women My Age (Aging)

    Maggie was done. Done with life, she has a very practical plan to finish it off, and a checklist of things to do to prepare, including purchasing an egg timer to make sure the crazy glue dries thoroughly. In I Still Dream About You series of events keeps pushing back the plan and Maggie tries to deal with each new event logically. Within three days of postponing her plan, this normal woman had found a human skeleton, lied to the police and put a foot bone in an empty sack from Baskin Robbins. Her plan was supposed to end her worries, but now she has more than ever.


    Dignified Maggie is the epitome of an southern belle. She is approximately my age, in other words, aging. A former Miss Alabama, Maggie obeys all the rules, like me. Her thoughts and feelings are like mine. The thought processes she uses to come to unusual conclusions are perfectly logical and I can see myself doing the same curious things under the same curious circumstances.


    The writing is amusing and the characters are likable, even the dead one and the bee-atch. The ending is predictable, no spoiler possible, but it is still well-written and engaging. I would recommend I Still Dream About You to any woman in the stage of life that I find myself in. Very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    sassy,southern page turner!

    Fun read. interesting characters! great setting!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    SO GOOD!!!

    Once again Fannie Flagg did not disappoint!!! I absolutely love her humor and you almost can't help but read it in your head with a southern accent!!! Nothin like a good book...Thank you FF!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    What a great book!!! Another Fannie Flagg Favorite!

    This book sucks you in from the start! Her writing style is very entertaining and provides for a quick read. Would recommend to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    Gotta love Fannie Flagg

    I look forward to the wonderful, funny, true, southern stories that Fannie Flagg can give. I found myself looking forward to what would happen next, and she can certainly tell a wonderful story with a southern voice. I would recommend anything she writes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8