Customer Reviews for

I Suck at Girls

Average Rating 4
( 132 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

I wish I could say I'm great with girls, but, like the author he

I wish I could say I'm great with girls, but, like the author here, I suck at them. This book, the follow-up to his huge seller "Sh** My Dad Says" made me crack up many times. His stories of not getting the girl are downright hilarious, peppered with awesome o...
I wish I could say I'm great with girls, but, like the author here, I suck at them. This book, the follow-up to his huge seller "Sh** My Dad Says" made me crack up many times. His stories of not getting the girl are downright hilarious, peppered with awesome one-liners from his dad. There are some classic moments here, that many men (and women) should relate to. I think we all have felt we totally bombed with the opposite sex at one time or another.

I mean, losing your virginity while watching "A Few Good Men?" Stealing porn from a homeless man and then trying to bury it in the backyard? Probably the best part was when Halpern actually walked in on his parents having sex. Made me laugh and cringe at the same time! Be forewarned, though, that the language should be rated R or NC-17. This book isn't for young readers.

This book is a great, fast, fun read. It's perfect for reading on the beach or a plane, and reminds me so, so much of my latest favorite, Anthony Youn's "In Stitches." This book is about a nerd who grew up to become a doctor, but not without his overbearing father trying to force him into medicine and away from girls. Like Halpern's dad, Youn's father has some awesome one-liners like, "You wanna go into Pediatrics? Little People, Little Dollah! Spend all day giving suckers to little kids!" If you like Halpern's books, Youn's book is right up your alley and very highly recommended as a fun, laugh-out-loud read.

The funny moments are interspersed with touching scenes, so you end up rooting for Halpern to finally get the girl. Will he actually do it? Read on, my friend! If you, like me, suck at girls.

posted by 7970514 on May 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

why in the world would you post a book for sale and then not te

why in the world would you post a book for sale and then not tell people about the book? What's the back cover say? What's the synopsis? Tell me why I should be reading this book for goodness sake! You advertise it in the daily email, and then I see this? come on! Some...
why in the world would you post a book for sale and then not tell people about the book? What's the back cover say? What's the synopsis? Tell me why I should be reading this book for goodness sake! You advertise it in the daily email, and then I see this? come on! Someone really dropped the ball on this one!!!

posted by Anonymous on May 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    After reading Mr. Halpern’s first book, Sh*t My Dad Says,

    After reading Mr. Halpern’s first book, Sh*t My Dad Says, I was excited for the chance to visit again with my (now) favorite neurotic. His first memoir, detailing some of the things his dad has said was one the most hilarious books I read in 2010 and is one of the funniest books I have ever read. His father, a retired Oncologist, has a unique, honest, unvarnished opinion about whatever the subject at hand and the author has done very well in reporting some of those opinions. In this edition, the author seeks his father’s in put regarding his plans to ask his girlfriend to marry him. His father’s suggestion, take a day to consider “what he had learned about (himself), and about women up to that point in (his) life” (p. 9) and then decide what he wants to do.
    What follows is part memoir, part love story and all humorous.
    The structure of the book is similar to the first. Mr. Halpern recalls his relationships to the female gender beginning in elementary school. His father’s influence, observations and commentary regarding this process is profane, profound, without rancor, straightforward and, as he is not intending to be humorous, makes his statements riotously funny.
    The book is actually a genuinely sincere account of the author’s search for the core of himself and his being ready for the commitment of marriage. There is much with which the average person to connect in this book. Mr. Halpern does not hide his eccentricities, foibles, neuroses nor does he seek to make any effort to make himself look like anything but the person he is. His father’s unconditional love for the author, shown in his father’s repeated confrontation of the author’s peculiarities while fully accepting that his son is okay as he is, gives “Justin” the safety to completely accept himself. The freedom of being so transparent can only be found in complete acceptance, even if the transparencies reveal a textbook case of Self-Doubt.
    This book is NOT for those of: youthful eyes, sensitivity to harsh language or anyone who cannot see humor in the absurdity of life. It is a book easily read but not one to rush through. Anyone reading this book will want to allow plenty of time for hearty laughter and to ponder at what, exactly, is being said while being so funny. The book is not meant to deliver “a message,” by the time I reached the end, however, I was left feeling I had learned something of importance.
    Now, the wait begins for his next book begins; I expect this one to be when his first child arrives. Now THAT will be a read of extraordinary significance.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    great job

    book is a light, fun read and cracks you up.
    I enjoyed this book as much as I did some of David Sedaris' work.

    I really sympathize w/ Justin's dealings with girls. Made me think about my life and how I suck at boys. hahaha.

    And the bits with the dad...omg. awesome.

    my only wish is that the book had more content. I was sad when I got to the end and realized there was no more.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    Very Funny

    This is the first book I have read written by Justin Halpern and I found it to be very funny and enjoyable. It also contains some important life lessons courtesy of both he and his Dad.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Very funny!

    I can olny hope that Justin Halpern writes more!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Great Book!

    This book made me reflect on my personal voyage through the wonderful world of dating prior to my marriage. After reading it, I can honestly say that I feel better about my own experiences! This book is an extremely hilarious! A must read for any guy....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Not as funny as the first

    Not as funny as the first one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Great book.

    I love this book, had me rolling at many parts; although that may have been due to the voices used as they were and are distractingly, and hilariously ridiculous!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2013

    Why anyone says this one is not as good as the first one, is bey

    Why anyone says this one is not as good as the first one, is beyond my understanding. It is much better and a lot more interesting than the latter!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Great introduction, very interesting writer! The story's aren't

    Great introduction, very interesting writer! The story's aren't as interesting, but still good stuff!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    want to chat

    Bored

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    To Mckenzie

    Hi, my name is Emily. Is this real? Cuz if its not thats totally uncool. But if youre telling the truth, emily sits by mckenzie. Have you told your parents? If you havent at some point you should tell them. I used to and kinda still do get some minor bullying but yours must be way worse if youre posting about it. I know telling your parents or school counselor seems wimpy but actually if its been continuing, then not telling is actually kinda wimpy cuz your not showing them that you really hate it. About your friend... i have no idea to be honest, but just stay with her through it and dont spend more time with other friends otherwise she will feel like you dont want to be around her anymore. I really hope this helps. Im sorry i cant do much.
    ~Emily J. Jacobson~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    I wanted something light to read in between my usual "who d

    I wanted something light to read in between my usual "who done it" books. I was more than pleasantly surprsied at how good this book is. It is a laugh out loud, I can commiserate, this happened to me, just love the one-liners, feel good book that everyone who takes themselves too seriously should read. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Really Good Book

    Book is really deeper than the title implies...read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Part 2 of s**t my dad says

    If you liked the first one, you'll love this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    5 stars

    Really funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    This book gave me many a-giggle, however not as many giggles as

    This book gave me many a-giggle, however not as many giggles as I got from S*it My Dad Says. Well worth reading and it is super funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Should i buy ? O.o

    Wondering if this is a good book . Any have opinions ? Id very much appreciate it (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    I Suck at Girls-read it

    130 e book pages of laugh out loud moments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Quick, funny, and delightful

    Crude humor and inspiration characterize a young man's memoir on learning to push his instincts aside and critically consider what truly makes him happy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    So much fun!

    I love this book! It's honest and hilarious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3