Customer Reviews for

I Think I Love You

Average Rating 3
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Interesting Read

Would you take the chance to go back and have the one thing you wanted and never knew you got?

Thus is the premise of I Think I Love You. I wasn't totally sure what I'd selected to read, even when I got a hold of the blurb. I mean, David Cassidy was popular long bef...
Would you take the chance to go back and have the one thing you wanted and never knew you got?

Thus is the premise of I Think I Love You. I wasn't totally sure what I'd selected to read, even when I got a hold of the blurb. I mean, David Cassidy was popular long before I was born. I'd heard of him, but he isn't my idea of an idol. But that's what's great about this book. So what if I didn't grow up loving David Cassidy. I had the New Kids on the Block for my generation. Ms. Pearson's story is so fluid, so intriguing, I can super-impose the persons I know in place of David and it works. That's the beauty of the book. It works. The characters are interesting and flawed. I could relate to them immediately. I read this book in nearly one sitting, it's that fascinating.

This book is told in two halves. One half is told via the Petra and Bill of 1974. Feathery hair, wide bottom pants, and the golden tones of Donny Osmond, The Bay City Rollers and yes, David Cassidy floating through the air. I wasn't there, but as seen through the eyes of Petra and Bill, I could be. I laughed at times and found myself rueful at others. I could relate to Petra's circle of friends. The girls are a tad stereotypical, but really, in school, there are always stereotypical people. But I liked being there. It was a trip down memory lane complete with the sadness and frustration of trying to deal with people who felt better than you. Then there's the 1998 versions of Petra and Bill. Both are wiser and have been kicked around by life. It was both interesting and sad to see what had become of them. I won't go into much more detail, but the journey they take is totally worth the read.

If you want characters that will stick with you long after the book closes, then you need to read this book. It's a fun trip down memory lane and lots of fun. I give I Think I Love You 4 books.

Originally posted at the Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

posted by LASR_Reviews on March 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Dont waste your money

I had high expectations for this book but it was a difficult read with all the english lingo, I had to force myself to finish it. I am glad I didnt pay full price for it. Very little about David Cassidy and too much about the reporter who wrote as him. A big dissapoint...
I had high expectations for this book but it was a difficult read with all the english lingo, I had to force myself to finish it. I am glad I didnt pay full price for it. Very little about David Cassidy and too much about the reporter who wrote as him. A big dissapointment!

posted by ARB on April 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    Dont waste your money

    I had high expectations for this book but it was a difficult read with all the english lingo, I had to force myself to finish it. I am glad I didnt pay full price for it. Very little about David Cassidy and too much about the reporter who wrote as him. A big dissapointment!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This made me dig out my old Partridge family albums

    When you hear the title of Allison Pearson's new novel, I Think I Love You, you know right away that David Cassidy plays a role in the story. Petra and her best friend Sharon are thirteen years old in 1974, and David Cassidy mania is in full bloom. They live in Wales, and when they find out that he will be playing a concert near them, they buy tickets for the show. Of course, Petra will have to lie to her very strict mother about where she is going. Pearson does a terrific job taking the reader right back to her teen years, wanting desperately to belong in the popular girls' crowd, being insecure about her looks, whether she has the right clothes, will a boy ever want to date her? All those feelings come rushing right back. Petra has to deal with Queen Bee Gillian, whom every girl will recognize right away, with her manipulative ways and hurtful, cutting comments. Gillian does her best to cause problems between Petra and the sunny Sharon. And when a boy whom Gillian likes likes Petra, the claws really come out. While that story is familiar, it is the David Cassidy angle that makes this story unique. Petra and Sharon know EVERYTHING about David, and when a David Cassidy fan magazine offers a trip to California to meet him on The Partridge Family TV show set, they team up to win the trivia contest. The novel also follows Bill, who wants to be a rock magazine journalist, but ends up writing for the David Cassidy fan magazine, in the voice of David himself. A pivotal section of the story occurs at the concert, which Bill has to cover. The crowds push forward, and several girls are injured; one girl is killed. (That incident really occurred at the concert- I remember reading about it when it happened.) Fast forward twenty-fours years later: Petra has to deal with her mother's death, and her husband leaving her for a younger woman. Her husband even has the nerve to bring Petra his dirty sheets to wash- he doesn't have a washing machine on his houseboat- and she does them! Oh, Petra. Going through her mother's things, she finds out that she and Sharon won the David Cassidy fan contest 24 years ago; her mother hid the letter from her. Petra calls the magazine office, and all the stars align, because the magazine's boss thinks it would make a terrific human interest story to take them to Las Vegas to meet David Cassidy. Readers will no doubt relate to Petra, with all of her insecurities. And reading this novel made me want to dig out my old Partridge Family albums (yes, I had them all) and The Partridge Family Season One DVD (yes, I bought it). Pearson has a transcript of the fascinating interview she did with Cassidy for The Daily Telegraph in 2004 in the back of the book, which inspired the novel. Now all I have to do is find Cassidy's 2007 memoir, Could It Be Forever? My Story. Cause that has got to be one juicy read. This book will appeal to all the women who loved David Cassidy as a young girl, or any woman who fondly remembers her tween celebrity crush. And just try to get that song out your head.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    Interesting Read

    Would you take the chance to go back and have the one thing you wanted and never knew you got?

    Thus is the premise of I Think I Love You. I wasn't totally sure what I'd selected to read, even when I got a hold of the blurb. I mean, David Cassidy was popular long before I was born. I'd heard of him, but he isn't my idea of an idol. But that's what's great about this book. So what if I didn't grow up loving David Cassidy. I had the New Kids on the Block for my generation. Ms. Pearson's story is so fluid, so intriguing, I can super-impose the persons I know in place of David and it works. That's the beauty of the book. It works. The characters are interesting and flawed. I could relate to them immediately. I read this book in nearly one sitting, it's that fascinating.

    This book is told in two halves. One half is told via the Petra and Bill of 1974. Feathery hair, wide bottom pants, and the golden tones of Donny Osmond, The Bay City Rollers and yes, David Cassidy floating through the air. I wasn't there, but as seen through the eyes of Petra and Bill, I could be. I laughed at times and found myself rueful at others. I could relate to Petra's circle of friends. The girls are a tad stereotypical, but really, in school, there are always stereotypical people. But I liked being there. It was a trip down memory lane complete with the sadness and frustration of trying to deal with people who felt better than you. Then there's the 1998 versions of Petra and Bill. Both are wiser and have been kicked around by life. It was both interesting and sad to see what had become of them. I won't go into much more detail, but the journey they take is totally worth the read.

    If you want characters that will stick with you long after the book closes, then you need to read this book. It's a fun trip down memory lane and lots of fun. I give I Think I Love You 4 books.

    Originally posted at the Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Think I Love You

    In 1974 Wales, Petra and Sharon are two fourteen year old girls obsessed with David Cassidy and want to attend his last performance in England. Bill is an aspiring journalist but works for a magazine entitled The Essential David Cassidy Magazine. When the magazine holds a contest for someone to visit David on the set of the Partridge family Petra and Sharon do their best to answer each questions correctly and it is one hard questionnaire. Petra's bubble is burst when she sneaks off to the contest with friends where there is mass hysteria and one girl dies. Back at home, she is punished.

    Twenty-four years later while cleaning the house of her recently deceased mother , Petra finds the letter from the magazine stating that she had won the contest. Although, the magazine and th publishing company no longer exists, she contacts the publishing company that bought out the old company and before she knows it (after being considered a kook), she is whisked off to the magazine to made up and soon to Las Vegas to finally meet David Cassidy. Recently, having been dumped by her husband, Petra needs something in her life. And Bill is now the head of this publishing firm. Funny how that is.

    This is a story about the struggle of life, whether a teen or adult. It is never easy. I enjoyed the nostalgia first half because I remember David Cassidy and Bobby Sherman and the girls all going gaga over them. The second half of the novel when Petra is an adult losing love and finding it again makes it all the more romantic.

    The actual interview with David Cassidy at the end of the novel was an added bonus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Seth

    Bye

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Jade....

    Was here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Angie

    *Starts preping the room*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Jade

    Im not in the mood. Leave NOW.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Termanator

    Deaths my enemy falls all the way into his spaceship

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Didn't care for it.

    Weak storyline, with characters I didn't much like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Joel ws here...

    ?.l....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Boring.

    Boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    The book The book

    Shut up how old is u talkin like that

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    I couldn't finish the book

    The description of the book sounded interesting as I grew-up during The Partridge Family era, but I could not get into this book! I revisited the book a few times hoping that it would "grab me in" so that I could finish and I could not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    recommend

    It was cute and funny. It reminded me of crushing on my favorite singer and or actor when I was younger. What ever happened to Tiger Beat magazines?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    don't waste your money!

    This is the worst book that I read in a long time. Our book club picked this for this month's book and we aborted it mid month and picked something else because everyone hated it.

    I wanted 0 stars for this book. But the computer made me pick at least 1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Loved it!!

    Reading this took me back to my teen idol days. Even though my idol was Bobby Sherman, I could still relate. Fun read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    Great book- fun to read!

    I enjoyed this book as I am a former David Cassidy/Partridge Family fan.
    Anyone who grew up in the 70's and had that crush on their teen idol will enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    What Did I Miss?

    I was excited to get this book having grown up in the David Cassidy, 16 Magazine Era. I turned page after page hoping it would get better but it never did. The characters were not developed enough for me to care about and I felt the chapters were not well segued. Perhaps a rewrite and some additional editing would allow me to give this more than one two stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Quick, fun read

    This book would be of particular interest to a woman who was a pre-teen in the 70s. I was able to relate to Petra and her fan magazine obsessed girlfriends, and it was fun to recall the David Cassidy pop songs of the time. Unlike other reviewers, I was not put off by the Walesian jargon - I hardly noticed it, as I was swept up in remembering how it was to be 10 years old with a plastic record player, a transistor radio, and life sized posters of inaccessible boys on my bedroom wall. The book was easy to read, fun, and fast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5