BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

I Used to Know That: Stuff You Forgot from School

Average Rating 3
( 308 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(72)

2 Star

(52)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Fun facts

I Used to Know That is a fun and interesting book with many tidbits of information that can be used for a quick reference guide or to brush up a little on the major subjects of Math, Literature, English, Science, History, Geography, and General Studies.

Authors of c...
I Used to Know That is a fun and interesting book with many tidbits of information that can be used for a quick reference guide or to brush up a little on the major subjects of Math, Literature, English, Science, History, Geography, and General Studies.

Authors of classic literature, fractions, geometry, algebra, the skeletal system, periodic table, U.S. presidents, countries and their capitals, and planets are just a few of the topics covered in this jammed packed little book.

This is an entertaining book for those interested in trivia. It would also be good for quizzing school-aged children or to just remember facts that haven't been needed for a few years.

posted by timetravel on December 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A Good Overview of Facts You Used to Know

I Used to Know That by Caroline Taggart is a fun reminder of all the things you used to know. Covering history, religion, literature, science and nature this book is full of those little things you learned throughout your schooling years, but perhaps forgot.

As a ...
I Used to Know That by Caroline Taggart is a fun reminder of all the things you used to know. Covering history, religion, literature, science and nature this book is full of those little things you learned throughout your schooling years, but perhaps forgot.

As a teacher I can easily see myself getting this book and using it in the classroom as an additional tool for both myself and my students.

If you like random facts, and knowing a little bit about various subjects that this may be the book for you!

While there is a lot in here that I might not use it was a fun refresher.

posted by HMY on December 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 308 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Lacy go to next res

    Love trent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Very informative...

    It's very informative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Funny

    I love this book i read the sample it was great i am sorry i wont shout my mouth just got this thing on wesnday i no how to work this thing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Great to have

    Will not regret having it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Pk Interesting read...

    Interesting book but it felt to much like school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    Yep! You can use the reminders!

    Read & remember. Read & remember. Read and remember!
    Yep, I DID used to know all that stuff! While some of the
    memory goads aren't necessary for day-to-day functioning,
    many could come in handy for anyone who wishes to write well,
    and of course,ALL mathematical formulae should be at one's fingertips.....handy in the home improvement area.
    Altogether a fun little read, and a terrific reference tool.
    This ebook brought back lots of memories of grade school
    and high school, of friends and teachers long forgotten.
    Made me smile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    What a Find

    This was a Daily Find, but I didn't find it particularly enlightening. She repeats a bunch old old saws or enumerates things like the different metrical forms of poems. Maybe you'll care. I don't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Check it out and see for yourself.

    I was surprised at what I "used to know" and "what I never knew"! But after you read this you will have had a brush up course on many things!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    ok

    Ho Hum book. Interesting, because it lets you know a tremendous amount of things that you have put aside, but can only recall about 60 percent of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    Excellent refresher!

    Quite enjoying reading this. About half way now and even learned a few things that I didn't know before (what pH stands for!). Makes for interesting reading while riding the exercise bike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    Kinda Boring, Kinda Confusing

    I was surprised when I saw that this book was already charging $9.99; I'm glad I bought it when this was still free.
    It was very dull and tedious in the reading especially as the author tried to be light about heavy subjects. Very difficult to accomplish, understandably, and she failed to do this miserably. Sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    A Fun Book

    It is nice to refresh my memory on those little important things you learned in school, but not used that often. Very short and specific stuff!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Recommend

    I didn't realize this book was going to be as "heavy" as it is...I thought it would be a lighthearted read like "Things I Learned in Kindergarden." It is the go to book for any returning (college)mature student who may not remember things from their previous schooling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    Amazing how much you forget

    This book is so amazing, not only does it remind you all of the things you forgot in school, but it somehow triggered a lot of great memories for me. Must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    fun flashback to high school

    I am not really sure what I expected to get when I ordered this book, but it was fun to go over all of the things you learned in high school and have probably forgotten. Probably might be useful when your kids come home asking for help with homework!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    Highly Recommended - get this and keep it handy!!!

    This is a great reference book for college students or for someone who is needing "the basics" - knowledge which is explained in layman's terms. Packed with useful information.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    Interesting Read !

    What a great book to sit down and skim through. You're bound to learn something new each time you open the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Still not want to know that stuff

    Realized there is a lot of stuff I learned that I still don't need or want to be reminded of.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fun read.

    Yes, I used to know these and not many are something I need to know now but it is a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great reference

    Full of all the things I forgot I learned! Not something I would read all the way through, but it's a good reference when you need it. I'm a bit of a grammar nerd, so I really enjoyed that particular section of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 308 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16