BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

I Used to Know That: Stuff You Forgot from School

Average Rating 3
( 308 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(72)

2 Star

(52)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Fun facts

I Used to Know That is a fun and interesting book with many tidbits of information that can be used for a quick reference guide or to brush up a little on the major subjects of Math, Literature, English, Science, History, Geography, and General Studies.

Authors of c...
I Used to Know That is a fun and interesting book with many tidbits of information that can be used for a quick reference guide or to brush up a little on the major subjects of Math, Literature, English, Science, History, Geography, and General Studies.

Authors of classic literature, fractions, geometry, algebra, the skeletal system, periodic table, U.S. presidents, countries and their capitals, and planets are just a few of the topics covered in this jammed packed little book.

This is an entertaining book for those interested in trivia. It would also be good for quizzing school-aged children or to just remember facts that haven't been needed for a few years.

posted by timetravel on December 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A Good Overview of Facts You Used to Know

I Used to Know That by Caroline Taggart is a fun reminder of all the things you used to know. Covering history, religion, literature, science and nature this book is full of those little things you learned throughout your schooling years, but perhaps forgot.

As a ...
I Used to Know That by Caroline Taggart is a fun reminder of all the things you used to know. Covering history, religion, literature, science and nature this book is full of those little things you learned throughout your schooling years, but perhaps forgot.

As a teacher I can easily see myself getting this book and using it in the classroom as an additional tool for both myself and my students.

If you like random facts, and knowing a little bit about various subjects that this may be the book for you!

While there is a lot in here that I might not use it was a fun refresher.

posted by HMY on December 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Errors in Text

    I caught a few errors (one pretty glaring one) in the first two chapters that made me doubt the veracity of everything that I thought was cool in the remaining chapters. That made this book very disappointing.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    What ever happened to proofreading?

    This book is a disgrace. I have never seen so many misspelled words in one book. You should also know that the first atomic bomb was dropped on Hiroshima August 6, 1945 and the second atomic bombed was dropped on August 9, 1945 (not August 8, 1915 as reported in this book).

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    BORING

    I thought it was going to be funny, but it was literally a book about all the crap that no one uses in real life, but they drill into your head in school. I have no need to identify a dangling participle, and it doesn't impact my daily life. Certainly don't want to relearn it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Not what I expected. Reads like a textbook for multiple subjects

    Not what I expected. Reads like a textbook for multiple subjects

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    Kinda Boring, Kinda Confusing

    I was surprised when I saw that this book was already charging $9.99; I'm glad I bought it when this was still free.
    It was very dull and tedious in the reading especially as the author tried to be light about heavy subjects. Very difficult to accomplish, understandably, and she failed to do this miserably. Sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    yawn

    I never used to know any of these things. Guess I went to a different school than her. Sometimes free isn't even worth the effort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    It's okay

    Not what I expected. Reads like a textbook for multiple subjects.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    Not for me

    Thought this might be a fun read, but after 3 or 4 pages, I'd had enough. Did not see any point to spending time with this book and immediately got rid of it. I would give it NO STARS at all, if that were possible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing

    I expected this to be full of fun facts that I learned as a child and then forgot. Instead it's a list of dry information presented in a very factual way that is dull. Instead of fun stories and facts, I just read through a list of parts of speech and math terms. Later sections of the book may have been more interesting but I lost interest and moved on to something more entertaining.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    For the person who wants to repeat school.

    Could be a textbook, very boring, ok. for those who want to relearn
    everything they've forgotten. I'm too old to care about all those things
    I've forgotten.I only skimmed it and closed the cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Not my kind of book

    I appreciate the ofer of the Friday free books. This book was not something that held my interest.

    Thanks anyway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Was not what I expected.

    Was like reading a textbook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Skip it

    Very boring, felt like I was studying for an exam.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Did not like

    This is a very technical look at English and although I was a very good student in English I do not like this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    didn't make it past chapter 2

    not what I expected. glad I didn't buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    I still know that.

    I read the English, Math and Science parts of the book. Pretty basic information that most people should know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    NO Do Not Buy This Book

    The only reason I got this book I thought it was free because it was under free book friday list and when I finish it cost nine dollars,I lost nine dollars on this book it's not even worthy getting even if it was free. Do not waste your money on this book. not worthy reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Disappointment

    Very dry and somewhat informative. We expected a bit more in entertainment value. reads like a students class notes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    For Insomniacs

    All I can say is "boring". Supposed to be presented in humorous manner but sadly lacking. There is a reason we forgot all this boring stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Not a book

    This is not an actual book. It is like a list of items and their definitions. Example: a list of authors and the books they are famous for, a list of the different parts of speech and their definitions. I could surely use the help with grammar and sentence structure. I was simply hoping for some humorous anecdotes, etc. mixed in with the actual "learning stuff". The title seemed misleading, as I thought it was a "shoulda had a V-8" moment title. Perhaps that is why I thought the book would be less dry.

    This book was not an entertaining read at all. It felt like I was reading a dictionary. I'm sure that could be entertaining to some people, but I did not care for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3