Customer Reviews for

I Used to Know That: Stuff You Forgot from School

Average Rating 3
( 308 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(72)

2 Star

(52)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Fun facts

I Used to Know That is a fun and interesting book with many tidbits of information that can be used for a quick reference guide or to brush up a little on the major subjects of Math, Literature, English, Science, History, Geography, and General Studies.

Authors of c...
I Used to Know That is a fun and interesting book with many tidbits of information that can be used for a quick reference guide or to brush up a little on the major subjects of Math, Literature, English, Science, History, Geography, and General Studies.

Authors of classic literature, fractions, geometry, algebra, the skeletal system, periodic table, U.S. presidents, countries and their capitals, and planets are just a few of the topics covered in this jammed packed little book.

This is an entertaining book for those interested in trivia. It would also be good for quizzing school-aged children or to just remember facts that haven't been needed for a few years.

posted by timetravel on December 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A Good Overview of Facts You Used to Know

I Used to Know That by Caroline Taggart is a fun reminder of all the things you used to know. Covering history, religion, literature, science and nature this book is full of those little things you learned throughout your schooling years, but perhaps forgot.

As a ...
I Used to Know That by Caroline Taggart is a fun reminder of all the things you used to know. Covering history, religion, literature, science and nature this book is full of those little things you learned throughout your schooling years, but perhaps forgot.

As a teacher I can easily see myself getting this book and using it in the classroom as an additional tool for both myself and my students.

If you like random facts, and knowing a little bit about various subjects that this may be the book for you!

While there is a lot in here that I might not use it was a fun refresher.

posted by HMY on December 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Fun ... Interesting ... Enjoyable...

    Lots of little tid bits to go over and remember. Definitely more info than I remember learning! (Or totally forgot I learned?) I was disappointed when it was over so fast.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Helpful

    For a free book it impressed me somewhat. It did reteach many things, but I also learned new things. Its 109 pages of education.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Pk Interesting read...

    Interesting book but it felt to much like school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    ok

    Ho Hum book. Interesting, because it lets you know a tremendous amount of things that you have put aside, but can only recall about 60 percent of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    fun flashback to high school

    I am not really sure what I expected to get when I ordered this book, but it was fun to go over all of the things you learned in high school and have probably forgotten. Probably might be useful when your kids come home asking for help with homework!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fun read.

    Yes, I used to know these and not many are something I need to know now but it is a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great reference

    Full of all the things I forgot I learned! Not something I would read all the way through, but it's a good reference when you need it. I'm a bit of a grammar nerd, so I really enjoyed that particular section of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    Good for College prep review

    Highlights grammar rules, literary plot summaries and math concepts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Ok

    It really wasn't as entertaining as the description implies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    Fun read with others around!

    Had fun reading the facts with family and making it more like Jeopardy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Full of Facts

    Good organization of facts that all of us learned at one time or other but have probably forgotten or at least had no use for recently.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    Recommend

    This book is a good reminder of all the little things we were taught from elementary through highschool. It is a nice refresher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I recommend you keep this one

    Keep this one handy, especially if you still have school age children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting reference

    Interesting summary that briefly touches most of the core courses in High School including: English, literature, math, science, history and georgraphy. A lot of information is covered, but I found the history and literature section to Bethesda most interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Just ok

    Nothing more than average. Similar content available elsewhere in a more engaging manner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    It's a good review.

    It was a good review of lessons you had in school and of items you should have know but forgot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Just The Basics

    I got this book because my high school-aged child is on an academic team. I am always looking for study materials that contain condensed information so it can be read quickly and used as a quick reference. It fit the bill for basic core subjects but I wish the author had included a little more in certain areas. For instance, it is good to know the Roman and Greek names of all the Gods but the myth attributed to each God was not explored. There was more information included about all of the Canadian Prime Ministers... but who needs to know that much about them? Who knows... maybe I overlooked that the author is Canadian! It is worth a read if you are looking to brush up on your facts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    **

    writing not good, not interesting, does not pulled your interest through the pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Worth a read

    There were things in this book that I had forgotten. It is definitely worth a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    2 1/2 stars - Encyclopedia in a single volume

    Take the basic subjects covered in classrooms and synthesis them into a single volume. Effective education? Not really, but the information gives you the opportunity to consider further exploration of the topics that interest. I thoroughly read some subject matter, breezed through others that interested me less and skipped those in which I had no interest. Since I was not a stellar student of algebra and trig, I spent more time there, but less on poetry which never captured a great interest. When I was finished with the book (in a couple of days), I thought that I was neither particularly entertained nor educated. Perhaps those interested in winning trivia contests would find more value in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4