Customer Reviews for

I Used to Know That: Stuff You Forgot from School

Average Rating 3
( 307 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(71)

2 Star

(52)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Fun facts

I Used to Know That is a fun and interesting book with many tidbits of information that can be used for a quick reference guide or to brush up a little on the major subjects of Math, Literature, English, Science, History, Geography, and General Studies.

Authors of c...
I Used to Know That is a fun and interesting book with many tidbits of information that can be used for a quick reference guide or to brush up a little on the major subjects of Math, Literature, English, Science, History, Geography, and General Studies.

Authors of classic literature, fractions, geometry, algebra, the skeletal system, periodic table, U.S. presidents, countries and their capitals, and planets are just a few of the topics covered in this jammed packed little book.

This is an entertaining book for those interested in trivia. It would also be good for quizzing school-aged children or to just remember facts that haven't been needed for a few years.

posted by timetravel on December 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A Good Overview of Facts You Used to Know

I Used to Know That by Caroline Taggart is a fun reminder of all the things you used to know. Covering history, religion, literature, science and nature this book is full of those little things you learned throughout your schooling years, but perhaps forgot.

As a ...
I Used to Know That by Caroline Taggart is a fun reminder of all the things you used to know. Covering history, religion, literature, science and nature this book is full of those little things you learned throughout your schooling years, but perhaps forgot.

As a teacher I can easily see myself getting this book and using it in the classroom as an additional tool for both myself and my students.

If you like random facts, and knowing a little bit about various subjects that this may be the book for you!

While there is a lot in here that I might not use it was a fun refresher.

posted by HMY on December 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 24, 2009

    Fun facts

    I Used to Know That is a fun and interesting book with many tidbits of information that can be used for a quick reference guide or to brush up a little on the major subjects of Math, Literature, English, Science, History, Geography, and General Studies.

    Authors of classic literature, fractions, geometry, algebra, the skeletal system, periodic table, U.S. presidents, countries and their capitals, and planets are just a few of the topics covered in this jammed packed little book.

    This is an entertaining book for those interested in trivia. It would also be good for quizzing school-aged children or to just remember facts that haven't been needed for a few years.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Felt good feeling so silly!

    I just got this book and I must say I smiled at myself many times remembering facts, dates, etc. from school! Those kind of things your kids ask you about when they do homework and make you go speechless! Or make you go: "oh, I used to know that...Let me think..."
    Great fun!
    Thanks for reading my review! Belenka

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Free book Friday.

    Wow, I graduated in '02 so it's been 10 years! This book is reminding me just how long it has been. Admittedly I did forget a lot, but I was one of those students who slept in class, crammed a bit before a test and passed...so that's not surprising lol. Everyone who wants a quick, interesting, and informative jolt to the brain should give this book a try.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    interesting book

    neat way to refresh my memory of all the things I've learned

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    Yep! You can use the reminders!

    Read & remember. Read & remember. Read and remember!
    Yep, I DID used to know all that stuff! While some of the
    memory goads aren't necessary for day-to-day functioning,
    many could come in handy for anyone who wishes to write well,
    and of course,ALL mathematical formulae should be at one's fingertips.....handy in the home improvement area.
    Altogether a fun little read, and a terrific reference tool.
    This ebook brought back lots of memories of grade school
    and high school, of friends and teachers long forgotten.
    Made me smile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    Excellent refresher!

    Quite enjoying reading this. About half way now and even learned a few things that I didn't know before (what pH stands for!). Makes for interesting reading while riding the exercise bike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    Amazing how much you forget

    This book is so amazing, not only does it remind you all of the things you forgot in school, but it somehow triggered a lot of great memories for me. Must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    Highly Recommended - get this and keep it handy!!!

    This is a great reference book for college students or for someone who is needing "the basics" - knowledge which is explained in layman's terms. Packed with useful information.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    Interesting Read !

    What a great book to sit down and skim through. You're bound to learn something new each time you open the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    I really did used to know some of the stuff!

    Interesting..to try to remember the stuff I actually forgot from school!
    It was like a...refresher course!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    RECOMMEND

    This is a very good quick review of things "I used to know" and I th
    oroughly enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Very informative. I cannot believe all the things I have forgotten.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Very informative!

    I really like this book! It's not something you read from cover to cover, but rather as a reference guide. There are things in the book I don't even remember learning in school! I would recommend this book...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    Entertaining book for the browser

    This is the kind of book that's nice to have in the car or bathroom, or in an e-reader--a non-narrative that you can open up to just about any page and find some interesting or useful tidbit of information. The science and math sections read a little like a review book that doesn't have quite enough pages. This need for brevity is actually an asset in the opinionated, but accurate literature synopses, somewhat reminiscent of _Shrink Lits_, though of course not in verse form.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    Wonderful

    Fun you read and very good in improving your memory

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Good common sense

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Good Resource

    Thanks for putting this on Free Friday Books. This is not a title I would have actively searched for to buy but glad I have it. It will come in handy as a reference book. I haven't read it cover to cover but will pick a topic and read that portion and learn something or say, "Oh I knew that."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I had forgotten some of the "rules" from English, however many of them I do use in my workday communications, enough so that the emails and letters that I get from younger people tend to irritate me with their total lack of knowledge or maybe the mindset that it doesnt matter. They really need this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Fun Facts to Know!

    It's amazing how much we learned in school that we never used again (which was our excuse for not studying). Now, game shows like "Are You Smarter Than a Fifth Grader?" make us feel stupid for not retaining everything we learned! This book is a great refresher course in condensed form that makes one feel at least a little smarter. Impress your friends with some of the fun facts from this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Even stuff I didn't know

    Well written -- distilling the myriad of topics couldn't have been easy, but the author presented it all in a lively fashion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4