Customer Reviews for

I Wanna Be Your Joey Ramone

Average Rating 5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jaglvr for TeensReadToo.com

    Emily Black was born for rock and roll. Her father always told her stories about how her parents lived for the music. Music was what took her mother away from her. At least that's what Emily has always been told. <BR/><BR/>Emily has never needed her mother. That's what she's always told everyone else. But the music written by Emily tells a different story. Emily and her friend, Regan, have dreams of being rock goddesses. During their high school years they form a punk band. After a crazy escapade, they coerce Tom to join the band, as well. The group forms She Laughs, and the rest is history. Or it should be. But everything about Emily always goes back to her mother. And why she left. <BR/><BR/>The angry, bitter songs Emily writes reflect her subconscious desire to mourn for her missing mom. Then, after a nasty break-up with her boyfriend, Johnny, Emily knows what she must do. She sets off on her own quest to find her mother, who has not wanted to be found for the past nineteen years. But Louisa Black has secrets of her own and will do anything she can to prevent anyone else from getting to close to her bad vibes. <BR/><BR/>Told in a dark, woeful manner, Emily must come to terms with her real need for her mother. She's always been the strong, confident one, telling all that she never missed not knowing her mother and that all she's ever needed is her dad. But as Emily goes from adolescence to adulthood, the hidden desire to know her mother forces its way to the surface, leading Emily on a journey that reveals more about herself than she expected. And her journey may just bring her closer to her mother than she thought possible. <BR/><BR/>I absolutely loved this story! Ms. Kuehnert writes a powerful story of a young woman trying to be her own person, but always having the specter of her mother's past hovering over everything she does. Music is infused throughout the entire story and plays an important part in the character development of Emily. I could relate to the musical references in the story and could almost believe that Emily was a real musician, not a character created by the author. I was sad to come to the last page, wanting the story of Emily to go on forever. <BR/><BR/>(Note of advice. The story tends to be a bit graphic with sex and drugs. This is definitely written for the older teen reader.)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Terminator

    Delete

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Chasidy

    Next res try puting a "." Between bad words

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    I have read this book so much. I cry at everything. I love it. I

    I have read this book so much. I cry at everything. I love it. It's everything I fear and loathe and envy. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This book was great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    if you love punk rock true punk rock read this

    i read this book in 3 days it is amazing if you know anything sbout true punk rock like The Ramones, Misfits, The Misfits, Lower Class Bratts, Sub Humans, ect. read this book Stephanie is an amazing writer. the story is a,l in the book and raw emotion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I Wanna be Your Joey Ramone!!!

    I wanna be your Joey Ramone was such an amazing read. If you're interested in great rock music from the seventies and eighties and you love a little teen rebellion, you'll surely love this book. Emily Black creates a band using music as her holy grail,in hopes of her mother finding Emily in the jest of all the notorious rock n' roll. But Emily then ends up finding something more pretentious through her music, something that may just test her emotions.
    This is such a good book by Stephanie Kuehnert and I hope to read many others by this specific author in time. Highly recommend. =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Without a doubt my favorite book

    I Want to be your Joey Ramone is a terrific read. I felt so close to all the characters and I could relate to Emily's plights and struggles with ease. It's a recyled stroy line but spruced up with interesting quirks. The book touches on some senstive subjects (rape, addiction) but it's all so saddly real. I never wanted to put it down for a second.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Engrossing Coming-of-Age Novel

    A good read!IWBYJR is in a niche by itself - definitely something out of the ordinary. Having seen the Ramones and the Clash in the late 1970s this book hit the spot for me. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Slow start

    I didn't like it in the beginning, and it took me a while to get into it. It did pick up though, and I managed to finish it quickly after that. Although some situations seemed surreal, the characters were realistic and edgy. The ending left too many open ends for me to be satisfied though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I wanted to be Emily Black!

    I had this book on my to read list simply because the title is a song by Sleater-Kinney, a band I adore. I didn't immediately buy it after I first saw it in the store. Finally after I bought it, I couldn't put it down. From first chapter on you are engrossed in the story of Emily Black. You want to be this girl whose soul embodies everything rock'n'roll. From her given name to the fact she got dealt a mother who left her a year or 2 after she was born. <BR/><BR/>Definately a must read and a favorite!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2008

    Liv's Book Reviews

    I don't even know where to begin. Nothing I could say would do this book justice. It's one of the most raw, heartbreaking, and touching novels I've read. Ever. Yikes. The thing I admire the most is that I think the author really wrote from her heart. You can tell just by the way the story is told that she cared deeply about what she was writing about which is the key to any good book an author who is connected to her story. What's amazing is that this is Stephanie Kuehnert's first novel. How someone can write something this fantastic on her first attempt in the published world is...can I use the word amazing again? The characters are deep, detailed, and flawed. The plot is twisting and you flip the pages to find out what comes next. This book really takes you away into the trying, yet exhilirating world of rock and roll. You feel as if you're going through all of Emily's triumphs and trials with her and rooting for her as she alternately makes it big and falls hard. I think I'm running out of superlatives here. Or maybe I've uses so many that they don't have any meaning any more. But they are all deserved. So let me use a few more here this book is really amazingly fantastic and you all need to go pick up a copy quickly. Really. :P

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    This Book Rocked My World!!

    For Emily Black, music is everything. It's what made her parents fall in love way back when. It's what her mother Louisa was following when she left baby Emily. It's what Emily has to stay in control of her life. Music draws her from her dreary life in Carlisle, Wisconsin to River's Edge, an abandoned warehouse where rock bands play. River's Edge is where Emily got her fill of sex, drinking, and rock 'n' roll, and where her dreams of being a punk rock goddess began. So she and her best friend Regan form a punk band named She Laughs, and Emily can't help but hope that by playing music, she'll bring her mother home. Soon, her band is swept up in the dangerous world of rock music. Her band has a lot of talent, but so many ups and downs in Emily's life lead her away from the music. There are the bad boyfriends, the death of her grandparents, the involvement with drugs and self-medication, and a year wasted searching for her mother. But eventually Emily finds her way back on track, and her friends are still waiting for her to come back and pick up her guitar. And so she does, because music is all she has. I Wanna Be Your Joey Ramone is a beautiful coming-of-age story that I will never forget. Reading along from both Emily's and Louisa's points-of-views was heartbreaking at times, because they've both experienced so much pain in their lives. The story that Stephanie Kuehnert has woven has lessons on everything from friendship, family, love, drugs, and learning to love, or at least accept, the person you are. The story is filled with so much raw emotion, and I nearly cried at the ending because I didn't want the story to be over. I have to admit that I Wanna Be Your Joey Ramone is like no other book I've ever read, and that is definitely a good thing. I've learned so much from this novel that I never would've expected from first glance. It made me want to find my inner punk rocker and scream along to deafening punk music. I promise you won't regret picking up this unforgettable novel. I definitely look forward to more amazing novels from Stephanie Kuehnert.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1