BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

I Wanna Go to Grandma's House

Average Rating 5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Highly recommended. A classic!

    This is my 2 yr old granddaughter's favorite book. Her parents have to read it so often during each day that they sometimes hide it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This titleĀ is a recipient of the prestigious Mom's Choice Award.

    This title is a recipient of the prestigious Mom's Choice Award. The Mom’s Choice Awards honors excellence in family-friendly media, products and services. An esteemed panel of judges includes education, media and other experts as well as parents, children, librarians, performing artists, producers, medical and business professionals, authors, scientists and others. A sampling of the panel members includes: Dr. Twila C. Liggett, ten-time Emmy-winner, professor and founder of PBS’s Reading Rainbow; Julie Aigner-Clark, Creator of Baby Einstein and The Safe Side Project; Jodee Blanco, New York Times best-selling Author and; LeAnn Thieman, motivational speaker and coauthor of seven Chicken Soup For The Soul books. Parents and educators look for the Mom’s Choice Awards seal in selecting quality materials and products for children and families.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2005

    It's no wonder this book is an award finalist!,

    'My Grandma thinks I'm pretty great and I think that of her.' There's an excitement about going to visit one's grandmother, no matter what our age, but it's truly special when we're young. In this tale, told in poem form, the author has captured the magic and unconditional love that so often permeate the grandchild-grandparent relationship. Janet Mary Sinke writes of her subject with insight, warmth and love. As the two family members spend a day together - baking, swimming, lounging in the hammock - they relish their companionship. 'I crack an egg. I make a mess. But Grandma doesn't care. She lets me crack another one, then brushes back my hair.' From the dust jacket photograph, the reader can see that Sinke is the model for the 'Grandma' in this beautifully illustrated book - which makes the story that much more real and immediate. Grandmothers will certainly see themselves in these pages, and young girls will love the way they are celebrated. A sweet bonus is a recipe for 'Grandma's Oatmeal Cookies' at the end - which, if it's as good as the book, should be delicious. It's no wonder this book was chosen as a finalist for the 2005 Benjamin Franklin Award: Bill Fisher Prize for Best First Book. Those who enjoyed 'Grandma' might also enjoy another children's picture book entitled 'Ruby Lee the Bumble Bee: A Bee's Bit of Wisdom' - also a 2005 Benjamin Franklin Award finalist. In it, another young girl has a similar grandmotherly friend and neighbor who gives her a task that the girl finds a real challenge. With the help of her new friend, Ruby Lee, she is encouraged to call on her inner resources in order to achieve and succeed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2004

    Very touching and Memory Making Book!

    This is an excellent book for any age. I am not a Grandparent yet but it brought back alot of memories of my Grandmother. It reminds all of us at any age what wonderful people grandparents are and how very very precious they are. This is a book to pass down thru generation to generation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2004

    Making Lasting Memories

    Combing a touching story with beautiful illustrations, this book is a grandma¿s dream. Spending the day with your grandchild, making memories that both grandma and grandchild will cherish in years to come. This book describes the fun times baking, swimming and hanging out with grandma. This is a delightful book, and one both grandchild and grandma will love to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2004

    A Grandparent's Unconditional Love!

    Grandma Janet Mary¿s <em>I Wanna Go to Grandma¿s House</em> is a wonderful depiction of the special bond between a grandmother and her granddaughter from many different aspects. It also describes the unconditional love between a child and her grandmother, which many of us who have had this special bond can relate to. It is so important for children growing up to understand unconditional love and experience it. Grandma Janet Mary does this in her story of a day with Grandma. Craig Pennington, as illustrator, does a wonderful job of depicting the verse in pictures, which are touching and humorous at the same time. Plus, his illustrations capture the emotion to illustrate the special bond between grandmothers and their grandchildren. I highly recommend this book for any child or adult.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2004

    Touches the Heart

    What a wonderful gift Grandma Janet Mary has given to us in this beautiful story about a granddaughter spending the day with her grandmother. It truly is one of a kind in that it celebrates life between the young and old. I have never read anything like this. It's a must have! It's a great gift for your home or anyone you know. Thank you Grandma Janet Mary!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1