Customer Reviews for

I Want My Hat Back

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A New Favorite! Delightfully simple yet hilarious!

I'm a teacher & mom of 3, & when I read this book, I laughed out loud & immediately shared it w/a co-worker. My 6 & 8 yr olds LOVED it! Lots of laughter, followed by an immediate, "Let's read it again!" The text is simple enough that they wanted to read it themselves th...
I'm a teacher & mom of 3, & when I read this book, I laughed out loud & immediately shared it w/a co-worker. My 6 & 8 yr olds LOVED it! Lots of laughter, followed by an immediate, "Let's read it again!" The text is simple enough that they wanted to read it themselves this time, and I LOVE that the bear's words are in 1 color & the other animal's words in another, so my children needed no cues to each read their part.
To the negative reviewers, I have to wonder about your presentation of the book. Did you stop to look at the pictures during the story? Did you use expression? Have you ever read a Mo Willems Elephant & Piggie book, and if so, did you find those funny?
As for the review about rudeness and violence...???!!! The bear responds to every animal with "Ok, thank you anyway", (it says Thank you, anyway SIX times in this book!),and he offers to help the turtle, who politely responds, "Yes, please." There is nothing violent about the book either! Only an implied (and normal by the laws of nature, actually!) and very funny ending.
I will be sharing this book with my 1st grade class, my own children's classes, and buying some as gifts. Kind of a no-brainer that when kids find a book funny, beg to re-read it and act it out, and want to share it with friends, that this book is a treasure!

posted by cant_read_enough on February 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

We received two copies as gifts. My children (ages 4 to 8) found it just "OK, not funny and a bit frustrating." As an adult reading the book to a younger child, the illustrations were appealing but the text does not make it a favorite.

posted by 924168 on January 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    A New Favorite! Delightfully simple yet hilarious!

    I'm a teacher & mom of 3, & when I read this book, I laughed out loud & immediately shared it w/a co-worker. My 6 & 8 yr olds LOVED it! Lots of laughter, followed by an immediate, "Let's read it again!" The text is simple enough that they wanted to read it themselves this time, and I LOVE that the bear's words are in 1 color & the other animal's words in another, so my children needed no cues to each read their part.
    To the negative reviewers, I have to wonder about your presentation of the book. Did you stop to look at the pictures during the story? Did you use expression? Have you ever read a Mo Willems Elephant & Piggie book, and if so, did you find those funny?
    As for the review about rudeness and violence...???!!! The bear responds to every animal with "Ok, thank you anyway", (it says Thank you, anyway SIX times in this book!),and he offers to help the turtle, who politely responds, "Yes, please." There is nothing violent about the book either! Only an implied (and normal by the laws of nature, actually!) and very funny ending.
    I will be sharing this book with my 1st grade class, my own children's classes, and buying some as gifts. Kind of a no-brainer that when kids find a book funny, beg to re-read it and act it out, and want to share it with friends, that this book is a treasure!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Hilarious for kids and adults

    Great illustrations--that expression!--with a simple, easy-to-follow storyline that will keeps kids AND parents/teachers/librarians laughing. Highly recommended.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    If you have a sense of humor, you and your kids will love this b

    If you have a sense of humor, you and your kids will love this book. One of my all time favorites.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    A Great Book for Kids and Adults

    This book made me laugh out loud, so I had to buy it for my nephew. Such a fun read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    This book was an instant family favorite - my son (2 1/2) loves

    This book was an instant family favorite - my son (2 1/2) loves to pretend to be a "naughty rabbit" and steals my husband's hat to start a game of chase. A thoroughly charming and wonderful book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    This is the most glorious book I have ever read. If you don't th

    This is the most glorious book I have ever read. If you don't think that it's amazingly hilarious and perfect then you do not have a soul.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    Brilliant.

    Brilliant.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    Highly recommend!!

    My daughter loved this book!! She donated it to her school library!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2015

    more from this reviewer

     I Want My Hat Back has justly won multiple awards. Written and

     I Want My Hat Back has justly won multiple awards. Written and illustrated for young children, adults reading this book filled with droll art will enjoy the subtle humor. 

    The repeated phrase Have you seen my hat? asked by bear of a variety of woodland critters is expressionless. The replies of the critters are simple and varied. No conversational punctuation is used in the book but varied colored text for the replies is done. Manners are gentle and good behavior by all is evident.

    Bear finally has an "ah-ha" moment when he realizes he has seen his hat. He realizes he has been lied to by one of the critters. The realization moment is captured using vivid red on the page as opposed to the basic sand colored pages and browns of the other pages. Bear races back to the one he realizes has his hat.

    No harsh scenes are given but a subtle indication that the offending critter has justly met his "bear-end" is crafted in the art.

    DISCLOSURE: I was provided a complimentary book by Candlewick Press in exchange for my review. Opinions expressed are my own. I received no compensation for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Fun drawings!

    Love Klassen's illustrations and characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

          Always a favorite of mine, I adore I Want My Hat Back. A s

          Always a favorite of mine, I adore I Want My Hat Back. A simple story about a bear just looking for his hat and the rabbit who may, or may not have taken it. With easy, simple language and uncomplicated drawings, Klassen weaves an adorable tale for children and adults alike. 
          Perfect for storytimes or one on one readings with children, I adore this story. This bear walks around the forest, asking about his red pointy hat. After asking a snake, a turtle, and other animals, he asks this rabbit where his hat might be. Coincidentally, the rabbit is wearing a red hat but has no idea where red hats come from. Children enjoy figuring out the mystery before the bear but ultimately, its just a sweet charming story that will make you smile. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2013

    This is a fun, quirky little book. Most reviewers/purchasers lov

    This is a fun, quirky little book. Most reviewers/purchasers loved this book because of the twisted ending. Some hated it because they felt the ending suspended reality too much (as if talking animals didn't do that already). Anyway, the talking bear is wonderfully polite, if not terribly understanding.
    The illustrations, not surprisingly, are fun and quirky. So the only real surprise is the ending, and I'm not telling you what it is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    We love this book!

    This book is so fantastic, and we love reading it with our son. Sure, it's a little twisted, but we find it highly entertaining and my son gets so excited about finding the bear's hat. We love giving each animal its own special voice/accent, which makes the story even more fun. A must-read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2013

    Hilarious children's book!

    I only wish that authors wrote such hilarious short stories for adults. My husband and I both laughed uproariously at this book and look forward to giving it to our toddler son for his birthday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    MOMS OF AMERICA READ TO YOUR CHILDREN BEFORE THEY GO TO BED EVER

    MOMS OF AMERICA READ TO YOUR CHILDREN BEFORE THEY GO TO BED EVERY NIGHT IT WILL GIVE THE CHILDREN INSIGHT TO WHAT GOING ON IN THE WORLD I RECOMMEND MOLLY ADVENTURES VERY HEART WARMINING AND BASE ON A TRUE STORY

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1