Customer Reviews for

I Was Told There'd Be Cake

Average Rating 4
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

laughed out loud

This book was a refreshing escape after a long day of work. The author is witty and delightfully self-deprecating in her storytelling about otherwise normal day-to-day life in New York. I was sad to finish it! Her writing is similar to Dave Sedaris. Looking forward to r...
This book was a refreshing escape after a long day of work. The author is witty and delightfully self-deprecating in her storytelling about otherwise normal day-to-day life in New York. I was sad to finish it! Her writing is similar to Dave Sedaris. Looking forward to reading her other works.

posted by Charlie9 on April 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I was told this would be funny

I put off buying this book because every time I opened it in a book store, the random paragraphs that I read were so boring that I would put it back on the shelf. But yesterday the book shop had a used copy for half price and I already had my credit card out. After read...
I put off buying this book because every time I opened it in a book store, the random paragraphs that I read were so boring that I would put it back on the shelf. But yesterday the book shop had a used copy for half price and I already had my credit card out. After reading it I am sure of one thing -- I want my money back! As they say, "That's history. Get over it." But how can I describe Sloane's (don't call her Sloan) mundane stories and their New York-nothingness? Whiny. Braggy. Selfish. Without a moment of funny. By the way, if you really want to read it, I have a used copy for sale. Real cheap.

posted by JayKSeahawks on September 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    :)

    I highly enjoyed this book. Sloane has a unique and profound way of looking at the world. I look forward to her next book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    laughed out loud

    This book was a refreshing escape after a long day of work. The author is witty and delightfully self-deprecating in her storytelling about otherwise normal day-to-day life in New York. I was sad to finish it! Her writing is similar to Dave Sedaris. Looking forward to reading her other works.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    Great read

    This is a very entertaining set of essays by the author of How Did You Get This Number? Specifically requested by a friend who had the other book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Nothing but "Wit & Charm"

    From the start Sloane Crosley's "I was told there'd be cake" tucks you into her magic world of sharply witted words and delectable charm---much the same way writer Dorothy Parker did nearly ninety years ago. Crosley's seemingly effortless flow of words and gabs, would have fit squarely in the infamous Algonquin Round Table made famous by Parker and her clever friends. Fresh eyes bring fresh insight, and to author Sloane these traits glue like butter to her psyche. If laughing out loud is for you when your reading, by all means grab this book and covet it. It won't disappoint. I'm only disappointed in the fact the book wasn't sold with a gem of a cake to indulge with along with it. Sliced right though, this book will do nothing but smile right back at you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2009

    Why do I have to give it one whole star?

    If only you could rate it lower. I was so excited to get this book in the mail because I had been on an essay kick with the likes of Sarah Vowell and David Sedaris. The author/narrator of this book so so irritating that I was almost unable to get to the end of the book. On the other hand, if you are looking for a book to make you feel better about yourself, this could be stimulating.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2009

    I was told this would be funny

    I put off buying this book because every time I opened it in a book store, the random paragraphs that I read were so boring that I would put it back on the shelf. But yesterday the book shop had a used copy for half price and I already had my credit card out. After reading it I am sure of one thing -- I want my money back! As they say, "That's history. Get over it." But how can I describe Sloane's (don't call her Sloan) mundane stories and their New York-nothingness? Whiny. Braggy. Selfish. Without a moment of funny. By the way, if you really want to read it, I have a used copy for sale. Real cheap.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    Excellent

    Thouching, funny & insiteful stories about life growing up near & living as a young adult in a big city. I could not put it down. Great for all ages my 19 yr old daughter read it then passed it on to me. I would recomend this book to everyone who likes a good story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    If you like Sedaris, buy this book.

    This is an excellent book by an author who most certainly has a promising future. Her intelligence and wit are balanced with her ability to laugh at herself wholeheartedly. I highly recommend this book, one of the best I've read in a long time. Can't wait for her next one to come out.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sort of Boring

    I was looking forward to this book being a lot like the Chelsea Handler series, but it lacked the substance and hilarity. It was funny in some parts, mainly in the last couple of chapters where she is the bridesmaid, otherwise pretty bland.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Finish a thought already!!

    I so wanted to like this book. I am an obsessive fan of David Sedaris and when I read in one of the critics¿ comments that she is comparable to his writing style I thought for sure I had a winner. Furthermore, one of my dearest friends told me that when she read this book, it was my voice she had pictured in her head. Perfect! Let the laughing begin. <BR/>Wrong. <BR/>With the exception of a few snigger-worthy moments, this book is just a compilation of endless brain tangents. She¿ll start the telling of one story and just as you think it¿s going to amount to something, she completely digresses into some random musing. What you end up with is a series of diluted, and truthfully, very boring self deprecating yarns. <BR/>Very disappointing. <BR/>Rating: 2 out of 5 stars<BR/>Suggested With: A Long Island Ice Tea (it¿s in line with the constant references to New York and it¿ll help you find humor in the mundane)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2008

    This made me laugh out loud!

    Absolutely hysterical! I would take this book during my commute into work and everyone on the bus would stare at me because I couldn't stop laughing out loud. Maybe because I am a late 20's new yorker myself, but I could totally relate to her stories. I felt like someone was telling the ridiculous stories that my friends and I have shared. Fun, lighthearted,get ready to laugh, read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2008

    Cake and Eat It Too

    I finished 'I was told There'd Be Cake' a good week ago and my face still smarts from laughing so hard and so often. Sloane Crosley is a rare, precocious talent and I'm permanently beholden.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2008

    dissappointed

    I was really excited to read this book and was pretty disappointed. I expected to laugh out loud and mostly just smiled a few times. Maybe I didn't understand her humor but the stories she told just seemed boring to me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2008

    Excellecent!!!

    I was laughing outloud in public thanks to Sloane. The essays are more of a stream of consciousness than anything else. Luckily her thoughts are an endless parade of funny situations. I am waiting for more cake as well!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Entertaining

    ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Funny

    Funny!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2012

    I enjoy how Sloane looks at the world, she has a funny witty way

    I enjoy how Sloane looks at the world, she has a funny witty way of explaining simple or sometime chaotic happenings in her life.
    This book was quite enjoyable, easy to read for a little bit and put down but always wanting to go back. The stories were short and quite hilarious, caught myself laughing out loud a couple times. I look forward to another book from her, hopefully soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Love it

    Hilarious short stories. Read it twice already.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Disappointing

    Although the book at times was funny, it generally wasn't amusing and I was constantly asking myself what the author's point was. I hoped for a pretty good, fun read but the book fell short.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    Eh.

    I saw that this book had mixed reviews, but based on what looked like a fun first chapter I gave it a shot anyway. Now I wish I had read a bit further.

    The writing style reminds me of some of the wittier columns written by journalism students at my college newspaper. A third of the way into it I'm wondering who this author knew in the publishing world and how she leveraged that into a boook deal.

    I'm not usually so neagative, but if I can stop one person from wasting their $12.99...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6