Customer Reviews for

I Was a Teenage Fairy

Average Rating 4.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

~~~Inspiring~~~

I love this book! It was so absorbing that I read it in one night! It has such beautiful poetic writing and such a deep meaning. I wish I had a Mab! And I wish every girl would read this book! It is so good!

posted by Anonymous on March 4, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Listen!

This is a shallow, flimsy plot. It has no depth at all, and dosen't even scratch the surface. It makes a mockery of the fae, a proud and strong race. Go read The Low Road, 13 Treasures, Sapphire of the Fairies. Books with substence and soul. It is said that given infini...
This is a shallow, flimsy plot. It has no depth at all, and dosen't even scratch the surface. It makes a mockery of the fae, a proud and strong race. Go read The Low Road, 13 Treasures, Sapphire of the Fairies. Books with substence and soul. It is said that given infinite time, million monkeys on a million keyboards would write out the entire works of Shakespeare. But no matter how many monkeys or how much time, this book would never get written. Even a monkey's subconchois wouldn't turn out something this inherintly rotten, and that a fully concouis humsn did makes me weep for the future.

posted by 132545 on July 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2003

    Fairy-Sized Reality

    This book is absolutely amazing. I realize that Block's novels are intended for a young adult audience, which usually means teenaged girls, but something about her writing style begs for a more disciplined mind. Her prose is more like poetry, so this style may not be for everyone. There's also quite a bit of inferrence necessary to understand the development of the characters, which younger, more naive minds, might not be able to manage. As a college student, however, and one who has dealt with issues similar to those of Barbie Marks et al. I have a deep appreciation for Block's subtlety in the telling. She never over-dramatizes, but she makes it clear what kind of impact the events in Barbie's life have on her. I was a little disappointed with the ending. It seemed a bit cliche for my tastes, especially when compared to the intense rendering of the rest of the story. All in all, though, I would reccommend this book for anyone, especially girls out there who're feeling misunderstood and awkward. Who hasn't, right?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2003

    LOVE IT LOVE IT!!!

    IT is the best book! It was fun and creative. I recommend to young adults and kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2003

    Decent

    You may have or will like this book. But I, for one, did not. At least I wouldnt recommend it. The back of the book said that it was a post-modern day fairy tale. But when I read it, i did not understand it as a fairy tale. I think the reason most people buy it is because it has a cool cover. Thats how my friends felt when I was reading it. All I can say is that it was just not my type. Maybe it is your type, but not mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2003

    Good book

    ¿I was a Teenage Fairy¿ by Francesca Lia Block, is a very good and interesting book. The details that the author uses are just great and it definitely kept me reading. The story is basically about a teenage girl who has a mother who wants her to be something she isn¿t and doesn¿t want to be. Barbie the teenage girl has to learn to find her own way in life and stand up for herself, through this process there are good times and there are bad times. This is somewhat a fairy tale because Barbie has someone that helps her through her tough times. This thing is a fairy and this fairy is every thing that Barbie is not. And you have the choice to believe that the fairy is real or not. The lesson she learns is one that will last her whole life. This book has a lot of good lessons in it and it is more for teenagers and adults. And I recommend this book for anyone who wants to just sit down and read a descriptive and interesting book. It is a pretty easy read but some parts are a little grown up. But other than that this is one of the better books I have read this year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2002

    love this book

    i hafta buy this book! its great. i found it in my school library(and im sooooo happy they had it there.) Barbie is lucky to have Mab. i kinda wish i had 1!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2002

    An Entertaining Read!

    I was searching for a book to read when "I Was a Teenage Fairy" practically jumped off the shelf at me. I started reading it that day and didn't put it down until it was finished. It is definitely one of those books that you can easily get caught up in. It is about a girl who is forced into the modeling business by her mother. Her father isn't around. She has nobody she can relate to. Then one day she finds Mab. Mab is spunky and fun and entertaining to anyone. The book also takes place around the drugs and lies in the modeling business.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2002

    *~*kristens reveiw*~*

    this book got me so hooked that i read tha whole thing in one day! tha story is enchanting and exciting, and at some times funny! i recomend this to anyone who loves fantacy, teenage drama, or is just looking for a really good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2002

    I luv this book!

    This is the first book that I read by Ms Block, I loved it so much that I just HAD to read others by her. I did and they are just as great as this one! These books are so enjoyable that I can't put them down. If you haven't read them you should!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2002

    Hey

    ok i'm not much of a reader but i saw the book in my friends bag and i asked her if it was good and if i could borrow it, so i did, after 4 days i was done, that was a record for me then i read more of Blocks cooks b/c i can relate so well to the charactors.Ever since i read this book i've been trying to find more of Block's books b/c her writing is like i'm actually there, and if one book can do that to some1 like me then it must be good b/c i hate reading, until now. Also if you are a troubled teen(which most of us are) then read this book trust me you'll like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2002

    what a moving and realting book

    This book moved me and it is all true and a great way for people to see what little girls who are beautiful go through. Also haveing a friend as a model it brought me cloder to her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2002

    A very good book

    This book is a very moving tale of a little girl who is forced into modeling. I loved this book almost as much as the Daughter's Of The Moon series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2002

    A Beautiful story of a lost girl who discovers just who she is!

    Once you pick this book up there's no way you'll be able to put it down!From the first page you'll be sucked into a world of a girl who's life is in a whirl-wind untill she discovers her fairy friend Mab.Each night you'll be worried about what's going to happen to Barbie next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2002

    it consumes you

    this book is almost god. the things barbie goes through can relate so much to the...almost average mature teenager. definitly a recommended read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2001

    Bittersweet and Beautiful

    Wow! This book was so awesome. I loved the way Block layered so many different emotions into the whole thing; not an easy task, but she pulls it off with grace and beauty. Sometimes sad, often lyrical, constantly beautiful and rich with imagery, Block has written a glossy and moving novel that just about everyone should read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2001

    Unrealistic and yet all too realistic

    This book is about the fairy tales that we make of other people's lives that deny them the reality of their experiences and it truly sparkles with imagery that is both candy-coated and surreal. There is nothing completely comfortable about this book which makes this coming-of-age novel all the more desireable. Barbie Marks is a teenager whose life has been in front of the camera and who people treat as a mannequin to be molded. She has been forced to wear the mask of Beauty and deny her scars. Her mother at one time attempted to wear the one-dimensional mask of Beauty to hide her own abuse, but when the mask did not fit, she forced her daughter to live behind the mask and forced her into the life she always dreamed of. Griffin Tyler is a teenage androgynous beauty who's silence attempts to hide what his facade cannot, a tragedy that twins that of Barbie Marks. Mab is a fairy who is the size of your pinkie-finger. She has a mouth that is just as sharp-shooting as her magenta hair and is the muse of Barbie Marks and Griffin Tyler. It seems that the fiction or reality of Mab lies completely in the eye of the beholder and the fact that four out of the eight characters can see Mab speaks an aching truth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2001

    Captivating

    The book not only uncovered tough issues (molestation, finding your true identity), it also unleashed the innocent child in everyone, child or adult. The way the author placed the character's innocence in a little faerie, little beings that bind us to childhood, is touching. Block gave the little faerie the duty of finding out how the world really treats it most delicate beings, children. Humor and a sense of realization ring throughout the book. I almost cried at the end because I couldn't believe the story was over. Captivating and touching!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2001

    One of a kind book!

    Barbie was a teenage girl in a world of superficial and uncertain people, places, and things. So no wonder Barbie felt alone and had no one to turn to that is until Mab came. Mab was everything Barbie wasn¿t. She taught Barbie almost everything she knows and told Barbie that she needed to learn to stick up for herself and not to apologize so much. Mab, was Barbie¿s only true friend. Barbie became more and more wild and independent as the years passed. She would go to wild parties, smoke, drink, and sleep around. But when she wasn¿t doing this she was talking to Mab. They talked about everything from the crocodile (Barbie¿s Mom) to the hott biscuits (boys). At one party Barbie meets two hott biscuits, Todd and Griffin, who are roommates. Todd is a clean-cut, movie star who lives life to the fullest. Griffin on the other hand is grungy compared to Todd and is almost as lost in the world as Barbie is. But these are the only people who didn¿t leave her and didn¿t give up on her. Todd helps Barbie realize she needs to go for her own dreams never give up. Griffin helped her bring out the truth about their terrible childhood photographer and helped her understand that not everything is her fault. And most importantly Mab helped Barbie become the woman she is. With out her Barbie would still be the eleven-year-old girl at the photo shoot. This is most defiantly on to the best books I have read. Everyone can relate to this book one way or another. I would recommend it to anyone. I am going to end with a quotation from the book that I hope encourages you to read it. 'Barbie was no longer afraid of anything. It was like the thing Mab had said about belief. The belief is sometimes the biggest part of it all. You can choose to believe in your published book being held in the loving hands of strangers, your name tattooed forever on the heart of the one you adore; you can choose to believe in tiny red-haired pesky piskies-all the thing ¿they¿ may tell you not believe in. But who are they anyway? What do they know? What makes them any more real? And now, Barbie realized, I am telling Mab to believe. I am telling Belief herself to believe.' (pages 178-179)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2001

    fab

    I read all of her books and she is now my favorite author. This was the best book I have read and I hope she has lots more to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2001

    I think we all need a Mab in our lives...

    This book is highly captivating and even motivating as the author's writing causes the reader to turn page after page to find out what happens next. Barbie is a young model who does not feel at place with her life. Her mother is in essence living through her career, and wants Barbie to succeed. The girl was even named after the famous Mattell toy - you guessed it, the Barbie doll. Barbie turns to her only 'friend', a pinky sized fairy with an attitude. Mab. Mab is the self-confidence that we all hide away and are afraid to unleash at points in our lives. She is our conscience, our courage and our boisterousness tied into one. Block does a fantastic job tying Mab into the story to make her have a realistic feel. 'I was a Teenage Fairy' deals with some touchy situations, like sex and molestation, and should not be recommended to readers under the age of twelve (in my opinion).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2001

    Revolutionary

    Perfect. Francesca's blunt humor, straight forward comments and words of pure love leave you in a state of awe. As a writer myself, I strive to touch my readers and make them feel what my characters feel, what I feel, when they read my words, like Francesca has. The story is remarkable and displays humanity in a way that most conservative and to-the-book written novels try to, but can't. If you're too into the traditional literature, I Was a Teenage Fairy will break you into the world of great fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4