Customer Reviews for

I Was a Teenage Fairy

Average Rating 4.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

~~~Inspiring~~~

I love this book! It was so absorbing that I read it in one night! It has such beautiful poetic writing and such a deep meaning. I wish I had a Mab! And I wish every girl would read this book! It is so good!

posted by Anonymous on March 4, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Listen!

This is a shallow, flimsy plot. It has no depth at all, and dosen't even scratch the surface. It makes a mockery of the fae, a proud and strong race. Go read The Low Road, 13 Treasures, Sapphire of the Fairies. Books with substence and soul. It is said that given infini...
This is a shallow, flimsy plot. It has no depth at all, and dosen't even scratch the surface. It makes a mockery of the fae, a proud and strong race. Go read The Low Road, 13 Treasures, Sapphire of the Fairies. Books with substence and soul. It is said that given infinite time, million monkeys on a million keyboards would write out the entire works of Shakespeare. But no matter how many monkeys or how much time, this book would never get written. Even a monkey's subconchois wouldn't turn out something this inherintly rotten, and that a fully concouis humsn did makes me weep for the future.

posted by 132545 on July 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2004

    Wow

    This book was reaaly cool. This book combined the reality and the fictional world together andI thought It wwas really cool.This book is about a mab(fairy) who helps out children who have been sexually assualted by others. The book manily sticks to the character Barbie who later renames herself Selena Moon this character, as a child was forced into the modeling business and she hated it. The photogragher who took her pictures sexually assualted her and she could not get over it for the longest time. But before it happened she made a new friend named mab. Mab is a fairy who helps hurt or lost children. Mab helped Barbie through the hard times in her life and she was Barbie`s closest friend in the end of the book Barbie is with this guy named Todd who, in Mab's words is a total biscuit, who Barbie falls in love with. This is a good book for teenagers to read and I would recommend it to my class anytime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2004

    a fantacy you can relate to

    Any young adult could relate to this story, its very modern with enough drama to keep you on your feet but not too much to make it over the top, its a great read for any one not only teenagers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2003

    Good book

    ¿I was a Teenage Fairy¿ by Francesca Lia Block, is a very good and interesting book. The details that the author uses are just great and it definitely kept me reading. The story is basically about a teenage girl who has a mother who wants her to be something she isn¿t and doesn¿t want to be. Barbie the teenage girl has to learn to find her own way in life and stand up for herself, through this process there are good times and there are bad times. This is somewhat a fairy tale because Barbie has someone that helps her through her tough times. This thing is a fairy and this fairy is every thing that Barbie is not. And you have the choice to believe that the fairy is real or not. The lesson she learns is one that will last her whole life. This book has a lot of good lessons in it and it is more for teenagers and adults. And I recommend this book for anyone who wants to just sit down and read a descriptive and interesting book. It is a pretty easy read but some parts are a little grown up. But other than that this is one of the better books I have read this year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2001

    Unrealistic and yet all too realistic

    This book is about the fairy tales that we make of other people's lives that deny them the reality of their experiences and it truly sparkles with imagery that is both candy-coated and surreal. There is nothing completely comfortable about this book which makes this coming-of-age novel all the more desireable. Barbie Marks is a teenager whose life has been in front of the camera and who people treat as a mannequin to be molded. She has been forced to wear the mask of Beauty and deny her scars. Her mother at one time attempted to wear the one-dimensional mask of Beauty to hide her own abuse, but when the mask did not fit, she forced her daughter to live behind the mask and forced her into the life she always dreamed of. Griffin Tyler is a teenage androgynous beauty who's silence attempts to hide what his facade cannot, a tragedy that twins that of Barbie Marks. Mab is a fairy who is the size of your pinkie-finger. She has a mouth that is just as sharp-shooting as her magenta hair and is the muse of Barbie Marks and Griffin Tyler. It seems that the fiction or reality of Mab lies completely in the eye of the beholder and the fact that four out of the eight characters can see Mab speaks an aching truth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2001

    One of a kind book!

    Barbie was a teenage girl in a world of superficial and uncertain people, places, and things. So no wonder Barbie felt alone and had no one to turn to that is until Mab came. Mab was everything Barbie wasn¿t. She taught Barbie almost everything she knows and told Barbie that she needed to learn to stick up for herself and not to apologize so much. Mab, was Barbie¿s only true friend. Barbie became more and more wild and independent as the years passed. She would go to wild parties, smoke, drink, and sleep around. But when she wasn¿t doing this she was talking to Mab. They talked about everything from the crocodile (Barbie¿s Mom) to the hott biscuits (boys). At one party Barbie meets two hott biscuits, Todd and Griffin, who are roommates. Todd is a clean-cut, movie star who lives life to the fullest. Griffin on the other hand is grungy compared to Todd and is almost as lost in the world as Barbie is. But these are the only people who didn¿t leave her and didn¿t give up on her. Todd helps Barbie realize she needs to go for her own dreams never give up. Griffin helped her bring out the truth about their terrible childhood photographer and helped her understand that not everything is her fault. And most importantly Mab helped Barbie become the woman she is. With out her Barbie would still be the eleven-year-old girl at the photo shoot. This is most defiantly on to the best books I have read. Everyone can relate to this book one way or another. I would recommend it to anyone. I am going to end with a quotation from the book that I hope encourages you to read it. 'Barbie was no longer afraid of anything. It was like the thing Mab had said about belief. The belief is sometimes the biggest part of it all. You can choose to believe in your published book being held in the loving hands of strangers, your name tattooed forever on the heart of the one you adore; you can choose to believe in tiny red-haired pesky piskies-all the thing ¿they¿ may tell you not believe in. But who are they anyway? What do they know? What makes them any more real? And now, Barbie realized, I am telling Mab to believe. I am telling Belief herself to believe.' (pages 178-179)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2001

    I think we all need a Mab in our lives...

    This book is highly captivating and even motivating as the author's writing causes the reader to turn page after page to find out what happens next. Barbie is a young model who does not feel at place with her life. Her mother is in essence living through her career, and wants Barbie to succeed. The girl was even named after the famous Mattell toy - you guessed it, the Barbie doll. Barbie turns to her only 'friend', a pinky sized fairy with an attitude. Mab. Mab is the self-confidence that we all hide away and are afraid to unleash at points in our lives. She is our conscience, our courage and our boisterousness tied into one. Block does a fantastic job tying Mab into the story to make her have a realistic feel. 'I was a Teenage Fairy' deals with some touchy situations, like sex and molestation, and should not be recommended to readers under the age of twelve (in my opinion).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2000

    BLOCK IS A GODDESS!!

    THIS BOOK WAS AN INSPERATION TO ME AND I BEING 19 WISHED I HAD BLOCKS BOOKS AT THE AGES OF 14 & 15 IT WOULD OF HELPED SO MUCH!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2000

    Why I like the fairies...

    I think this book goes right up there on the list of 'girl reads' about chick problems...although it seems to be written for a young-ish audience it deals with serious problems. The whole concept of the fairy thing was a really sweet and beautiful way of getting across the ideas of love, healing, and dreaming. This book is written with language that wakes up all your senses and makes you think that maybe it is possible to be a kid forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2000

    Good Book, Bad judgment

    this was an excellent book, proving that life isn't how we always expect and that sometimes we need those tiny fairies to help us along the hard road ahead. But life isn't sex, and life isn't giving it away and loving someone because you had sex. I think this book was a bit misleading in the way life and sex are connected. But over all I like that she can prove that even the most beautiful girl has plenty of problems!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1