Customer Reviews for

I Wasn't Ready to Say Goodbye: Surviving, Coping and Healing After the Sudden Death of a Loved One

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2008

    Helping to live with your grief

    This is a outstanding book and a must book for anyone who has lost a loved one in a accident . It helps you to understand the roller coaster ride and how to deal with people and the everyday ordeal of living with this grief. It was really my life line and I have passed it on to several people who have lost loved ones . I lost my daughter and son in law in a horrible hellicpoter crash coming to me in Florida to bury my Mother all in twenty four hour period .

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    My New Bible...must have!!

    This book was on the shelf when I was looking for a book to help me through the sudden loss of my fiancee. There were very few people in my life that could relate to this type of loss...as this was an untimely tragic death.

    I wanted something that could help me understand what I was feeling...he wasn't old, he wasn't sick...he was in a car accident. There were so many things that I would read in this book and finally was able to say to myself, "what I am feeling is normal!" I didn't know how to move forward in my life, since I myself never experienced a tragic death...up until this, everyone that I knew that passed away was very sick or elderly.

    I would certainly recommend this book to anyone who is going through this type of loss...it IS different from losing someone that was sick or old. And anyone who knows anyone who recently experienced this, buy it for them! Even if they are not ready to read it right away, it will be there for them to poke through when they want validation of their feelings!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2009

    Still Not Ready to Say Goodbye

    I lost both of my parents within 8 days of each other (July/August 2008)and I still struggle every day with the emptiness and the "why" of it all. My Mother was diagnosed with a glioblastoma brain tumor and was gone within 6 weeks. Eight days prior to her death we lost my Father to a massive heart attack sitting on the side of the road, alone. The last few months have been a blur......the why's have gone unanswered, the emptiness unfilled. My siblings and I struggle daily trying to understand why God would allow this to happen to our family.

    This book has answered some questions and offered hope. Only time can heal. I know that we will never be the same as a family, but this has definitely been the best read (out of many books I have bought seeking answers) and I would highly recommend it to anyone going through losing a loved one.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    grief book

    excellant accompaniment when one is on this journey loss . very comprehensive and helpful in that it addresses so much. a great source of support on this journey where no one reallly knows what to say or so many do not have a clue what it is like to go thru this.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    I Wasn"t Ready to Say Goodbye

    This book was given to me by my daughter, when my son accidently drowned in Fla in July 2008. He was 41 and the love of my life. This book has helped me get thru my worst days. I still pick it up and read certain chapters when I am having a bad time. I would highly recommend this book to others that have lost a loved one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    not helpful

    boring and not helpful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    This book helped me through a horrible time!

    I received a bunch of books from people after I lost my husband in a car accident leaving me to care for my 5yr old son and 16month old daughter. It was a horrible time and no one has any clue what you are going through unless they have lost someone tragically, especially someone from your household. Life changes so fast and so many unanswered questions.

    I purchased this book for myself and it was the ONLY book that i read, all the others i lost interest after first couple pages, this book seemed like someone actually understood what i was going through and made me feel not so alone in a world where everyone else went back to their "normal life" that i did not have anymore.

    I have given this book to so many people since then when they've lost someone and knowing what it did for me and still does even after 3 1/2 years i will keep passing it on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Finally! A book to help with sudden death.

    I've struggled for months with what appeared to be a mid-life crisis. In researching how to get through it, I tracked the source down to delayed grief. I lost my brother in 1995 and my dad in 2000 in very similar auto accidents. I don't think I ever grieved them properly and it surfaced in my forties. This book is one of the ones I found to address my particular situation.

    This is a well written guidebook to carry anyone through the experience of losing a close loved one suddenly. It contains sections dealing with specific losses such as: a spouse or partner, a sibling, suicide, mass death (such as terrorism), fallen heroes, and others. Each section is thoughtful and helpful. It also has a wonderful portion of the book carrying the reader step by step through the immediate aftermath of sudden death. The back couple chapters are dealing with additional resources and activities to help with grief work.

    The authors of this book have both dealt with sudden death themselves. Part of what I found most useful was reading the sections they wrote about their personal situations. I'm still working on the back exercises. I think that will take a while. I wish I'd had this book in 1995 when I lost my brother. Even though my grief was delayed by decades, I am still finding it helpful. Grief is a very individual experience that nobody except the person inside your head will ever understand. These authors have written a resource to help you find your way through that deep, dark forest into the light again. I recommend it to anyone who's experienced a sudden death. I'll keep my copy when I'm finished to hand on to the first person I know who needs it. It helps

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I recommend this book. It help me thru the roaler coaster I'm on. My sister sent it to me after I lost my 28 yr old daughter Irene. Deputy Rios was on her way to the airport for work duty when she had her accident in 08/13/2008. It helps you deal with the steps of losing a loved one from one day to the next. Unfortunately, I'm about to buy the same book to give to a dear freind who just lost her sister thru an accident.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2010

    great book for any one who has just lost some one

    this book was very helpful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2