Customer Reviews for

I Will Carry You: The Sacred Dance of Grief and Joy

Average Rating 4
( 301 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(171)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

One of the most heartbreaking yet beautiful books I have ever read.

I have been following Angie Smith's blog for a long time. Audrey's story is one of pain and heartache, joy and love. She was a blessing to this family and forever changed their lives. I know exactly the journey that Angie walks because my newborn baby girl Melissa di...
I have been following Angie Smith's blog for a long time. Audrey's story is one of pain and heartache, joy and love. She was a blessing to this family and forever changed their lives. I know exactly the journey that Angie walks because my newborn baby girl Melissa died shortly after birth in 1990. Twenty years later, I remember every moment of pain, every moment of anger, every moment of questioning God. But I turned that pain into good and I have lived to honor my daughter. I am so thankful that God chose me to be her mother.

If you have lost a child, please read this book. It will help you more than you can imagine.

Update.. Angie Smith gave birth to a healthy baby girl this week. Both are doing wonderful. I am so happy for them!

posted by 1880304 on May 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

I can't force myself to finish this book!

I read the synopsis of this book and thought it sounded like a great read. I am a pediatric nurse and thought I could relate to it. This book is terrible. I have started it and cannot bring myself to finish it. Most of the book is scripture. I wanted to hear more about ...
I read the synopsis of this book and thought it sounded like a great read. I am a pediatric nurse and thought I could relate to it. This book is terrible. I have started it and cannot bring myself to finish it. Most of the book is scripture. I wanted to hear more about Audrey's story and I turn the page to another scripture. I understand the author is religious but there is hardly any story here. Then, what story there was to the book was so over dramatic. It is, understandably, a sad story but seriously the author makes it sound like every person who looks at her just starts crying instantly. I was very disappointed in this book and wish I could get a refund!!

posted by nursekara on June 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 302 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Such a great book

    Heartbreaking story yet it is so full of hope! A fantastic book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Absolutely Amazing

    This is the first book I have ever read that I felt the author truly bared her soul. The experience she went through with her daughter Audrey and the way she continued to give glory to God absolutely blew me away. This woman is REAL.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    Great book

    What an amazing story. I have never lost a child, but yet I was still deeply moved by this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    Amazing!

    Such an inspiring read of life, loss and everything in between!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    Very real, forthright and honest.

    If you have faced loss this book helps to set your focus on trusting and finding hope in God. It is honest and touching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    Highly Recommended!!!

    I was told to read this book just days after my first miscarriage and this book has helped me emotionally and spiritually get through one of the hardest points in my life. I can not express enough, there aren't the words, to explain how blessed I feel that this book was brought into my life when I was so down and so far away from the Lord. Angie Smith brought the word of the Lord back into my life and my situation and I will be forever grateful to her, her supportive family, and most of all, Audery. God Bless!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    Great Book

    I Will Carry You is a fantastic book. I thought it was very eye opening to read. I find it incredible how God can take pain, such as Angie's situation, and transform it into a way to spread His love. Witnessing her high points and her low points makes me realize that God can give people a way out to any tough situation. He will always provide love for those who love Him. This book is very touching and I would recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    Amazing book!

    I gave this to my mother in law when my husband passed away and also to a friend when she lost her son. Both of them said its the best grief book they have ever read. i love what a great example Angie is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2010

    Inspirational!

    What a compelling book about faith... all must read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I Can't Do This Book Justice With A Simple Review

    I can't even do this book justice with a simple review. All I can say is that it's everything I expected and more. Angie tells her daughter's story in an incredible way, and it is definitely worth a read. Or two. Or a thousand.

    I also recommend "When God Stopped Keeping Score" for anyone who feels bound by their anger, guilt, hurt or pain. I thought that the book was just about forgiveness, I soon learned, it was about so much more than that. It was about how you should deal with friends, family and yourself and more importantly, how to keep these relationships strong when things go wrong.

    Having read it, I feel like a better person. Maybe because this book spoke to me and not down to me. I have read a lot of books that was written like I didn't know anything. What the author of "When God Stopped Keeping Score" does is talk to you like a friend. I needed that. You will understand why when you read it. It is on sale here on BN.com.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    Unforgettable read

    What a compelling book. Once again, I stumbled across this book when it was offered as a free book on bn.com. I'm not sure why I was drawn to it but it's a very moving book. It is extremely religious but even if you don't put yourself in that category, it's worth the read. It deals mainly with one woman's journey as she loses a child and tells how her faith helped her through the journey but really it's the story of facing death (or other trials in life) and how to navigate the grief. I cried throughout this book because she holds nothing back as she tells her story. I would recommend it to anyone who has faced the death of a child or knows someone who has. It's full of advice and guidance and asks many questions that will leave the reader pondering the level of their faith. A great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2010

    Amazing story

    God is good. All the time. Angie's story is just another testimony to the amazing hand of God in any situation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    Angie Smith is a natural with her story telling. She graciously shares her most broken moments and always manages to glorify God.

    Even as an avid reader, I could only read a few chapters at a time, my heart couldn't take much more than that, plus I was going through too many Kleenex. Her book reads like a friend talking to you. You quickly feel as though you've known her and her family forever and are so drawn into her love for the Lord. This is a tough book to read, but oh so worth it. Read this and share it's message of grace, hope and faith with anyone you care about- yes, it's that good! This book WILL leave an impression on you in a very positive way. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Full of joy, hope, sorrow, love, amazing grace, tears, faith....

    This book touched my heart as a woman, as a mother, and as a child of God. I cannot say anything more...you must read the book and experience it for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    A Must Read for Everyone

    I had been eagerly awaiting buying this for my cousin who lost her own baby in 2003. As a family we have been devastated by that loss since then and I have read Angie's blog for a year now because of that. While waiting to pick up a hard copy for my cousin I couldn't wait any longer and downloaded a digital copy for myself for my Nook. I was blown away.

    Angie's writing style did not disappoint. Her words were moving and each word, sentence, thought carried weight--had a purpose, just like the weight she so hoped her Audrey would have in this world. Her thoughts were so clear and powerful. What a gift to be able to articulate exactly what you feel and say what you mean.

    More important, while I am very much a believer, I am not often into reading or listening to other preachers as my mother, aunts, and cousins do. I could listen to Angie's Bible lessons for hours. I was so moved by her stories, how she connected them the Bible stories and her faith, her words were so powerful. I didn't feel she was preaching at you, but like you were having a conversation with a friend.

    I totally recommend this book, not only to anyone who has suffered an unimaginable loss, but to anyone whose faith needs to be restored or who could benefit from reading about Angie's strong belief in Jesus (well who couldn't!). It was truly a gift to read this book!

    I was only sad that three of my very favorite blog stories didn't make it into the book, which I understand due to length constraints. I cannot wait for my cousin to finish the book, I hope it brings her comfort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    Great book

    Angie Smith has quite a story to tell. You will really be touched by this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    Beautiful story of hope in the midst of pain

    Angie proves to be a gifted writer in her debut, which happens to be one of the most vulnerable stories one could every write. Each page is filled with her sorrow, hope, joy and grief as she tells the story of her sweet Audrey. I have followed her blog now for awhile and read this book in one afternoon. She writes to those who have lost and those who haven't, it is applicable for anyone and I hope she writes more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    Impressive and Beautiful

    I am 19 years and only found Angie Smith's blog about 5 months ago. I read this book in one sitting the moment I received it in the mail. I have not experienced the pain of losing a child, but felt comforted through this book in the things going on in my life. I love that we can fully embrace grief and joy at the same time in only the miraculous way that the Lord allows. I know this sounds crazy, but that group that makes the one Christian movie about every two years (Facing the Giants, Fireproof, etc.) should definitely take a look at this story. It touched me, an unmarried college student. Everyone can learn something from this. I am so thankful that the Lord is using Audrey and Angie to tell the world about His love, even in the most difficult of circumstances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Touching Book For Wherever You Are In Life

    I have been a huge fan of Angie's since the bunny (the begining). Her heart for the Lord is nothing short of amazing, touching, and inspiring. She makes you feel like you have been friends your entire life. You can set down with a cup of coffee and feel confrontable with her.

    Her story is amazing. To go through what she did and still have the faith to lean into the Lord, and love him in an unlovable situation is inspiring. I encourage anyone to read this story no matter your walk in life. I myself have not lived the horror of burying my child, but because Angie did and was so transparent about her feelings, and so solid in her faith I have a renewed relationship with my lord.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2010

    Loved it!

    I lost my son in February of 2009, This book made me feel all the feelings again. Which is good to heal and refeel the raw emotion of such a loss. Angie is a great writer and you can feel what she is feeling. I set down with the book to read a few pages, and didn't put it down again til the last page!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 302 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16