BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

I Will Fear No Evil

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended for the open mind.

In order to read this book, you must have an open mind about gender and life. In order to understand the full story, one must not allow society's opinions of gender squash the message portrayed by the story. A great read and it speaks to the human condition.

posted by Ann_Marie_Dange on October 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I Will Fear This Novel

I made a valid attempt to finish IWFNE, really I did. But in the end, the monotony and lifeless characters forced me to put it down. The story seemed to remain in an endless loop of sexual banter and culinary delights. Sorry Robert, I gave it my best shot. If you are...
I made a valid attempt to finish IWFNE, really I did. But in the end, the monotony and lifeless characters forced me to put it down. The story seemed to remain in an endless loop of sexual banter and culinary delights. Sorry Robert, I gave it my best shot. If you are thinking of exploring his work,don't let this be your first Heinlein experience.

posted by Anonymous on December 15, 1999

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    Missing pages

    Not the best Heinlein and when I finally got finished with page 320 I found the next page was 353! The book was smooth bound, so nothing had fallen out, it was simply missing 32 pages. I guess I will try to find a hardcover copy to see if it has the same problem.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 1999

    I Will Fear This Novel

    I made a valid attempt to finish IWFNE, really I did. But in the end, the monotony and lifeless characters forced me to put it down. The story seemed to remain in an endless loop of sexual banter and culinary delights. Sorry Robert, I gave it my best shot. If you are thinking of exploring his work,don't let this be your first Heinlein experience.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended for the open mind.

    In order to read this book, you must have an open mind about gender and life. In order to understand the full story, one must not allow society's opinions of gender squash the message portrayed by the story. A great read and it speaks to the human condition.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2010

    Great idea. Bad book.

    The book is about brain transplants. Even though the concept seems out of a B-Movie (or maybe E-Movie) I am a fan of Robert Heinlein and know that he has some great and thought provoking books. The author goes well up to page 100. From there the story goes down the drain. What I have most trouble is how the main character goes from Business Tycoon to a caricature of girlie girl. It makes no sense.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Flbyo o

    ?
    Gufhihkropfh b,iyiyitrugj .

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Great read

    Old favorite loved reading again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2012

     

     

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Recommended - Social Science Fiction

    If your'e a hard-core SCI-FI fan, this one is not for you. Set in a mid-21st Century future where American Society has largely broken down, but written with the mid-20th century principles of free love, this is a wild mental ride. It is plodding at first, but finishes strong. Keep an open mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Fun book

    Somewhat ridiclous

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    Gives a whole new perspective on the female sexual experience.

    Heinlein really gets into his "feminine side" with this book. A multibillionare has his brain transfered into the body of a sexy woman and learns how the other side thinks and feels. He learns all about the female body and the wonder of multiple orgasms. Sexual without being pornographic and a very entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Coming To Terms With The Cycles of Life

    “I Will Fear No Evil” by Robert Heinlen is a dramatically woven story of the potential pros and cons of performing brain transplants. Johann Smith, the main character, is a man who is extremely wealthy but only has a limited time left to live on earth. In the story Mr. Smith mentions that he constantly heard the saying “You Can’t Take It With You.” He was determined to get around that phrase by undergoing a brain transplant with a willing and healthy body between 20-40 years old. He ends up unexpectedly having a brain transplant with Eunice Branca. Mr. Smith is very familiar with her because she was his favorite secretary. The only reason why I gave this story only three stars is due to the fact that I was expecting more spontaneous action plot elements similar to what are seen in the Star Trek and Star Wars movies. This book is more for those who are looking for a book that is centered around the conversation dialogue of characters describing their feelings on life and what they are going to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Loved it

    Good characters. Great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    If you enjoy Si-Fi this is the book for you

    One of my all time favorites ever. R. Heinline was one of the best.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2007

    The author is delusional

    Johann Sebastian Bach Smith is filthy rich and about 90 years old. He arranges to have his brain transplanted into a younger body when he goes. It just happens that the body is that of his gorgeous female secretary, Eunice. So, now he has to learn to be female... and it also just so happens that Eunice still kind of inhabits her body and the two of them have really great conversations. Okay. Interesting idea. I could not read more than half of this. I found the dialogue stilted and awkward. I kept thinking, people don't really talk like this! I couldn't keep my disbelief suspended. And, by the way, Eunice acts like men wish women would, but few do. Really unbelievable and disgusting. Lots of adult topics explored. Not impressed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2002

    Heinlein Is Genius

    For those of you who dont know and said this book is poop compared to his other books thats because he passed away before he finished writing it. He didn't even get to do any rewrites or editing which is where he makes his books what they are. This book is a wonderful look into the mind of a man who has to learn how to become a woman. It does have a lot of sex but it's justified by the story. Heinlein writes so well that after reading any of his books i fell like i can go to that world and live without sticking out like a sore thumb. deffentially give any Henlein book a read.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2001

    Heinlein Sticks His Neck Out

    This is one deeply weird read. Its view of a violent, polluted, sex-crazed future is certainly unique and controversial. I absolutely cannot believe that it hasn't been banned somewhere (or has it?..I don't really know) just for the raunchiness (bikinis and body paint are standard office wear and an overripe 13-year-old girl climbs naked into the lap of her dad's 71-year old male boss--his wife and her parents think it's cute) and general promiscuity. Not much in the way of plot but worth reading once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2000

    Not average Heinlein but fun

    Just like most of RAH's novels I read this one cover to cover in about 2 days. It's naughty but nice and somewhat more simplistic than the author's masterpieces. IWFNE reminded me somewhat of my first Heinlein book: Friday. It's a fun to read in the sun type of deal, not a must read novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3