Customer Reviews for

I Will Plant You a Lilac Tree: A Memoir of a Schindler's List Survivor

Average Rating 4.5
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Good Book

    If you are interested in Holocust survivors this is a good book to read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2006

    GREAT!!!!!

    I'll PLant You A Lilac Tree is an amazing book. I loved it! It really touched me and exposed me to the true story of War World II. I enjoyed this book grealty and hope others will get to read this book and love too.!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A compelling story woven with heart-warming experiences and unwavering love

    I would enthusiastically recommend the reading of the biography, "I Will Plant You A Lilac Tree," by Laura Hillman because the mesmerizing story articulates about the honest significance of being valiant in an attempt to sacrifice her own life and liberties for the devotion of her family. For example, on page 24, Hannelore Wolff says, "I must go with my mother to whatever that may be. I have to protect her and my brothers." This shows that even though Hannelore knew that she was going to have to endure the torture of the revolting treatment of the Holocaust, she rather put up with the consequences of her decision to join her family rather than her own safety. This also shows that she is unselfish because she cares more about others than herself. For example, on page 97, Hannelore says, "I don't care about this paradise if I can't take Selly along." This shows that Hannelore would rather refuse special treatment for being unique if she can't care for her injured brother. This also shows that Hannelore wants to spread and share the enhanced treatment with her family. For example, on page 150, Hannelore says "Let him have the comfort of having me here. I will give you my bread portion for a week." This shows that she would give up her essentials and lower her chance of survival in order to keep her dying brother alive. This also shows that she doesn't want to lose any more of the people she loves. As you can see, Hannelore's compassion and concern for her family made it complicated for her to survive but that affection is what made her victorious in her journey to freedom.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Excellent story written with great purpose!

    !,

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    Love it!!!!

    I think that this should be a book every one needs to read. I couldnt put it down on the first page. If you are reading this and thinking about buying this book i really recomend you do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2010

    A GREAT BOOK!

    The book I read was called I Will Plant You A Lilac Tree by Laura Hillman. This is a story about a girl that was pulled into the holocaust because she feared the safety of her family. She was already safe at her school when her mother wrote to her telling her that her father was dead. Hannelore was terrified but she wrote a letter to a SS officer asking him to pay her way on a train to the camp that her mother, and brothers were going to. Hannelore soon found herself at a camp and falling in love. This story is a great story and would recommend it to anyone because it shows all human feelings.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    excellent read

    This is a compelling story, one I enjoyed very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    You smell the smoke first, then the blood-curdling sent of human

    You smell the smoke first, then the blood-curdling sent of human flesh. It could be your brother, your mother, your friend. You hear the shouts, and more gunshots. You always hear gunshots. You quickly pinch your cheeks, to make them look pink instead of the pale, sickly white that you normally look like. You do this to look healthy; you do this to stay alive. This is what the main character Hannelore Hillman, in the book, I Will Plant You a Lilac Tree by Laura Hillman has to go through during World War II. Hannelore is a Jewish, and she travels from camp to camp dealing with pain, sickness, death, and labor the comes with living in concentration camps. Then all starts to look good, when Dick, the man she is in love with, her best friend, and Hannelore get put on Schindler’s list. Throughout the book, she shows her bravery, courage, and faith as it is tested by one of the most horrendous events in history. I recommend this book for all ages, since it has good word choice that is not too hard. The book constantly keeps you on edge, and is great for all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Book

    This book was ok i thought it was really sad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Great book

    I've been reading a lot of WW2 books lately and this was a great book definitely worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    love story of survival

    This book was better than I expect. This girls last most of her family.
    Endure hardship salvation and even in her most delirious moments
    she never game up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    A great book

    This book is hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Wonderful

    This was a great book and I loved it. Very sad but as soon as I started reading it I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Well said

    I decided to read this book after the author came to my school. It was a great read and gave me a true meaning of how lucky I am today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Awesomw

    I loved this book. Well written and shows that hope shines in the darkest places.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Mary anne

    Gteat book but too short around 132 psges

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    A good read but sad...

    A sad story but held my attention to the end.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    Excellent book!

    Very hard to read at times, as are most books on the Holocaust. Very well-written. The horrible things done to the Jewish people must never be forgotten!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    Heartbreaking and warming

    How anyone could do such a horrific thing is beyond me. But it does make for good reading. The Holocaust is a major part of our history and I am drawn to reading about survivors and their stories. This book was only $5.00 on my Nook and I loved it. It was a quick read as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A moving story

    I am the same age as Hannelore was when she decided to leave Berlin to stay with her family. This book was so moving and emotional for me it was both hard and irresistable for me to read. During the book you feel the pain, devotion, love, desperation, and happiness Hannelore feels. Anyone who is even the least bit intersted in this genre MUST read this book. One of my favorite parts is the reunion of Dick and Hannelore at Oskar Schindler's camp. It makes me incredibly happy to know that this story has the bittersweet ending of Dick and Hannelore going on and having a life together but she never heard from her family again. It leaves you wondering if Dick ever planted that lilac tree...... Overall the best, most well written book I have ever read and I am sure everyone who has read or is reading this book agrees with me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5