Customer Reviews for

I Will Teach You to Be Rich

Average Rating 4
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Should You Save? Invest? Spend? Give? Not to worry, Ramit has your plan!

As a personal lawyer, legal expert on TV and author of the weekly online magazine Family Wealth Secrets as well as a best-selling book about legal planning for parents, I come across a whole lot of personal finance advice. Most of it is either trite, bad or just downri...
As a personal lawyer, legal expert on TV and author of the weekly online magazine Family Wealth Secrets as well as a best-selling book about legal planning for parents, I come across a whole lot of personal finance advice. Most of it is either trite, bad or just downright ineffective.

Ramit's guidance is exactly what you need when you are just starting out in your financial life (and frankly even if you aren't). His 6 week action plan leaves you with no question about the right way to handle your finances and more importantly how to make decisions as they come along on a day to day basis.

After reading Ramit's book, I Will Teach You to Be Rich, you will have all the answers within you and be able to stop looking outside of yourself to know what you should be doing with your money.

Alexis Martin Neely, Founder & CEO
Family Wealth Planning Institute
http://www.FamilyWealthMatters.com

posted by Alexis_Martin_Neely on March 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Looks interesting but...

B&N should check the sample. Maybe there is something screwy with my Nook but it seems to have duplicate info so it's not the full 60ish pages.

posted by BeverlyGirl55 on June 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Should You Save? Invest? Spend? Give? Not to worry, Ramit has your plan!

    As a personal lawyer, legal expert on TV and author of the weekly online magazine Family Wealth Secrets as well as a best-selling book about legal planning for parents, I come across a whole lot of personal finance advice. Most of it is either trite, bad or just downright ineffective.

    Ramit's guidance is exactly what you need when you are just starting out in your financial life (and frankly even if you aren't). His 6 week action plan leaves you with no question about the right way to handle your finances and more importantly how to make decisions as they come along on a day to day basis.

    After reading Ramit's book, I Will Teach You to Be Rich, you will have all the answers within you and be able to stop looking outside of yourself to know what you should be doing with your money.

    Alexis Martin Neely, Founder & CEO
    Family Wealth Planning Institute
    http://www.FamilyWealthMatters.com

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Recommended

    Such a great book for young adults, especially college students trying to manage money and learn the best ways to invest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    review of I Will Teach You To Be Rich.

    I Will Teach You To Be Rich, by Ramit Sethi, is a well written, concise book for beginners and in particular, young beginners in the area of personal finance. The author takes you from basic budgeting to saving for large purchases such as your first house. He makes it relevant to today's buyer in that he will state whether it is even a wise decision to buy a home as opposed to renting. Ramit has a keen sense of wit and boldness that will appeal to this generation. I am glad that there is someone such as Ramit that will speak to this subject in an appealing way, there is certainly a need! I recommend this book as a purchase for those interested in learning basic finance; it would also make a nice graduation gift.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    looking forward to it

    I am definitely looking forward to reading this book. I have already read some excerpts and they sold me on this book. Ramit teaches us so much through his blogs, now it's time to see what he uses everyday. Keep up the great work.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2014

    Hos How to be rich

    It is a cool book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    How I learned financial savviness

    I didn't grow up in a household that knew how to handle money, so when I got my first full time job, I couldn't figure out why I was More in debt than when I had a cashier job (didn't even get hookers and drugs)! Luckily, this book teaches all that I didn't know. Every month, I can put more of his practices into action. He doesn't guilt you about small things you like in life (my cappuccino is a real treat, don't take it away!), but will berate you if you don't try to spend a few minutes of your time tweaking your system or negotiating a good rate that will save you lots of trouble, financial heartache, and possibly hundreds to thousands down the line. I've had the worst month of hidden expenses, moving costs, overlapping rent/deposits, but I've managed to focus on my finances, thanks to Ramit, and my net worth is more than it was last month. Feels good, bro.

    This book is straightforward, amusingly written, and Ramit's excitement about the potential to change you finances is contagious! I had a free .pdf of this book, but I liked it so much that I bought a copy for my nook! Money and time well spent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Excellent basic advice that should be taught in school

    There is nothing fancy here, just solid advice. I lead a comfortable life because I've followed his instructions and don't have to worry about money. It's taken care of.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    Great introduction to managing your finances

    Ramit's book is filled with sensible, practical advice that EVERY young professional should know. It's a shame that they don't stress financial education more in school, but this easy and entertaining read will teach you the basics in no time... this is truly a must-read for any money-conscious individual working today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Straight to the Point!

    Mr. Sethi offers a detailed game plan to acquiring wealth. Great for young adults who are tired of the vapid, dry and uninspiring financial literature. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    Excellent Book, terrible experience trying to purchase

    I spent all day trying to download this audio book after purchasing it. Every time I tried to download it, the site threw a generic error message saying to try downloading again later. So after a few hours of that I called customer service. I was on the phone for over an hour and 20 minutes, and they are saying that they can't give me another download link for the book. Instead they will refund me the money, and then I have to wait 3 days to attempt to download the book again! What great service is that?? After all that they are refusing to apply any type of discount nor will they give me a new link to download the book. What a waste of time. Never will I buy anything online from BN again. Oh and by the way, since I purchased with a gift card it will take 2 - 3 weeks for them to mail me a refund as a check to my house.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    I will be doing things differently!

    I loved the author's great sense of humor as well as his straightforwardness, he made me want to keep reading. I haven't even finished the book yet, but with only a few chapters under my belt I am already making some changes to get where I want to be financially. And I have read other money books before...Sethi's is more motivating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Financial Advice from My Future Husband

    Ramit Sethi is the author of I Will Teach You to Be Rich -- the book and the web site. (The web site, which is a financial blog, prefaced the book, but I discovered him through the book -- which is brand-spanking new and completely up-to-date for today's financial world.) I think that his financial advice is the most down-to-earth, witty, and Internet savvy that I've come across. In fact, I think so highly of Mr. Sethi that I subscribed to his Scrooge Strategy emails... at the price of $8 a month! (While I highly doubt that anyone can give me $96 worth of savings tips a year, if ANYONE can, it is Ramit, so I will try it keeping the 2-month satisfaction guarantee in mind.)

    In the 3 months since I read the book, I have opened an online checking account which pays .77% interest (higher than my brick-and-mortar bank's SAVINGS account!), and have started saving 10% of my income -- 5% in retirement savings and 5% for short-term savings. Soon I will be able to save 20% of my income! Sethi makes it easy to see the importance of saving, and he gets you in the right habits so that it is easy to do. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read! Truly a program that works.

    I read financial books all the time, this one was effective and to the point. Its not bogged down with a bunch of beating around the bush and B.S. This program re-structured my accounts and got me to invest. I am constantly talking about this book to friends/family because its legit. Everyone I know could benefit from this book, for 13.95 or less at Barnes and Nobble; why wouldn't you read it. I know I am going to make people I care about read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    Must read!

    Ramit's book gives a great plan that anyone can implement! He writes in an easy-to-ready style, and he focuses on the most important aspects of personal finance.

    If you are skeptical about the book, spend some time at iwillteachyoutoberich.com. But the book is definitely worth the money and the time spent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    Great Value!

    Ramit gives the reader straight talk on how to get a handle on one's finances. Whether you're a student or a professional, in your 20's or beyond, this information is priceless. This book is a great value for the money which is one of Ramit's mantras so kudos to him for walking his talk! Even my 12 year old found some of the chapters helpful to him as he is one to save for things he wants. It's opened up a whole new set of conversations for us as parent/child. I love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2