Customer Reviews for

I am a Genius of Unspeakable Evil and I Want to Be Your Class President

Average Rating 4
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Im 12 and i understand it...TRUST ME READ MY REVIEW

Gosh! This book is good, but people(In their reviews), are saying that meanings and words in this book can't be understood by people 15 and under...I'm 12 and understand all words people have used as examples(ex.-carcass,assailant). I'm not saying anything personally ag...
Gosh! This book is good, but people(In their reviews), are saying that meanings and words in this book can't be understood by people 15 and under...I'm 12 and understand all words people have used as examples(ex.-carcass,assailant). I'm not saying anything personally against them,(people and their reviews), nor am I calling them liars. I just believe they are...misinformed. HAR, I just used something frome the book. Seriously... I did...Double HAR.Trust me, this book is actually better for teens/'preteens', than adults. Good book. Read it. The best part is how realistic(If the situation happenend), the book is. O.K I know that was a long review, but I,m done now. READ IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by 7687012 on May 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Weekend Fun Read

It is difficult to NOT think of Stewie from the Family Guy TV series when reading the misadventures of Oliver. Although that doesn't detract from the uniqueness of the character, parallels will inevitably be drawn thanks to the characters obsessive hate/need his accept...
It is difficult to NOT think of Stewie from the Family Guy TV series when reading the misadventures of Oliver. Although that doesn't detract from the uniqueness of the character, parallels will inevitably be drawn thanks to the characters obsessive hate/need his acceptance relationship with his father.

This is a fun read and I made it through in one sitting. There are many chuckle worthy moments that help endear the reader to the supporting cast. Part of the charm of the story is in not knowing if this is the Oliver's actual reality, or his childish imagination gone awry.

Oliver is your classic pseudo-villain in the making.

posted by omega_watts on January 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Im 12 and i understand it...TRUST ME READ MY REVIEW

    Gosh! This book is good, but people(In their reviews), are saying that meanings and words in this book can't be understood by people 15 and under...I'm 12 and understand all words people have used as examples(ex.-carcass,assailant). I'm not saying anything personally against them,(people and their reviews), nor am I calling them liars. I just believe they are...misinformed. HAR, I just used something frome the book. Seriously... I did...Double HAR.Trust me, this book is actually better for teens/'preteens', than adults. Good book. Read it. The best part is how realistic(If the situation happenend), the book is. O.K I know that was a long review, but I,m done now. READ IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    I would give, I am an Evil Genius and I Want to be Class Preside

    I would give, I am an Evil Genius and I Want to be Class President by Josh Lieb, a four out of five star review. The reason for my review is because this book has an outstanding character development and plot line development while the story adds wit and laughs. For example the plot is always introducing adding new twists and turns and even though the story is nothing like your life, in that the main character in a billionaire at age 13 and is evil in the ways of Stewie from Family Guy, but is always a bit like you in some way. As to Anonymous’ review were she said, “book cannot be understood by a 10 or 11 year old unless read to by a parent.” I would have to say this is untrue. I feel that you are underestimating pre/teens. Yes the vocab. is complex but the sentences around the complex word can help you understand the word. This book compared to some other teen books is actually not too wordy. (Try reading The Odyssey that is wordy!) Another reason you are greatly underestimating pre/teens is because you say the story line is to complex. In my opinion the story line is rather simple I mean it is obvious that he is not lying it is clear that he does have a house under his house the author makes this clear by describing him in the underground house and him leaving the underground house. I feel it could not get any more clear then just the plain explanation of him leaving and entering the underground house. Another thing that makes the story line understandable is that the point of view it is written in (1st person) the point of view makes it so that you can clearly see his interactions with his obvious minions that he talks to. I feel that the author leaves no room for a person to interpret that the main character has envisioned the whole thing.
    I believe the greatest character is Oliver, who is the main character. The reason this is true is because he reminds me of an older Stewie from Family Guy. This makes the story more enjoyable because while reading the story I can just imagine the Family Guy cartoons coming to life through the words. Another reason that Oliver is the best is because he is so well developed and you can really imagine everything about him. The last reason he is the best character is because he adds great hummer to the story that really creates a great story.
    “My life is a torture chamber of Ironies” is by far the best quote in the book. The reason for this is well it is just amazing. This quote has so much depth and meaning that it really just spoke to me as I read the novel. Another reason this quote is amazing is because it was a great descriptor in the story for the time. I felt the moment I read that quote this book I had to finish just so I could read more of Oliver’s amazing quotes.





    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Lol

    Amazing

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    Idk what u guys r smokin

    But this book is amazing and hilarious. You guys must be on some crazy meds but i loved it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    Great Weekend Fun Read

    It is difficult to NOT think of Stewie from the Family Guy TV series when reading the misadventures of Oliver. Although that doesn't detract from the uniqueness of the character, parallels will inevitably be drawn thanks to the characters obsessive hate/need his acceptance relationship with his father.

    This is a fun read and I made it through in one sitting. There are many chuckle worthy moments that help endear the reader to the supporting cast. Part of the charm of the story is in not knowing if this is the Oliver's actual reality, or his childish imagination gone awry.

    Oliver is your classic pseudo-villain in the making.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    Great but read my post before you buy-

    I loved the book, it was great.. but not as great as I expected...
    This book does not highlight him being a young genius. It's mostly about him trying to impress his dad.
    I would suggest reading- Evil Genius by cathrine Jinks (my fav book eva!)
    It's also about a genius child but with much more thrill and action and dont be fooled by the slow start.. Evil genius is amazing..

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    Guess what... fans...

    Well I havent (but am going to) read this book because I wanted to see what new movies i should look forward too... and guess what... this is going to be a movie (2013) cant wait to read!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    awesome

    it is rele funny and interesting

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    Hilarious!!!!!!!

    everyone will love it....... absolutley genius!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    A hysterical pre-teen novel.

    I had read this book as a twelve year old and found it while perusing the store. This book is so relatable due to the humor of the story. I suggest you read it if you come across this review, and as for the people who disagree with my opinion, they really should try reading the book again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Hahaha got to rs Hahaha got to read this

    This is a funny book you should read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    Still hysterical on re-reading

    Those who don't think this is appropriate for/comprehensible by ten-year-olds, don't deal with many ten-year-olds. That's my job. They aren't as dumb as you seem to want to make them out to be, and the ones around here are enjoying the heck out of this book. I'm excited to hear it's going to be a movie, I hope they do it justice!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    Love it!!!

    This book is hilarious!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    lol

    it is so funny i love it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    Awesome Book

    This is a laugh out loud book about a genious mastermind

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    Hilarious!

    I love this book! It was funny and creative. Josh Lieb made Oliver Watson come alive. Though a slightly easy read, the content is made for middle school readers. This modern story is about and told by Oliver, the evil 6th grade genius, who doesn't want anyone to know he is a genius, so he acts slow. Oliver has his eyes set on ruling the world, and the first step is to become Class President. Only he didn't know that getting elected would be so difficult! I highly recommend this book to pre-teens, and anyone who enjoys a good laugh.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2009

    perfect

    this is an awesome book. great for everything,very detailed

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Vipo&real

    Ggg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    So funny

    Its grea

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    AMAZING HILLARIOUS AWESOME BEAST COOL GOOD READS

    So evil but calm its a great book for about ages 10+ or 11+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4