Customer Reviews for

I Am a Genius of Unspeakable Evil and I Want to Be Your Class President

Average Rating 4
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Im 12 and i understand it...TRUST ME READ MY REVIEW

Gosh! This book is good, but people(In their reviews), are saying that meanings and words in this book can't be understood by people 15 and under...I'm 12 and understand all words people have used as examples(ex.-carcass,assailant). I'm not saying anything personally ag...
Gosh! This book is good, but people(In their reviews), are saying that meanings and words in this book can't be understood by people 15 and under...I'm 12 and understand all words people have used as examples(ex.-carcass,assailant). I'm not saying anything personally against them,(people and their reviews), nor am I calling them liars. I just believe they are...misinformed. HAR, I just used something frome the book. Seriously... I did...Double HAR.Trust me, this book is actually better for teens/'preteens', than adults. Good book. Read it. The best part is how realistic(If the situation happenend), the book is. O.K I know that was a long review, but I,m done now. READ IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by 7687012 on May 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Weekend Fun Read

It is difficult to NOT think of Stewie from the Family Guy TV series when reading the misadventures of Oliver. Although that doesn't detract from the uniqueness of the character, parallels will inevitably be drawn thanks to the characters obsessive hate/need his accept...
It is difficult to NOT think of Stewie from the Family Guy TV series when reading the misadventures of Oliver. Although that doesn't detract from the uniqueness of the character, parallels will inevitably be drawn thanks to the characters obsessive hate/need his acceptance relationship with his father.

This is a fun read and I made it through in one sitting. There are many chuckle worthy moments that help endear the reader to the supporting cast. Part of the charm of the story is in not knowing if this is the Oliver's actual reality, or his childish imagination gone awry.

Oliver is your classic pseudo-villain in the making.

posted by omega_watts on January 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    So great I had to read it twice!

    I originally got the audiobook from the library. I listen to books in my car and it's led me to find some fabulous authors. This kid if real would truly rule the world. The imagination to come up with his world has to be fantastic. I bought the book because I knew as soon as my son was old enough, he'd love to read it. Of course, once I did, I had to re-read it again. It didn't lose any of its charm, fun or humor. I sincerely want a sequel to this!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    N/A

    This book was one of the funniest i have ever read, you can't find many books like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Great book

    This was a fantastic book the kid reminded me of myself. It played out unexpectedly with the father i thought the author crafted the charecters perfectly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Yes

    I am ten and i know what a masters thesis i so stop insulting my age people we are smarter that you thing. Also great read . Buy It!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Suckish

    This book was not that good it just talked about a fat teen with a big brain. He and his whole family disgust me

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    hated this novel

    it to me was boring horrable plot and stupid charcters but it was ok if you like somewhat realistic book with charcters who only a handfull of people will like

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    Cover COMPLETELY misleading! Not for 10 year old!

    The adorable cover of this book is completely misleading! It's got a 10 year old on the front cover, but this book cannot be understood by a 10 or 11 year old unless read to by a parent. I don't mind that the main character is rude and says inappropriate stuff...boys like to read that so as a mom I'm completely okay with it. It's that it's a "fantasy" book that's set in the real world. If it was about dragons or vampires, you know you have to suspend belief. But this book may or may not be a fantasy. It's about Oliver, who says he's a fat loser at school who gets made fun of by others but in reality he's a billionaire genius who has a football sized field space specially made for him under his house where he can conduct his business...and his parents don't know about it or the fact that he's a billionaire. So at first you think he's got a great fantasy life going on to cover up for having no friends and being an outcast. But then as an adult and you read on and on and this "fantasy life" isn't going away you realize that the boy might be actually telling the truth. But my 10 1/2 year old is confused and says, "Oliver keeps lying..." and the book tries to be witty and funny and make jokes and innuendos that children the age of 10 or 11 cannot possibly understand. I think all the reviews on here are from adults. Just try giving this to a kid under the age of 12 or even 13, and they're completely confused and baffled. It's got way too many words on each page that an 11 year old doesn't know like "assailant, invariably, unmolested, carcass" and that's only on pages 20 and 21 . I love challenging books and words, but there are way too many not to be running to the dictionary every two pages. I've been reading this to my son out loud, and have to explain each page because he's confused. Does a 10 year old really know what a master's thesis is? (page 75) No. Why the author thinks that they do is strange to me. I think adult fans of Jon Stewart would really like this book. The cover bothers me, because it makes 10 year olds and younger want to pick it up. Great cover and great title...for a kids book. But this isn't a kids book. I never write reviews, but I really felt like the reality has to be stated.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I thought this was just O.K

    It is an O.K book. Some people love it some people hate it. I am caught in between.

    Good Things:

    - The book is funny
    -It is great to read just for fun
    -You can share this with your friends
    -The characters are great

    Bad Things:

    -Some bad parts to the story, might not be appropriate
    -Not very good for discussing
    -It is on the long side, but pretty easy, this might be good, this may be bad
    -I think it's kind of confusing, and it can be boring

    As you can see, it may be fun to read for you, it may not be. Not one of my favorites, but not bad! I have not read any other books by this author. I might recommend.

    -Book_Worm_1998

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2010

    This is just badly written and boring

    Don't waste your time or money - my 5th grade class could have done a better job!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A great read for my 12 yr old son

    This was a gift - and he reluctantly accepted it, saying that he was not such a fan of this genre...but, after begging him to just check it out, he was gone for the next 2 hours (reading). The following day he actually admitted to enjoying the book and was planning on lending it to a friend of his to read.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Diary of a Wimpy Kid for intellectuals

    This is a laugh-out-loud book. So funny and well put together. It is irreverent and a bit edgy for a children's book, but well worth the read and the laugh!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4