Customer Reviews for

I Don't Know How She Does It: The Life of Kate Reddy, Working Mother

Average Rating 3.5
( 155 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

I enjoyed this book- it was well written. I identified with Kate, so I am familiar with situation she went through. Worth the read

posted by evanescenceSE on September 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

disappointing

My sister sent me this book years ago and I finally read it because they are turning it into a movie with Sarah Jessica Parker. I figured it had to be OK. AND I wondered what message my sister was trying to send me.
Well, the first half of the book was extremely bo...
My sister sent me this book years ago and I finally read it because they are turning it into a movie with Sarah Jessica Parker. I figured it had to be OK. AND I wondered what message my sister was trying to send me.
Well, the first half of the book was extremely boring; any mom knows what it's like to juggle. And THIS mom (Kate) had an in-home babysitter and husband who HELPED !! And she was complaining ?!!?
Anyway, the author tries to wrap the book - and Kate's life -up in a nice little bow at the end. How quaint. And unrealistic.

posted by Momof8Fay on June 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    disappointing

    My sister sent me this book years ago and I finally read it because they are turning it into a movie with Sarah Jessica Parker. I figured it had to be OK. AND I wondered what message my sister was trying to send me.
    Well, the first half of the book was extremely boring; any mom knows what it's like to juggle. And THIS mom (Kate) had an in-home babysitter and husband who HELPED !! And she was complaining ?!!?
    Anyway, the author tries to wrap the book - and Kate's life -up in a nice little bow at the end. How quaint. And unrealistic.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    boring!

    tried to get into it but never could. being a woking mom i was excited to read this book, but it was a snoozer.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    not impressed

    this book was not very exciting. i found it borring.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    Exaggerated and Depressing

    I am surprised to see so many positive reviews of this book. I am a mother who works full time, so I expected to empathize with the main character and enjoy some 'I've been there' moments. I was disappointed to find that the main character is full of contradictions--and not in a meaningful, realistic, and interesting way. She is supposed to be a savvy career woman, but she sends incredibly unprofessional and crass emails to her co-workers and even a client. She is supposed to be a proponent of gender equality in the workplace, but when a male colleague does something horrible to a female (minority) intern, instead of running it up the discipline chain, as any normal person would do, she imagines a non-sensical scenario that would result in the intern being punished instead of the perpetrator. And then, in total disregard of her ethical responsibilities in dealing with investors' funds, she sets up a poorly explained sting operation of sorts that will lose money for the company and get the perpetrator fired. What kind of savvy professional would do something so stupid, and even criminal? And, on another topic, she is completely horrible to her loving husband and doesn't seem to feel even a scrap of remorse for the fact that she almost has an affair. Even at the end, when the two have reconciled, she says that she regrets not having had the affair! What?!?! This book is just horrible and depressing. Not a fun read at all.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Ty's last rap to parker ;,(

    Its not time to die. I never got to say goodbye. Im goin to cry. Im not even shy. Sigh. Well i guess this is my last goodbye. ;,(

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    Vacuous & Pretentious. Becomes monotonous quick.

    I would give a negative star if I could. I was so looking forward to getting into this, being a mom trying to juggle work and family. But the book never goes past skimming the surface. The main character spends a lot of time admiring how cute she thinks she is. No. Literally. Admiring herself when she passes a mirror. Remarking on how all the guys in the office hit on her. Every single character is nothing but a sketch. Not one is fleshed out in the least. Making the narrative extremely one-sided. Or the characters are cartoony. Like the American who speaks in the stilted parody. The problem is I don't think this is a parody! I think this is the author's best effort! There is just a lack of any self reflection or insight. You want to be able to read a fun book like this and say "Yeah! I go through that too!" But every paragraph just sets apart the classes. Very unrelatable. Even the tense is all wrong. The book is written in the present tense through out. It really is just a series of jaunty magazine articles strung together. Honestly. Would it kill an writer to dig deep? Or learn to construct a scene? Anyway. Don't be fooled by the fact that the author is English. Apparently even THEY have people who can't put a descent story together. Not just us Ah-Mer-I-Cans. Another issue I had with this book is this woman faces absolutely no conflicts or dilemas. Either inner or otherwise. Everything goes her way. For instance: She's away from her kids all day. Sometimes overseas. And there's not emotional pull from that?! Just braggadocio. She makes all this money and Blah Blah Blah. Pages of it. I got through Part 1, and looked ahead to see how much more and I couldn't believe there was enough plot there to keep this story going. And I was right. Basic rule of story writing. Don't Tell, Show! Just underdeveloped plot. Save your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Depressing

    From the movie reviews I assumed the book was a light hearted, amusing but uplifting story. Quite the opposite - overworked very unhappy wife who makes the husband out to be a useless buffoon in a very miserable marriage. Can't imagine the movie was anything like the book or it was a huge flop!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    No thanks

    Reading all the different reveiws makes me wonder how good this book actually is. The bad thing about the book is why waste 12 dollars on a book with poor reveiws when you dont even know if your going to like it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1