Customer Reviews for

I Don't Want to Be Crazy

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Many people can relate to it

    When i was younger i suffered from a lot of anxiety and it basically took over my life and my childhood. When i read this book my Samantha Schutz i was impressed and so thankful that she had the courage to write this book based on her journey through panic attacks because people need to understand that anyone could get it. Her storyvis insightful and wondweful. Thank you Samantha!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Don't Want to Be Crazy will make you go CRAZY...

    When reading this book, I got mixed emotions when the author described her battle with anxiety. Of course, I felt bad because she feels she doesn't have control of her life, but then I feel she's overreacting and just freaks out about any little thing. Obviously, it's hard to relate to if you don't go through anxiety but it’s understandable when you read about the struggles. Interesting read if you want to know what it's like to deal with anxiety.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Fantabulous

    I really loved this book. It was an interesting read and I could really relate to the main character. This book helps you to understand that some people have struggles that they have to deal with in their everyday life and it is really difficult for them. I don't want to spoil the book at all so I'll just leave it at that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I¿m no expert on free verse, but I¿m not certain that taking eve

    I’m no expert on free verse,
    but I’m not certain that
    taking everyday sentences and
    breaking them into stanzas 
    counts as poetry.  
    Perhaps I was expecting 
    a more eloquent voice,
    and while there are gems here, 
    most of this memoir reads
    like a shattered paragraph.

    That said, there is courage in these pages.  Living day to day with a mental illness such as Anxiety Disorder takes a special kind of strength, a strength that many people who’ve never had a panic attack might not appreciate.  Samantha Schutz takes her bravery to the next level in this frank memoir as she talks about a very painful time in her life.  Are you one of those lucky people who’ve never had a public meltdown?  Or maybe you know someone who has?  Schutz will walk you expertly through it, from the shaking hands to the hot and cold flashes to the overwhelming certainty that everyone in the room knows how crazy she (thinks she) is.  

    This memoir follows Schutz through four years of college, starting with her first panic attack freshman year while in Writing Seminar, continuing with a disastrous trip to Europe, and finally leveling out post-graduation, all the while she thoroughly documents her therapies and medications.  Strong focus was given to the situations which make her feel especially vulnerable, such as a crowded lecture hall and the cafeteria (or any situation where there’s loud chatter and crowds and social expectations).  There is lots of talk about parties and friends and making out with boys and wanting to break away from parental authority.  And this is fine—for the first quarter of the memoir.  But then things start getting REPETITIVE.  Over and over, she has to leave a party/dinner/random event early because of panic; she wonders if this boy or that boy will ever call her back; and, of course, will she ever get over these incessant panic attacks?  And then…rinse and repeat.  More parties, more boys, more panic.  Because of the concise but clipped narrative (poetry), we don’t get a fully fleshed out world or relationships, and so one overwhelming party becomes the next, one nervous dinner is indistinguishable from all the rest, one person the same as the other, another therapist prescribes another drug.  And so on and so on and so on, until the thoughtful truths and genuine issues presented get muddled down by the reader’s need to just have it end already. 

    And okay, yes, there is a certain poetic symmetry to this—as each panic attacks piles onto the last, Schutz just wonders if it will ever end.  

    But aside from feeling as if I experienced a panic attack myself while reading it, I don’t feel like this memoir had a strong message or a particularly inspiring resolution.  I think writing it and getting her story to the world was an important and brave step in Shutz’s recovery, and undoubtedly there are people out there who will relate to this book and find it valuable.  

    If you suffer from Anxiety Disorder and need to feel like you are not alone, this memoir is for you.  If you know someone who suffers from panic attacks, but you can’t quite understand what it is they’re experiencing, this memoir is for you.  If you are looking for a page tuner or eloquent poetry, if you are looking for an in-depth and detailed look at the causes, issues, and aftermath of mental illness, you should probably look elsewhere.  Instead, I recommend Girl, Interrupted by Susanna Kaysen.

    Best Lines: “All I can hear is my voice in my head telling me things are not right—that I am not right.”

    “I am the cure and the disease.”

    “Passing out makes me think about death—about the moment before dying and how it must feel to be pulled away from everything you love and have no control.”

    “The only thing that makes me feel better is the thought of slightly stiff hospital sheets, the scent of disinfectant, and a tag on my wrist.”

    “I fear my whole life will be exactly like this—seen from behind my eyes, never touching.”

    “I’ve built myself safety nets, but they bind me like a web.” 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Realistic

    I enjoyed this book. As someone who has Clinical Depression, I can tell you from experience that this is a realistic book. It is also interesting to read, and it is over before you know it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Catchy title

    The summary of the book caught my eye in the bookstore and I thought it was a book I would really find interesting. Instead, it was a teenage angst story about drugs. It was not something I could relate with or find interesting.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    Are you crazy?

    Hi my name is Reagan, I read the book I don't want to be crazy, author by Samantha Schutz. It's a very interasting memore book on something you, me, or teens would like. The book is intense you don't know what's going to happen. I can say i loved it, on how it's a true story of a girl growing up, and breaking down. She was normal like me and you she had problems, boyfriends, graduated, went to college, did some drugs, but there was just one thing she was unsure about. Something strange was happening to her, something unsual. She didn't want to worry about it or tell her parents.She kinda thought it was from smoking weed but was unsure it was alot of pressur on her with school an making sure she wasn't crazy. Every thing would be fine untill out of no where her body took control an she would be mentally shaken . I scale this book a nine from ten being the best. It kept me wanting to read more an more, an as for me I don't like to read books but this one kept my eyes on the pages.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I am SydneyR...a student at Hewitt-Trussville High School in Alabama

    Sam is a troubled teen who wants to be perfect and normal. This book takes us through Sam's moving away to college. Away from her boyfriend and family, Sam becomes troubled with parties and boys along her way. As Sam progresses through college, she starts having anxiety attacks. She gets red, hears voices tell her she is not ok, sweats, and watches the world seem to move in slow motion. Jean, Sam's psychologist, gives Sam some pills to help with the attacks. Unfortunaly, the pills do not help Sam much and her attacks worsen. Sam goes through everyday trying to be perfect, and normal, and appear to be not crazy.
    I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading about troubled teens. I thought this was a very well written book. I enjoyed the psychology factor of this book talking about the anxiety attacks. I think Samantha Schutz is great young writer. The only problem I had was the layout of the book. I didn't like how the text was laid out on the pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    great story

    this story is very informative and goes into quite detail about how a girl comes to realize her problems and the challenges of dealing with it in college/family. i really enjoyed reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The book I don't want to be crazy

    This book is very life like. I fell in love with this book very fast. i read the first page and was hooked. This book is about a girl who goes off to collage and from all the stress starts having anxiety attacks and has to deal with them all through collage. She meets all diffrent people and guys. She is happy and sad to be away from her "boyfriend" Jason. He played with her emotions all the time, but she didn't want to leave him because he gave her a since of saftey. I recommed this book to everyone that enjoys true stories. This book is written in a poetry memoir.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Okay but not great

    This book was not my favorite at all!
    It was just a bunch of events in a persons life that didn't even go anywhere.
    I wouldn't recomend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger, aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo.com

    Millions of people suffer from anxiety disorder (panic attacks) on a daily basis. Most suffer needlessly, either due to lack of medical treatment, misdiagnosis, or ignorance of the condition. I DON'T WANT TO BE CRAZY is one woman's brave confession of her struggles with the debilitating disorder. <BR/><BR/>Samantha Schutz was first diagnosed with anxiety disorder at age seventeen, after years of suffering with the problem. She uses this memoir to describe the devastating effects of the condition on her life and her relationships. The book chronicles the ups and downs of Samantha's life from age seventeen until she graduates from college and gets her first job in the publishing industry. <BR/><BR/>Told in verse, the story reveals everything from the gripping terror of the attacks to the many therapists she consulted for help. Samantha titles her entries with the current drugs (Klonopin, Serzone, Xanax, Paxil, etc.) and the dosages she was prescribed to treat her condition. She also explains her attempts to stop the medications, and her belief that things would get better, only to relapse with increasing frequency. <BR/><BR/>Samantha's honesty is evident throughout. She doesn't promise miracle cures, and she truly marvels at the support she received from her family and most of her friends. This is an inspiring book for anyone living with or connected to someone living with anxiety disorder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2008

    Awesome read!

    This book was so good, I couldn't put it down! The author's story is so real and different from other books that I have read. The way she wrote it(in verse) made it seem more real like I was experiencing it as well. I talked about this book for my english seminar-it deals with lots of important issues. Not just mental disorders. So everyone read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2008

    What a read!!

    In this deeply touching novel, Samantha Schutz writes about her struggles with anxiety disorder throughout her college experience. An amazing summer read for anyone who is looking for a book that will change the way you see things. Five stars!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    a reviewer

    Millions of people suffer from anxiety disorder (panic attacks) on a daily basis. Most suffer needlessly, either due to lack of medical treatment, misdiagnosis, or ignorance of the condition. I DON¿T WANT TO BE CRAZY is one woman¿s brave confession of her struggles with the debilitating disorder. Samantha Schutz was first diagnosed with anxiety disorder at age seventeen, after years of suffering with the problem. She uses this memoir to describe the devastating effects of the condition on her life and her relationships. The book chronicles the ups and downs of Samantha¿s life from age seventeen until she graduates from college and gets her first job in the publishing industry. Told in verse, the story reveals everything from the gripping terror of the attacks to the many therapists she consulted for help. Samantha titles her entries with the current drugs (Klonopin, Serzone, Xanax, Paxil, etc.) and the dosages she was prescribed to treat her condition. She also explains her attempts to stop the medications, and her belief that things would get better, only to relapse with increasing frequency. Samantha's honesty is evident throughout. She doesn't promise miracle cures, and she truly marvels at the support she received from her family and most of her friends. This is an inspiring book for anyone living with or connected to someone living with anxiety disorder. **Reviewed by: Sally Kruger, aka 'Readingjunky'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2007

    Loved it!

    I thought this was a very interesting book. I was glad that I picked it up that day in the library. It was the title that got me, then the reviews in the back. Seeing that Ellen Hopkins had made a comment, gave me more reason to read it. And i'm glad I did, this story is full of emotion and distress. It put you in someone elses place everytime you opened the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2006

    little bit of crazy

    samantha schutz makes you realize the pain of living with anxiety disorder. it gives a unique peak inside the author's head to the most personal thoughts that you would never imagine hearing outloud. it is a deeply personal and touching memoir that will change the way you see people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2006

    A True gem

    Samantha Schutz's book, 'I don't want to be crazy' is an amazing and vivid portrayel of a young woman's struggle with panic/anxiety disorder. I am positive this book will help many young women who are experiencing similar struggle. Further, I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a fascinating and impressive read! A wonderful first book for this author I look forward to more publications.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2