Customer Reviews for

I So Don't Do Mysteries

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I Laughed Out Loud

I have been waiting a very long time for Barrie Summy's I So Don't Do Mysteries, ever since I found Barrie in the blogosphere and started hearing about the book. Then, finally, finally, I got my copy for Christmas. Yesterday, I cracked the cover.

(By the way, I...
I have been waiting a very long time for Barrie Summy's I So Don't Do Mysteries, ever since I found Barrie in the blogosphere and started hearing about the book. Then, finally, finally, I got my copy for Christmas. Yesterday, I cracked the cover.

(By the way, I LOVED finding out what was behind the beautiful blue cover: no spoiler here, though!)

You know, we all know, that there's pressure when you meet someone online, blog back & forth, share memes and THEN read their book. So, yes, it was with a bit of trepidation that I started reading Page 1.

By Page 2, I was laughing. And I pretty much didn't stop until I reached the end. Barrie has given her MC, Sherry (Sherlock Holmes) Baldwin, a light fun voice and she (the author or the character, you decide) is the mistress of the LOL one-liner. Even when I wasn't laughing, I was smiling. Sherry's energy is contagious, and rooting for her was a delight.

Sherry's police-officer mother has been dead just over a year, so imagine Sherry's surprise when she smells coffee (her mother's favorite drink) and hears her mom's voice. Already destined for a vacation in San Diego, Sherry finds out that her mother, now a ghost and an investigator, needs help saving some rhinos at the Wild Animal Park from being poisoned.

What I really like about the story is that Sherry and her mother don't have it easy working together. In so many books, Sherry would have been angry at the start, but her mother would have--by virtue of dying--be seeing things more clearly and have turned into a wonderful parent. Barrie doesn't let Mom off the hook this easily. Sherry and she are stuck at the same place they were on the day of her death, with Sherry feeling inferior and ineffectual and Mom being the same perfectionist, totally immersed in her job. Yes, the two have to save the rhinos, but they also have to start building a better relationship than they ever had while Mom was alive. This is the layer that turns a fun, fast read into something extra, a book that definitely has us asking for a sequel.

Thanks, Barrie!

posted by BeckyLevine on January 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Idk

Is this a goood book for a fourth grader going to fifth? Please answer im desperate

posted by 6172284 on July 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    I So Don't Do Mysteries

    Love the book excellant choice to pick.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    LoVE iT!!!

    I loved this book couldnt put it down u all have to read this!!!!! Very good book. @(- -)@

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    ???????????

    Um, which one is the first one???????

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Cana Rensberger for TeensReadToo.com

    Sherry's got typical seventh grade issues. She's not so great at school and she's got a serious crush on Josh, an uber cute eighth grader, and makes an unforgettable impression on him by bloodying his nose. Plus, her dad's engaged to Paula, the math teacher at school, aka The Ruler. But if you're thinking that I SO DON'T DO MYSTERIES is just another book about an everyday teen who just wants to be loved, you'd be so wrong. There's nothing normal about Sherry's spring break. <BR/><BR/>You see, Sherry had big plans for her break, plans that involved sleeping in, shopping, and then more shopping with her best friend, Junie. Until her dad told her that he and The Ruler have moved up their wedding date to this weekend. And she'll have to spend her break in San Diego with her aging great-aunt. Course, that's better than staying with her little brother at her dotty old grandma's house. The same one who believes in ghosts and thinks she communicates with the spirits. Shoot, she even thinks her dead husband is a bird. How weird is that? <BR/><BR/>When Sherry goes outside to curl up in her favorite pear tree, her mother (who, by the way, was killed in the line of duty a year and a half ago), shows up in a rush of wind and a cloud of coffee, and Sherry's no longer sure what's weird and what's not. Even stranger, it turns out her mother needs her help solving a case of unauthorized banana treats at a rhino enclosure in (you'll never guess) San Diego! Her? Sherry? Go undercover? Think on her feet? Solve a mystery? No way. Sherry's always been the one most likely to mess up, if she doesn't freeze up first. But no matter how bizarre it all sounds, her mother needs her. Actually needs her! <BR/><BR/>It doesn't take long to convince her dad to send Junie with her to San Diego, even if it does mean she's also going to have to put up with Junie's older cousin, Amber. Soon, Sherry's up to her elbows in meringue and buckets of coffee, pounding the pavement like a regular ol' sleuth till she's got blisters on her feet. Who's trying to kill the rhinos and why? Will she be able to find out in time to save them? Will her directionally-challenged mother be able to find her so they can work together as she promised? Can she trust Junie with her secret? And what about Josh? Will he forget she even exists while she's gone? <BR/><BR/>I SO DON'T DO MYSTERIES is a funny, engaging debut novel and Sherry's antics will keep you turning pages since nothing happens as expected. Ms. Summy's title suggest she so doesn't do mysteries, but I believe she does them very, very well, and I surely hope she will be brewing up more mysteries for Sherry and her mother in the future.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    One word: Phenomenal

    Amazing spectacular. Read ohsomany times

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Amazing!

    I loved this book! If your thinking of buying it, you totally should!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    :) :) :)

    AWESOME SERIES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Is this the first book?

    PLAEASE RESPOND! I REALLY WANT TO READ THE SIERIES

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    From the first page!

    I was hooked from the first page. I bought the book because I love mysteries, so the title was funny for me. It was a really good story. A few years ago, Sherry's mom was shot and killed. Now, her mom's ghost needs her to solve a mystery for her. Sherry knows she needs help, so she goes to her genious friend Junie. But even Junie can't solve this mystery on her own. I said 'on her own' because Sherry is a little distracted with her crush, Josh. I really good book with relatable characters!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Rateing ang Rate and revuew

    Great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    This is an exceptional book! Sherry or Sherlock Holmes Baldwin l

    This is an exceptional book! Sherry or Sherlock Holmes Baldwin lost her mother to the criminal world because she was a police woman. so when she hears her mother's voice she is stunned. That's the start of an amazing mother daughter relationship. She is shipped to San Diego for spring break; she is immersed in a mystery to save a bunch of rhinos.
    Barrie did an awesome job putting writing in the perspective of a thirteen year old girl. She really puts an emphases on all her problems and the solution. Barrie also wrote so any young person can't put it down, I know that I couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    If you want to know

    I so dont do mysteries is the first book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    READ

    I love this love thus book like this is the first duh anyway this really connets to teens about boys and school

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Awesome

    Really good. I read this nonstop for like 3 hours bevause i could not put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Really good PLEASE WRITE ANOTHER!! Really good!!!

    Great book! I highly suggest the rest of the series! And as for Barrie Summy PLEASE WRITE ANOTHER!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    I love love loved it!!!

    Best book ever!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Awesome:)!!!!!

    This book is a must read!!!!!!!! Sincerely bookworm

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    amzing

    i love this series i read this bnook hen it first came out and am going in to seventh but i dont think this book will be good for sisxth and up but thats my opinion

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2015

    Ehhvhfhu-:%&5;) c

    Its horrible.hcfjfjhhhjhhhhhhhhhjhggffdsasfhjkhxsdsabcdefghijklnmopqrstuvwxwzhdhcdcdcwvfvrhcohckgfggrfdcdffwfjjwfuf 8/vddcwvf

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2