Customer Reviews for

Ice

Average Rating 3.5
( 244 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(81)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

B&N Staff

Please stop using book reveiw sections for chat rooms. They were intended for NOOK owners to have informed reveiw on books they might possibly purchase. Thank You.

posted by 4392178 on January 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Worst Linda Howard book ever

This is without a doubt the worst thing Linda Howard has written. I prefer any of her Silhouette romances (Diamond Bay, Heartbreaker, Sarah's Child, Almost Forever, etc) to this piece of junk book. It is truly an awful, awful story. I cannot believe Linda Howard wrote i...
This is without a doubt the worst thing Linda Howard has written. I prefer any of her Silhouette romances (Diamond Bay, Heartbreaker, Sarah's Child, Almost Forever, etc) to this piece of junk book. It is truly an awful, awful story. I cannot believe Linda Howard wrote it. The characters are boring, the idea of meth addicts as threats is done poorly, the hero is marginal and the ending is terrible.

This book makes the disappointment of Burn seem nonexistent. Linda Howard has always had great heroes, dynamic women and stellar dialogue. This book has none of those elements. Do not waste your money or your precious time on this terrible book.

posted by Voracious_ReaderRG on November 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 245 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    B&N Staff

    Please stop using book reveiw sections for chat rooms. They were intended for NOOK owners to have informed reveiw on books they might possibly purchase. Thank You.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    Worst Linda Howard book ever

    This is without a doubt the worst thing Linda Howard has written. I prefer any of her Silhouette romances (Diamond Bay, Heartbreaker, Sarah's Child, Almost Forever, etc) to this piece of junk book. It is truly an awful, awful story. I cannot believe Linda Howard wrote it. The characters are boring, the idea of meth addicts as threats is done poorly, the hero is marginal and the ending is terrible.

    This book makes the disappointment of Burn seem nonexistent. Linda Howard has always had great heroes, dynamic women and stellar dialogue. This book has none of those elements. Do not waste your money or your precious time on this terrible book.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not in league with her other books

    I love reading anything by this author. But this book wasn't one of them. It wasn't very long, and it could of ended a little better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    Really liked it but too short!

    I liked the characters and loved the plot. Only complaint was it was more of a short story than a full novel. Its only about 100 pages. Would have loved to see the characters and story fully develop.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    Not Worth Buying

    I would not recommend this book. Usually like this author but it wasn't what I expected.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2009

    Linda, you have let me down!!!!

    I'm sorry to say but this book was awful. Whenever a Linda Howard book comes out I try to be first in line to purchase. After this book I will rent from the Library first to see if it worth spending the money.
    The book was mostly narrative and the characters were never really evolved. For all the struggles Lolly & Gabriel endured, Darwin & Niki were able to accomplish with no trouble at all. For the price I paid, $22.00 for 198 pages, I was totally disappointed. I hope Ms. Howard's next outing is more successful.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Read "Whiteout" First

    Very short, it's like a rip off of her novella "Whiteout". I love her earlier books, but lately I have been disappointed in her last three books. Again read her novella "Whiteout" from Strangers in the Night, it has better plot lines and better characters. You will see the correlation between the two stories.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Truly Uninspiring!

    Wow - hard to beleive that this was really written by Linda Howard. How could the prolific writer that brought us the likes of "All the Queens Men" have written something so boring? Very short story, more like a novella. So brief that I finished it in a matter of hours. The story was OK, but could have been fleshed out signigicantly. The entire story takes place within 1 night. Don't bother buying - wait for the library instead.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2009

    EXCELLENT

    This was the first book I read by Linda Howard. It was definetely a page turner. It held your interest all the way. A must read for all mystery readers.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A CHILLING THRILLER

    Broadway and television actor Fred Sanders delivers a chilling reading of this story of two people seemingly trapped in a killing ice storm. Of course, the setting is frigid but it's Sanders's professional delivery that takes the story to sub zero heights off suspense.

    Mystery maven Linda Howard has delivered a shorter than usual tale with ICE, but it starts off with a hook and keeps you guessing until the last sentence. Gabriel McCain was looking forward to coming home from the service to Wilson Creek, Maine. He liked his small town - it was solid, secure, and he was pleased that his 7-year-old son, Sam, was growing up in this environment. It was holiday time; he couldn't wait to see Sam and his dad, Harlan, the town's sheriff.

    However, his welcome home was brief because Harlan had a job for him - go out into the middle of nowhere during an impending major storm and make sure Lolly Helton is safe. The elder McCain hasn't heard from her in a while and he's concerned since she's out there alone, looking over the Helton house prior to selling it. Lolly was one of the last people Gabriel wanted to see but he could hardly say no to the sheriff! So, he went into a storm that even to hardy Mainers could mean danger and death.

    "Ice was ten times worse than a blizzard, in terms of damage. Maine had taken two hits from ice in the past ten or twelve years, but both times the storm had missed this area. That was good then, but bad now, because it meant there was a lot of weakened timber that had been spared before but would now be coming down under the weight of the ice, crushing cars and houses, taking down power lines and leaving hundreds of square miles in the cold and dark. Ice was like a crystal hurricane, destroying everything it touched."

    It's near dark when he arrives at the Helton home. Ever on alert he sees strangers inside the house, one of them is armed. By sheer dint of luck and courage he's able to get Lolly out of the house, but out means literally outside, trapped and hunted in an unforgiving ice storm. How could they possibly survive?

    - Gail Cooke

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Ice

    I love all Linda Howard's books but this book although good was just a little too short. I would have like it to have gone a little further into lolly and Gabriel's courtship but it didn't. The ice storm and cold struggle and the fighting with the drugged out killers was exciting and the romantic scene in the bathroom was good but it all was just a little to soon. They didn't really have a lot of time to get re-aquainted after 15 years it should have taken a little longer before the love scene and boom the ice storm was over they walked down the mountain and Lolly met Sam, another bathroom scene and the book was over. I needed just a little more keep me on the edge of my seat writing. I still would recommend the book because Linda Howard is great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Melting Ice

    I love Linda Howard's earlier works but it seems her contemporary work has really struggled. This book was OK- I wish it were longer and involved getting to know Lolly and Gabriel and his son after the cabin incident. I dislike disaster stories/movies and the plot could have been expanded more. Three or four more chapters of them trying to restart their lives would have been so great. Readable? Yes. Forgettable? Yes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is an exciting fast-paced romantic suspense

    Gabriel McQueen drives up from North Carolina to spend the holidays with his family in Wilson Creek, Maine. The widowed soldier looks forward to time with "Gran", his dad the sheriff and his son Sam. However, his father asks him to take a quick run up to the Helton family cabin to make sure Lolly Helton, who went up there to pick ups some items, but should have returned by now and is out of phone contact, is all right as a nasty storm is coming.

    As Gabe muses back to his icy childhood rivalry with Lolly while driving to her cabin, she is in danger trapped by two irrational meth addicts. Gabe quickly assesses the situation on the ground and uses his military training and experience to extract Lolly from the house and the enemy. However, as covertness as he was, the two maniacal thugs go after them.

    This is an exciting fast-paced romantic suspense with the frozen isolated location enhancing the perilous situation. Gabe is a terrific heroic protagonist although it is convenient to have his background in extraction and survivability under harsh conditions. Lolly still rips skins form him as he discovers how to melt the Ice and prevent further epidermis loss by kissing her. Although the addicts are stereotypes fans will enjoy Linda Howard's quick by exhilarating survival of the fittest thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Riley to jellal

    Hey.how old are you?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Grace to kiley

    Sorry but he is my boyfriend......and yeah.......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Iley

    Nt break up wih gracw

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    DISGUSTING!!!!!

    How couod you turn a freaking disney movie into a fu<_>cking story?? Its freaking disgusting!!!!!!!! <p> ~Someone who is deeply disturbed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 245 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13