Customer Reviews for

Ice Cold (Rizzoli and Isles Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 691 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(317)

4 Star

(197)

3 Star

(80)

2 Star

(48)

1 Star

(49)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

A Page-Turner!

This is Tess Gerritsen at her best! While Ice Cold is part of an ongoing series, this could easily be read as a stand-alone novel. Maura Isles goes to a pathologists' convention in Wyoming but never returns home. Detective Jane Rizzoli goes out to the frigid wilderness ...
This is Tess Gerritsen at her best! While Ice Cold is part of an ongoing series, this could easily be read as a stand-alone novel. Maura Isles goes to a pathologists' convention in Wyoming but never returns home. Detective Jane Rizzoli goes out to the frigid wilderness of the small Wyoming community to find her friend. What follows is filled with relentless suspense that will keep you on edge until the very last page!

posted by BookAddictFL on June 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Dearly disappointed!

I love Tess. I have read every single one of her books and loved them. This, however was a big disappointment. There is none of that Isles/Rizzoli team work. The fates of several of the characters was left a mystery. Normally there is a murder mystery, here it was very ...
I love Tess. I have read every single one of her books and loved them. This, however was a big disappointment. There is none of that Isles/Rizzoli team work. The fates of several of the characters was left a mystery. Normally there is a murder mystery, here it was very slow to develop. Overall, I would not recommend. I would recommend The Surgeon

posted by paatcmc on July 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 317 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted June 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Page-Turner!

    This is Tess Gerritsen at her best! While Ice Cold is part of an ongoing series, this could easily be read as a stand-alone novel. Maura Isles goes to a pathologists' convention in Wyoming but never returns home. Detective Jane Rizzoli goes out to the frigid wilderness of the small Wyoming community to find her friend. What follows is filled with relentless suspense that will keep you on edge until the very last page!

    22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Lots to enjoy!

    This is a story about survival under extreme conditions and the limits of love. Forty-two year old medical examiner, Maura Isles, is heartsick. She is in a relationship with Daniel Brophy, a Catholic priest. Their affair has not brought either of them much satisfaction or happiness. Daniel is reluctant to give up his calling and Maura is frustrated with his inability to make up his mind.(Reminds me of THORNBIRDS).
    Maura Isles is entirely out of her comfort zone at the end of a medical conference at the Four Seasons Resort in Wyoming. There, she meets a former classmate, pathologist Doug Comley, who is divorced. He asks Maura to accompany him and his friends on a trip to a cross-country ski lodge. She agrees. Doug loses his way in the endless snowy landscape, and they end up stranded. When Daniel and Boston detective, Jane Rizzoli, do not hear from Maura and are unable to contact her, they fear the worst. This is really one to keep you reading!Lots to enjoy!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent read

    I enjoyed reading Ice cold. The story was fantastic. Can only recommend.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    ICE COLD, by Tess Gerritsen,

    Maura Isles is heartbroken. She is in a relationship with Daniel Brophy, a Catholic priest, and things aren't going well. Boston medical examiner, 42 year old, Dr. Maura Isles is attending a convention in Wyoming. She joins some old friends on a ski trip to the nearby snow covered mountains. Their SUV stalls out on a remote snowy road as a blizzard strikes and the mystery begins and the plot thickens and you won't ever guess the ending! Several days later, Boston homicide detective Jane Rizzoli learns of Maura's death as her charred body was found in a ravine. Grieving Jane vows to learn what happened to her friend. Accompanying her to Wyoming is FBI agent Gabriel Dean and Father Daniel Brophy. The reader will probably lose some sleep over this one! This is a wonderful suspense thriller that will keep the reader breathless throughout! Other good ones: SEVEN YEAR SWITCH, EXPLOSION IN PARIS, TIME OF MY LIFE, CHILL FACTOR

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    Great book, kept me guessing all the way as usual.

    It's always fun to catch up with these characters and see what they're up to, and to see them interact with new characters. This one took them away from Boston and I even though I finished it a couple weeks ago I still can feel the cold, see the views, and sense the anticipation.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN

    I think this is one of her best books. It draws you in from the beginning and holds your interest until the very end.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Great read!

    Ice Cold is #8 in the Rizzoli and Isles series. As with the others, it is edge of the seat suspense with a dark edge that will make you jumpy. Fast paced story that keeps you guessing until the very end. I wish Gerritsen could turn these out once a month. I'd go broke buying them all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Suspenseful Thriller with a Good Twist

    Tess Gerritsen has crafted a tight thriller centered around a polygamous cult with a charismatic but perverted leader in the northwestern wilderness. Maura Isles becomes entangled with one of their runaways while on an unplanned road trip in Idaho. The suspense begins building early and rarely lets up. And a couple of surprise solutions to two different death scenes adds to the overall plot.
    I have to be honest and say I didn't really like Tanya Eby's reading of this novel. She was fine on the prose sections, but couldn't handle dialogue well - her characters don't come across believably. I recommend reading the book rather than listening to it, but either way it's good value for the time spent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2010

    Up all night!

    Once I started this book I couldn't put it down until I was finished. Definitely one of Tess Gerritson's best works.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Outrageous thiller

    This suspense thriller will keep you on the edge of your seat! Highly recommend this book! We included this book in our summer reading list of books as we recently visited the book store, a summer tradition, to gather up all of our pics for our summer reading list. This includes books for myself, my husband, kids and nieces and nephews. We also buy some books as birthday presents for others so they can join in on our discussions, like the aunts and uncles and grandparents. We have a mini book club where we discuss our books as we all read along. We all read several books so as the reading goes along there are a lot of books to review. The kids have found a wonderful book called, Smitty's Cave Adventures. They all love thrilling action-adventure books and this one is full of mystery and intrigue! From a parental point of view, Smitty's Cave Adventures also has a good moral overtone. Even the girls wanted to read this book and they all concluded that this is their favorite book so far!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    As always, an amazing read from cover to cover. 

    As always, an amazing read from cover to cover. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    gripping, highly recommended

    I have not yet finished the book, nearly done. It is gripping! Since there is also a TV show you can put the characters in their places and see them as you read. Kept me on the edge of my seat, so to speak. I will reach more of her books for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    FLINTPACK

    Sorry for advertising in your pack, but this is Reyna from Flintpack. If any of you were an awesome member of the awesome flintpack please come back. We are at flint hearts res one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Delin

    My sis tried naming a stuffie kin<_>ky..)) A lone gray brown wolf trots in, gold eyes cool with indifference. "Hello?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Fox

    hi. Join chatter result 1 if your still up!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Scarlet

    She sat up in a tree trying to see the bundel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Jace

    She smiles as she walks out of her tent. "Hey guys." Kol holds her hand and stands behind her. "Hupso?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Alec

    Kringes. What was that for?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Bree

    Walked on. Hey guys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 317 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16