BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

An Ice Cold Grave (Harper Connelly Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 444 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(234)

4 Star

(140)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Not bad. Quite readable. Although there is a binge of serial kil

    Not bad. Quite readable. Although there is a binge of serial killers in literature of late.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    Surprisingly very good

    The Harper Connelly series is surprisingly very good, although I am a little surprised by her relationship with her brother. Despite the initial shock, I think it's a good fit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Very good... Keeps you guessing!

    While I still prefer the Sookie Stackhouse books this is the the best book in the Harper Connelly series as far as I am concerned!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Very graphic but a great book.

    I know death isnt always neat and pretty, especially when reading a book about a girl who finds dead bodies; the graphic deaths just caught me off guard. Other than that i would have given 5 stars. Though im not sure i like where relationships ended up. I would have liked to have read more about xylda, i love her character. As with any series, I def think that this book is far more enjoyable if you have read the first two in the series prior. I def will reccomend this series to friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Good book.

    I have read three of four of the Harper Conelly series. The first book made me want to keep reading these series. Book two was ok and book three was better. I don't really care for Charlaine Harris's writting she keeps repeating herself and i'm the type of person to get on with it already! I have one more book to this series and i hope it's a goid one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    interesting change

    I'm almost done with this book right now. I have read the first 2 and enjoyed them- dark, but not too dark, creepy, but not too creepy, fluffy, but not too fluffy- a decent combination for some more complex "chick lit" style stuff. I hate that phrase, but you get my point.

    There's been some changes in the character relations in this 3rd installment. Again- I'm not entirely done, so there's room yet for my opinion to fully form- but I remain hesitant about some of it. It's either a really good move to keep things going with the series, OR a horrible disaster that will burn out my interest fast. It remains to be seen. depending on how this one ends, I will most likely give one more book a try before I decide that one.

    All in all, these are well written, and you can't always guess the who dun it until right before the characters do- which I appreciate cause I usually figure it out too early. If you occasionally like a light beach read type book, but find them to get repetitive and silly- you might want to give these a try. It's a nice change without getting too terribly heavy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An excellent mystery series!

    An Ice Cold Grave is the third book in Harris' Harper Connelly series, a dark mystery with feather-light touches of paranormal. For those who haven't encountered it before Harper is a woman who gained the uncanny ability to sense the dead and read their last moment after being hit by lightning. After surviving a horrible, abusive childhood she and her step brother Tolliver travel around using her talent to survive.

    In An Ice Cold Grave Harper and Tolliver have been called to Doraville, North Carolina where a woman, angry at the past sheriff's handling of the disappearances of several teen boys, asks Harper to find the bodies of the boys that surely must be dead by now. Harper begins her hunt, and to her horror finds not only the six missing boys, but two others as well, all buried in what looks suspiciously like a serial killer's dumping grounds.

    Suddenly Harper finds herself not just blackmailed into staying nearby by the newly appointed sheriff, but a target of the serial killer's outrage.

    As usual Harris offers a tale that features a delicate thread of darkness. There is true horror in this book, but by the characters trying to block it out, move past it and not dwelling on it, even when it rises up and tries to claim them, it becomes secondary, and undertow rather than a flood of dark themes. The characters are Harris' strength. They are complex, easy to sympathize with and as a reader you find yourself wanting things to work out for them.

    This particular book is more scattered than the previous books, but it reflects the complexity of the serial killer nature. Despite the attention focused on Harris' other series, this is her best. An Ice Cold Grave is satisfying, page turner that fans of dark fiction should definitely give a chance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    The title does a relatively good job describing the book. Especially if you are reading the series. The cover also helps the title.

    I enjoyed this book. It had a little romance at the end. I loved the characters. This author does a great job creating unique characters that I can associate with. I thought it took a little too long to completely uncover the mystery of who done it. There were some twist though that you didn't see, while there were other places where you knew who it was. This was a great book to read to escape from reality and pass the time. I put it down a couple of times, but overall I'd read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7