Customer Reviews for

The Ice Dragon

Average Rating 3.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

exciting fun pre-teen fantasy

Adara is a winter child having been born during the coldest stretch that anyone including the elders can remember. She loves the cold especially when the notorious Ice Dragon comes near as legend has it this beast brings with it the frozen weather. Adara is not only i...
Adara is a winter child having been born during the coldest stretch that anyone including the elders can remember. She loves the cold especially when the notorious Ice Dragon comes near as legend has it this beast brings with it the frozen weather. Adara is not only is unafraid of the Ice Dragon, she accepts the creature as being part of her life making her so unlike her older brother Geoff who must intellectually challenge and question everything. When Adara was five she rode on the back of her beastly friend. Now two years later, the fire dragons have come to scorch the earth. Adara¿s family farm and those of their neighbors are in peril. Only a winter¿s child and her Ice Dragon can save the people, but she is just a child and he a beast. --- This is an exciting fun pre-teen fantasy starring a courageous heroic child and the dragon with a bad reputation who loves her. The story line is action-packed but also contains delightful illustrations that enhance the tale. Young readers will root for Adara and Ice Dragon as they battle the fiery dragons. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

not what i wanted

the nook versions will not let you know that you get a short story instead of a book untill after you have bought it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by 6410241 on September 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    not what i wanted

    the nook versions will not let you know that you get a short story instead of a book untill after you have bought it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    exciting fun pre-teen fantasy

    Adara is a winter child having been born during the coldest stretch that anyone including the elders can remember. She loves the cold especially when the notorious Ice Dragon comes near as legend has it this beast brings with it the frozen weather. Adara is not only is unafraid of the Ice Dragon, she accepts the creature as being part of her life making her so unlike her older brother Geoff who must intellectually challenge and question everything. When Adara was five she rode on the back of her beastly friend. Now two years later, the fire dragons have come to scorch the earth. Adara¿s family farm and those of their neighbors are in peril. Only a winter¿s child and her Ice Dragon can save the people, but she is just a child and he a beast. --- This is an exciting fun pre-teen fantasy starring a courageous heroic child and the dragon with a bad reputation who loves her. The story line is action-packed but also contains delightful illustrations that enhance the tale. Young readers will root for Adara and Ice Dragon as they battle the fiery dragons. --- Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2008

    Amazing

    Ok so im about in my pre teens and I loved this book! it was absolutly amazing outstanding my mom is going to buy it for me. I loved it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2006

    sad and violent

    I love stories about dragons and I was so hopeful when I started this book. Unfortunately I was beyond disappointed - I was appalled by the violence in the book and by the sorrow that it inflicts upon the reader. I see the lessons the author was trying to teach - the sacrifices we make for the people we love and the importance of family, but this was too extreme for children. Life will teach children about sorrows and violence, a book does not need to do so. I would NOT recommend this book to anyone, even my worst enemy. I was disturbed for the rest of the night after I finished this book. I've never written an online review before but I was so troubled by this book that I thought it was important. Stay away!

    5 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Not the same world

    I only bought this book because the description claimed that it took place in the same world as the Game of Thrones series. It does not. Still not a terrible story, though it is fairly graphic for a childrens book.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    The greatest book ever the dragon queen The dragon queen

    The greatest book ever. I cried when i read this so it is really that good

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    fans of george m. and fantasy alike will love this tale. i came across it in dreamsongs volume one and it is too good!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    Great Story

    Loved the story just wished it was a longer reading book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    I will say that this is my all time favorite book. I love this b

    I will say that this is my all time favorite book. I love this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2014

    I sure wish George R.R. Martin would quit jerking around with th

    I sure wish George R.R. Martin would quit jerking around with these other books and finish the
    Song of Ice and Fire books. If he would focus on what made him famous instead of stupid history of
    Westeros and childrens books maybe he could give the people what they really want. That is the
    completion of the "Game of Thrones" saga. Get your act together George!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    So great well the nook says that um..lll

    Lo i like this book



    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Beautiful intro to Martin

    A good book to get your children into Martin while they are young.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    not what i was expecting

    i didnt even know that martin wrote kids books, i just gave it to my little cousin

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Not what i wanted just aweful

    Yyyyyuuuuuucccccccccckkkkkkkkkkkk

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2