Customer Reviews for

Ice Hunt

Average Rating 4.5
( 203 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(121)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

What hides in a place that few get to see?

This book has sat inconspicuously next to my computer desk on it's shelf for two years and I don't know what exactly propelled me to pick it up but I'm glad I finally did! I tend to collect adventure stories that reach all corners of the Earth, even go between the layer...
This book has sat inconspicuously next to my computer desk on it's shelf for two years and I don't know what exactly propelled me to pick it up but I'm glad I finally did! I tend to collect adventure stories that reach all corners of the Earth, even go between the layers and I especially love all the ice stories such as this one. The good news is that this book is fantastic, it reads like a movie and sometimes goes in opposite direction of reality and belief but it makes for a heck of a read. The bad news, it's long, well only 505 pages but Rollins could use a good editor and chop off about a hundred because he loves to write about ever single step everyone takes, especially when it comes to fighting and explaining how to maneuver submarines, helicopters and all sorts of vehicles. Maybe it's a dude thing, maybe if I was a guy I'd love it little more, not sure, but I am patient and still enjoyed the book because the main idea was excellent.

Most of the story revolves around an ice island that has frozen over and over in the Earth's polar ice cap, sharing waters with Alaska, Russia, Finland, Canada and Greenland. Scientists and naval powers haven't seen it in decades but life is being brought back to the island, all because a shape that has moved and caught on the submarine's sonar, all within the abandoned ice station inside, named Ice Station Grendel. Those who read enough and watch fantasy movies will be familiar with the name, but the author has planned more than a cool name for a station, it's not as much of a moniker as a foreshadowing what caused its demise and what will bring terror back into the icy waters. The station looks like an upside down cone, spiraling levels with labs, a cave and even a submarine gate, all encased in clear blue ice, with people running though it once again. I loved reading how the tunnels in an ice island felt like, the eerie cold and quiet one felt when alone, probably the loneliest place to be, deep under water, but not really alone, there's something else down there...

There are good guys, bad guys, and those who simply cannot make their minds up as the reader is catapulted into a journey of fighting governments, secret project cover ups and tons of action. My head was spinning from the armaments and mental battles going on and I felt like I was reading a movie, it was an amazing experience, but like I said little lengthy. After reading Ice Hunt I'm ready to tackle more of Rollins, but after my toes unfreeze, I feel as if I have been dipping them in ice water the whole time, because that's all there is.

Great ending, lots of twists and turns and some nasty surprises crawling throng those quiet tunnels. Those who love action, science and adventure with a little mystery threw in will enjoy this tremendously. What starts of as a scientific mission turns into a tale that takes a bite out of the reader, a rather good bite too, so enjoy and watch that water...it only appears safe.

- Kasia S.

posted by Kasia_S on December 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Recommended

This book definitely keeps you turning the pages. He lets the plot build as you go and doesn't reveal what's really up until the end when it all comes together. If you like a well written fantasy journey with some impossible situations for the good guys to get out of, y...
This book definitely keeps you turning the pages. He lets the plot build as you go and doesn't reveal what's really up until the end when it all comes together. If you like a well written fantasy journey with some impossible situations for the good guys to get out of, you'll enjoy reading this. Other books by this same author are equally well written.

posted by 5744928 on December 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 203 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted December 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    What hides in a place that few get to see?

    This book has sat inconspicuously next to my computer desk on it's shelf for two years and I don't know what exactly propelled me to pick it up but I'm glad I finally did! I tend to collect adventure stories that reach all corners of the Earth, even go between the layers and I especially love all the ice stories such as this one. The good news is that this book is fantastic, it reads like a movie and sometimes goes in opposite direction of reality and belief but it makes for a heck of a read. The bad news, it's long, well only 505 pages but Rollins could use a good editor and chop off about a hundred because he loves to write about ever single step everyone takes, especially when it comes to fighting and explaining how to maneuver submarines, helicopters and all sorts of vehicles. Maybe it's a dude thing, maybe if I was a guy I'd love it little more, not sure, but I am patient and still enjoyed the book because the main idea was excellent. <BR/><BR/>Most of the story revolves around an ice island that has frozen over and over in the Earth's polar ice cap, sharing waters with Alaska, Russia, Finland, Canada and Greenland. Scientists and naval powers haven't seen it in decades but life is being brought back to the island, all because a shape that has moved and caught on the submarine's sonar, all within the abandoned ice station inside, named Ice Station Grendel. Those who read enough and watch fantasy movies will be familiar with the name, but the author has planned more than a cool name for a station, it's not as much of a moniker as a foreshadowing what caused its demise and what will bring terror back into the icy waters. The station looks like an upside down cone, spiraling levels with labs, a cave and even a submarine gate, all encased in clear blue ice, with people running though it once again. I loved reading how the tunnels in an ice island felt like, the eerie cold and quiet one felt when alone, probably the loneliest place to be, deep under water, but not really alone, there's something else down there... <BR/><BR/>There are good guys, bad guys, and those who simply cannot make their minds up as the reader is catapulted into a journey of fighting governments, secret project cover ups and tons of action. My head was spinning from the armaments and mental battles going on and I felt like I was reading a movie, it was an amazing experience, but like I said little lengthy. After reading Ice Hunt I'm ready to tackle more of Rollins, but after my toes unfreeze, I feel as if I have been dipping them in ice water the whole time, because that's all there is. <BR/><BR/>Great ending, lots of twists and turns and some nasty surprises crawling throng those quiet tunnels. Those who love action, science and adventure with a little mystery threw in will enjoy this tremendously. What starts of as a scientific mission turns into a tale that takes a bite out of the reader, a rather good bite too, so enjoy and watch that water...it only appears safe. <BR/><BR/>- Kasia S.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Thar she blows!!

    Mathew Pike, an Alaska Fish and Game warden (and much more), Jennifer Aratuk, sheriff for the Nunamiut and Inupiat tribe (and more too), along with Craig Teague, reporter for the Seattle Times (so he tells you).Stumble upon a stunning discovery that was made on the Polar ice cap. A Russian secret laboratory containing discoveries that could change the world. Both the Americans and Russians will literally do anything to get their hands on this discovery, and dispose of those who know about it.
    So begins a bang slap story that will be hard to put down. WARNING you must read all the way to the end, there is a final scene that will give you goose bumps.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    One of the all time best authors

    If you love a bit of history, mixed with thriller/si fy/mystery/fiction...you will love James Rollins. It does not matter if you start reading any of his individula novels, such as Ice Hunt or Amazonia or if you prefer to read his Sigma Series...you can't go wrong with James Rollins. He is and will always be one of my very favorites.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    James Rollins writes another hard to put down book!

    James Rollins combination of actual events mixed with imaginaion and science makes for interesting and stimulating reading. Add in a terrific ability to create interesting characters and nonstop challenging situations and you have great reading!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2004

    Great but long . . .

    Rollins weaves a good yarn with plenty of action and interesting creatures, characters, suspense etc. My only complaint is that after 300 pages there isn't much new or different that can happen, you know the good guys are going to save the world and enough people have died, revealed secrets, blah, blah that anything 'new' isn't. I started another book before forcing myself back to the last 80 pages. I'll read more Rollins novels hoping they're not too long.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Recommended

    This book definitely keeps you turning the pages. He lets the plot build as you go and doesn't reveal what's really up until the end when it all comes together. If you like a well written fantasy journey with some impossible situations for the good guys to get out of, you'll enjoy reading this. Other books by this same author are equally well written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Excellent Technothriller

    Once again Rollins came thru for me! This novel was EXCELLENT!! Set in the Arctic region, characters were strong and well developed. The plot was non stop action. It does jump from one place to another each chapter, so need to get used to that. It had a complete ending, no wondering what happened. And a good Epilog explaining how he developed the plot, what he created and what were really accurate facts. I highly recommend this chilling, exciting page turner to anybody who likes exotic locations, lots of action, and creepy creatures! TEN STARS!!! Vallie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Fantastic book

    This has the creepy adventure that i love in books. And for those dingdongs who are having numbnut conversations on here go away , do it on facebook or something.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    YES

    So s.exy!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Ice~ Chapter Five

    When they got upstairs, Rye ripped off their clothes and kissed Elsa. Elsa smiled. Ana watched, disgusted. Then Rye grabbed her. Kissing her, he slid his c in. Ana moaned. Then everything went black for Ana. Elsa was smiling while Rye fiddled with her boo.z. He also slid his D. in. Elsa smiled and moaned. He licked her P. Then everything went black. Elsa woke up to a sleeping Ana. Rye was gone. Elsa looked at the clock. She gasped. 8:00! "Pssst! Ana! Wake up!" Ana woke up. "The suprise.." she murmerd. "Mmhm. I think he raped us." "Righto." Ana smiled. Elsa picked up her little sister and they walked home.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Back at the palace, Ana was brushing her hair. Elsa was thinking. "I am going to give him a gift." She told Ana. Ana smiled. Elsa slipped in the closet. Ana smiled to the swooshes. Her sister was already at work. (I have been SUPER busy. Sorry. More tomorrow. Hope you enjoyed!)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Yes, it is lengthy, but coming f

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Yes, it is lengthy, but coming from a science and engineering background I welcome every bit of every detail. The story is great and the moments leading to every scenario are tied together really well. There were many times where I couldn't believe what I was reading or wasn't expecting in the turn of events. I highly recommend this book if you love science and ficttion... or both.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Tired of the Muck,

    Guess what"seashanty"?! Im C.C. Im also tired,and angry that wit ALL the high-tech toys that are at the end of these kids wrists,yet they feel the need to 'muck-up' the review board of the nook with gibberish!!!!!!! Dont they have 'SKYPE!FACE BOOK!SKYDRIVE!TWITTER???????'!!!!!! I dnt WANT to know what a snowcat or poodytat or shimmyshooshoobeebopmonkeydoo is either!This is fr avid READERS!!!! AND NO! IMNOT AN OFFICIAL EITHER!!!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    A funny person

    RPing is being banned by Banes and Noble. We are sorry to annnouce this but we have had complaints from customers concerning RPing. These acts hinder a customers ability to find reviews that are relevant to the book of their choice.
    Just kidding
    Go ahead do what ever you want its a free country

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Aragorn

    ?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Frodo

    To Eowyn: I love Frofro. He ish so adorableh! To Cupquake: F.B is...........ME! :3

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Cupquake

    LOL XD JKJKJKJKJKJK

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Eowyn

    Likes sam

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Sam

    But nooks are for reading.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Rustic

    'Ready?' She asked silently picking up the scent of rabbit. Rustic could tell that Bravetail did to.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Crissie

    Lindsey i got locked out of both go to pretty result one pllzzz

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 203 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11