Customer Reviews for

The Ice Princess (Fjällbacka Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

1st in Patrik Hedstrom series is compelling Scandinavian noir

The Ice Princess by Camila Lackberg is the first book in her Patrik Hedstrom series capitalizing on the popularity of Scandinavian noir. Erica Falck has returned to her hometown of Fjallbacka, Sweden to deal with the estate of her parents, leaving behind an unsuccessful...
The Ice Princess by Camila Lackberg is the first book in her Patrik Hedstrom series capitalizing on the popularity of Scandinavian noir. Erica Falck has returned to her hometown of Fjallbacka, Sweden to deal with the estate of her parents, leaving behind an unsuccessful career and unfulfilled dreams in the big city. Shortly after her return, she discovers the body of her childhood best friend, Alex, frozen in the bathtub, apparently dead by suicide. The two women hadn't spoken in years, but Erica is still driven to discover, at first, why Alex, who seemed to have a perfect life, would kill herself, and later to find the identity of Alex's murderer. Sparks fly between Erica and police detective Patrik, and the two bond over the investigation. The case brings up long buried secrets of the community, including secrets about Erica's own childhood. Lackberg's writing pulls the reader into the story through detailed scenes and creating great tension. She leaves the impression that everyone in this small town is hiding secrets, making Sweden seem very dark and mysterious, the perfect home for noir. The story was compelling and will keep readers guessing. Patrik is a strong lead for future books in the series, and I look forward to reading them!

posted by ChristysBookBlog on August 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A bit disappointing

Author Erica Falck has returned to her small hometown in Sweden to settle her parents' estate. On top of her grief over the loss of her parents, she is under a deadline for the biography she's writing. Taking a break to go for a walk, Erica is hailed by Eilert Berg, t...
Author Erica Falck has returned to her small hometown in Sweden to settle her parents' estate. On top of her grief over the loss of her parents, she is under a deadline for the biography she's writing. Taking a break to go for a walk, Erica is hailed by Eilert Berg, the caretaker for the home of her childhood friend Alexandra, a successful gallery owner. Berg has just found Alex dead of an apparent suicide.

When Erica visits Alex's parents, they are insistent that she would never have taken her own life, and they ask Erica to write a memorial article about their daughter. Her research into Alex's life brings her in contact with an unusual and large cast of characters including Alex's husband Henrik, Anders, a severely depressed artist, and Francine, Alex's sister.

Erica is spending time with Dan, an old school boyfriend, much to his wife's unease. She's being pressured by her sister Anna and her brother-in-law Lucas to settle the estate and sell the family home; even while she worries that Anna is an abused wife. To further complicate her life, Erica finds herself attracted to Patrik Hedstrom, the detective handling the investigation into Alex's death. As Erica and Patrik dig deeper into Alex's life, long hidden family secrets begin to surface, leading them on the trail of the murderer in this Swedish thriller.

THE ICE PRINCESS is a quick read that spends too much time on the personal and romantic relationships and not quite enough on the story. A bit disappointing, it doesn't have the same intensity as most of the books I've read by other Scandinavian authors. Lynn Kimmerle

posted by Lynie on July 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    1st in Patrik Hedstrom series is compelling Scandinavian noir

    The Ice Princess by Camila Lackberg is the first book in her Patrik Hedstrom series capitalizing on the popularity of Scandinavian noir. Erica Falck has returned to her hometown of Fjallbacka, Sweden to deal with the estate of her parents, leaving behind an unsuccessful career and unfulfilled dreams in the big city. Shortly after her return, she discovers the body of her childhood best friend, Alex, frozen in the bathtub, apparently dead by suicide. The two women hadn't spoken in years, but Erica is still driven to discover, at first, why Alex, who seemed to have a perfect life, would kill herself, and later to find the identity of Alex's murderer. Sparks fly between Erica and police detective Patrik, and the two bond over the investigation. The case brings up long buried secrets of the community, including secrets about Erica's own childhood. Lackberg's writing pulls the reader into the story through detailed scenes and creating great tension. She leaves the impression that everyone in this small town is hiding secrets, making Sweden seem very dark and mysterious, the perfect home for noir. The story was compelling and will keep readers guessing. Patrik is a strong lead for future books in the series, and I look forward to reading them!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A bit disappointing

    Author Erica Falck has returned to her small hometown in Sweden to settle her parents' estate. On top of her grief over the loss of her parents, she is under a deadline for the biography she's writing. Taking a break to go for a walk, Erica is hailed by Eilert Berg, the caretaker for the home of her childhood friend Alexandra, a successful gallery owner. Berg has just found Alex dead of an apparent suicide.

    When Erica visits Alex's parents, they are insistent that she would never have taken her own life, and they ask Erica to write a memorial article about their daughter. Her research into Alex's life brings her in contact with an unusual and large cast of characters including Alex's husband Henrik, Anders, a severely depressed artist, and Francine, Alex's sister.

    Erica is spending time with Dan, an old school boyfriend, much to his wife's unease. She's being pressured by her sister Anna and her brother-in-law Lucas to settle the estate and sell the family home; even while she worries that Anna is an abused wife. To further complicate her life, Erica finds herself attracted to Patrik Hedstrom, the detective handling the investigation into Alex's death. As Erica and Patrik dig deeper into Alex's life, long hidden family secrets begin to surface, leading them on the trail of the murderer in this Swedish thriller.

    THE ICE PRINCESS is a quick read that spends too much time on the personal and romantic relationships and not quite enough on the story. A bit disappointing, it doesn't have the same intensity as most of the books I've read by other Scandinavian authors. Lynn Kimmerle

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Swedish romance-mystery...

    Sweden comes through strong and clear in this debut novel translated brilliantly by Steig Larsson's translator. It read like Romance in sections because the sentiment veered into phrases like "I hoped I looked pretty enough for him..." and "his strong arms enveloped me..." As murder mysteries go, this was relatively harmless: two suspicious deaths and two beatings. The real puzzler for me was the original crime on which all this was premised. The life-changing violence of the original crime would not be covered up today, and granted, the crime happened years ago, but one has difficulty swallowing this one. Too many people involved and the crime too heinous and with too many ramificiations...it's very close to unbelieveable. Coffee-drinking is alive and well in this Swedish mystery. Prepare a strong brew and enjoy this reading experience.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    Disappointed in this one

    I'm a big fan of Scandinavian crime fiction and this one just doesn't live up to Mankell, Larson, et al. It is a bit plodding and predictable. No central character captures your imagination and makes you really care about the story. The characters are fairly one dimensional and their interactions stilted...and romantacized.

    Not one I'd recommend for the serious reader of Nordic crime fiction. More of a "Murder She Wrote".

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    So-So

    Not the best storytelling, but an easy read. Not to be compared with The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    very good

    after reading tthe sample i haad to buy it. The characters were well-developed, the story line fast-paaced. Worth the money aand I look forward. to her next book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Ice Princess

    Erica Falck is a writer who finds the body of a childhood friend in her bathtub with her wrists cut. Although, she hasn't been in touch with this woman for 25 years, she takes it upon herself o investigate her death once she finds out she was murdered. With the help of the cop on the case, Patrick Hedstrom (the both have romantic feelings for one another), they find the death is more than just one person but a hidden secret. It sounds suspenseful, but as others have mentioned, maybe it is in the translation, but the novel did not hold my interest. Although I enjoyed the locale, the characters were not appealing and the plot unremarkable.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Ice Princess was set up! Why?

    While reading this book, the suspense became unbearable. The author, although Scandanavian has such a command of thought provoking language. The whole drama unfolded and had a surprise for me at the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Wow! Super good "who done it?"

    Oh yeah! Finally a good book you can't put down. Loved how many times it had you thinking it was one person and it ended up being someone else. Highly recommend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    A bit slow starting off but it does pick up. I found the story

    A bit slow starting off but it does pick up. I found the story sufficiently engrossing to read the next in the series. I did enjoy the story but felt a little let down by the ending. In reality a 3.5 star rating is more accurate.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    The ice princess left me cold

    The worst thing about reading mysteries is that no matter how poorly it is written something t,still compels you to finish it just to see who in fact committed the crime. The best part of this book was the reflective writing writing, detailing the characters inner feelings. The plot was plodding however and the dialogue was quite poor. I did not find this novel to be any where near the leagues of the Girl w/ Dragon Tattoo series, to which it has been compared. Too bad too, I was looking to this author being as good as she was being toted as.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good thriller

    If you want a change from all american thrillers, this is your book.
    The story takes place in a small town in Sueden during winter. It seems very slow at first and yet, when you start it, it is difficult to let it go!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Amazing!!!!

    I read this book and loved it from the start!! A great read for mystery lovers with dark side understanding..... with those twists were just when you think you have it figured out it takes an unexspected turn

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good Mystery, Too Much Personal Lives

    This is a very engaging setup, the murder is intriguing as well as the characters. however, much too much time is spent on the love story of the main character & her childhood sweetheart. This attention increases as the book goes on and interferes with the mystery plot. I loved the mystery, but am seriously hesitating to buy another by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    This is a good one.

    I just found Camilla Lackberg and love her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    It's so goood It's so good I could barf!!!

    I loved the sample it was scary soothing and a like a maze, you don't know where your going to turn next. And sombody txt me back.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    A Good Read

    I don't know why but I have fallen in love with Swedish writers. It started with The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. I love the imagery and the characters of this book. The writing was was done and the plot contained twists and turns that I didn't see coming.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    I love it!

    Even though in parts it is very sad and maybe evn frightening, it is so far a very good book. ( I have only read he sample)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Ice Princess

    A woman is found dead in a bathtub - her wrists slashed. One of the people to discover the body was a former childhood friend. The women's parent can't belive the daughter would commit suicide and ask the former friend, now a noted biographer, to write an article about her. She agrees, but has an alterior motive.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5