Customer Reviews for

The Ice Princess (Fjällbacka Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

1st in Patrik Hedstrom series is compelling Scandinavian noir

The Ice Princess by Camila Lackberg is the first book in her Patrik Hedstrom series capitalizing on the popularity of Scandinavian noir. Erica Falck has returned to her hometown of Fjallbacka, Sweden to deal with the estate of her parents, leaving behind an unsuccessful...
The Ice Princess by Camila Lackberg is the first book in her Patrik Hedstrom series capitalizing on the popularity of Scandinavian noir. Erica Falck has returned to her hometown of Fjallbacka, Sweden to deal with the estate of her parents, leaving behind an unsuccessful career and unfulfilled dreams in the big city. Shortly after her return, she discovers the body of her childhood best friend, Alex, frozen in the bathtub, apparently dead by suicide. The two women hadn't spoken in years, but Erica is still driven to discover, at first, why Alex, who seemed to have a perfect life, would kill herself, and later to find the identity of Alex's murderer. Sparks fly between Erica and police detective Patrik, and the two bond over the investigation. The case brings up long buried secrets of the community, including secrets about Erica's own childhood. Lackberg's writing pulls the reader into the story through detailed scenes and creating great tension. She leaves the impression that everyone in this small town is hiding secrets, making Sweden seem very dark and mysterious, the perfect home for noir. The story was compelling and will keep readers guessing. Patrik is a strong lead for future books in the series, and I look forward to reading them!

posted by ChristysBookBlog on August 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

A bit disappointing

Author Erica Falck has returned to her small hometown in Sweden to settle her parents' estate. On top of her grief over the loss of her parents, she is under a deadline for the biography she's writing. Taking a break to go for a walk, Erica is hailed by Eilert Berg, t...
Author Erica Falck has returned to her small hometown in Sweden to settle her parents' estate. On top of her grief over the loss of her parents, she is under a deadline for the biography she's writing. Taking a break to go for a walk, Erica is hailed by Eilert Berg, the caretaker for the home of her childhood friend Alexandra, a successful gallery owner. Berg has just found Alex dead of an apparent suicide.

When Erica visits Alex's parents, they are insistent that she would never have taken her own life, and they ask Erica to write a memorial article about their daughter. Her research into Alex's life brings her in contact with an unusual and large cast of characters including Alex's husband Henrik, Anders, a severely depressed artist, and Francine, Alex's sister.

Erica is spending time with Dan, an old school boyfriend, much to his wife's unease. She's being pressured by her sister Anna and her brother-in-law Lucas to settle the estate and sell the family home; even while she worries that Anna is an abused wife. To further complicate her life, Erica finds herself attracted to Patrik Hedstrom, the detective handling the investigation into Alex's death. As Erica and Patrik dig deeper into Alex's life, long hidden family secrets begin to surface, leading them on the trail of the murderer in this Swedish thriller.

THE ICE PRINCESS is a quick read that spends too much time on the personal and romantic relationships and not quite enough on the story. A bit disappointing, it doesn't have the same intensity as most of the books I've read by other Scandinavian authors. Lynn Kimmerle

posted by Lynie on July 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Ice Princess was set up! Why?

    While reading this book, the suspense became unbearable. The author, although Scandanavian has such a command of thought provoking language. The whole drama unfolded and had a surprise for me at the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Wow! Super good "who done it?"

    Oh yeah! Finally a good book you can't put down. Loved how many times it had you thinking it was one person and it ended up being someone else. Highly recommend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Amazing!!!!

    I read this book and loved it from the start!! A great read for mystery lovers with dark side understanding..... with those twists were just when you think you have it figured out it takes an unexspected turn

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    It's so goood It's so good I could barf!!!

    I loved the sample it was scary soothing and a like a maze, you don't know where your going to turn next. And sombody txt me back.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted June 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Scandanavian Writers are good

    This is a terrific murder mystery with some twists that were a bit unexpected. I enjoyed this book very much and look forward to the second and third in this series...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    Wonderful

    Im still reading this one; it's so enjoyable, i'm looking forward to reading her next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    fans of Swedish whodunits (see the Wallander police procedural by Henning Mankell) will enjoy this engaging mystery.

    With the death of her parents, biographer Erica Falck returns home to Fjallbacka, Sweden to close their estate. She quickly realizes you cannot go home as the town has changed from a coastal fishing port to a booming tourist attraction. However, when she goes to see her childhood friend Alexandra Wijkner, she finds the woman's wrists slashed in a tub of icy water; an apparent suicide victim. The grieving author considers writing a novel based on Alex.

    As her abusive brother-in-law Lucas persuaded his wife Anna and the third sister Marianne, he demands Erica sell her parents' home to take advantage of the thriving market. Erica begins to look into what happened to Alex. Erica meets Patrik Hedstrom, the detective investigating the death. As they team up looking into Alex's death and begin a personal relationship, the pair finds anomalies even while someone wants the darkest secret kept concealed.

    This is an exciting Swedish investigation in which the suspects provides their perspective; a technique that enhances the mystery. The town in many ways steals the story line as Fjallbacka is booming yet ironically decaying. The cast is as solid as the wintry ice, but though I cannot believe a cop on an investigation would allow a writer, especially one that he is seeing, to tag along, fans of Swedish whodunits (see the Wallander police procedural by Henning Mankell) will enjoy this engaging mystery.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    Highly recommended

    This was a great addition to the Swedish wave. The characters were interesting and play well against each other. The plot was a little thin but the story flowed with exuberance. As a librarian, I recommend it to patrons who enjoyed "The Girl Who" series and have had many coming back to tell me how much they enjoyed reading it. I look forward to more books from this author

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2015

    No one has wrote a review for months

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! BTW i really like the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2014

    A hooded figure to pat

    I run up and stab u in the heart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2014

    Pat to k

    Get up"i hold out my hand"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2014

    U guys having s.ex

    Ima guy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    I read Book 5, the Hidden Child, first. Should have read them in order.

    I love Camilla Lackbergs books in the Fjallbacka Series, at least 1 and 5. Really keeps you guessing what happened and what IS going to happen. A whole new series of Mystery books to have for my summer and fall reading.

    Love her stories.... I think you will also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2014

    One of my favorites!!

    Before purchasing this book, I read the free sample on my Nook and was instantly hooked. This was the first crime novel that I have read and it was absolutely fantastic. I enjoyed the overall storyline and really loved how the author described the events so clearly with such powerful descriptions and words. I can honestly say that once I started reading, it was difficult to put down. Highly, highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Whisperwillow

    Makes herself a nest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Wariors den

    — Icestar —

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Recommended

    Great twists and turns, keeps you interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    Giitkyfofofhl

    Kgggx hcrujdttettdvgftffy

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2