Customer Reviews for

Ice Station

Average Rating 4.5
( 175 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(120)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

BANG! BOOM! Action galore.

I'll I have to say is that there has never been more action in a book. The story's good(even with its flaws). The characters seem real, especially Shane Schofield. I highly recommend this book for people who like Dirk Pitt or Die Hard.

posted by Anonymous on May 10, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Waste of time

I have to agree with the June 9, 2004 review
that gave this ridiculous book a one star rating. The author does not know (paperback page 176) that the Marine Corps does not have a rank of lieutenant commander which is a Navy rank. Read the above referenced review befor...
I have to agree with the June 9, 2004 review
that gave this ridiculous book a one star rating. The author does not know (paperback page 176) that the Marine Corps does not have a rank of lieutenant commander which is a Navy rank. Read the above referenced review before ordering this book.

posted by 231lc on May 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    Waste of time

    I have to agree with the June 9, 2004 review
    that gave this ridiculous book a one star rating. The author does not know (paperback page 176) that the Marine Corps does not have a rank of lieutenant commander which is a Navy rank. Read the above referenced review before ordering this book.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2004

    Only reason it got one star is that I couldn't give it zero.

    I am really amazed by the number of positive reviews for this book. It's almost like the other reviewers read a different book than the one I did. The 'research' for this book apparently was done by a quick trip to the local video rentals action section. Liquid nitrogen grenades, hand crossbows, magnetic grappeling guns, and other signature weapons for each countries special forces; decompression sickness on the descent of a scuba dive to 3000 ft without protective equipment (and the corresponding pill that magically removes decompression sickness); gov't conspiracies that involve infiltrating SF units, and murdering them; the Plutonium powered invisible plane with missles that can be timed to hit a target 20+ minutes after being fired off; radiaion mutated man eating giant seals (man eating killerwhales too); and the lost research station that has been floating as an iceberg for 30 years, that conveniently shows up to help the 'hero' Scarecrow out of that pages desperate situation (it seemed that there was a desperate situation / cliffhanger every 1-2 pages). Beyond that, the book is so action packed that it becomes tedious and then downright boring. The first running gun battle lasts 300 pages, and involves US, Brit, and French special forces wiping each other out. These are just a few of the teeth-grindingly absurd situations (believe me it gets worse). Be very cautious and take the positive reviews with a grain of salt in the case of this book........leaf through the book, and look at the number of times all caps and italics are used on each page, and if you really must read it, buy it at a half price bookstore, or borrow it from a library, but don't reward the author for this piece of garbage.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Icg

    Hey author! The ICG is looking for you for spilling all their secrets.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    good heavens that sucked

    As a recon Marine and a marine biologist I'm not sure if the atrocious biology or the horridly misguided everything about the military aspects of this book offend me the most. At least it only took a few hours to read.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2001

    Ridiculous improbabilities

    My biggest problem with this book is that I actually finished it. It is farrago of silly hair-breadth escapes, super-human feats of derring-do, hackneyed characters and, most damning, execrable research (SCUBA diving at 3000 feet?, lactic acid in the trachea?, on and on). Incredulity mushrooms after the first 10 pages rendering the remainder of the opus laughable. The only redeeming feature of the book is the depiction of the French as enemies (a notion anyone who has ever been to Paris will readily accept). This book has all the worst qualities of an already quality-challenged genre.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Bogus

    Comparing the US playing the star spangled banner in schools every morning to the Soviets indoctrination of their people is beyond ridiculous and as far fetched as the action in this book. Patriotism is one thing, brain washing another. This author is an idiot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Scarecrow Rocks

    Reilly is a bigot.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1