Customer Reviews for

The Icebound Land (Ranger's Apprentice Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 688 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(480)

4 Star

(121)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Great boo

Great book!! YOU should read the book one and two

posted by Anonymous on March 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Decline

First two were better.

posted by 10954829 on January 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 695 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 35
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Great boo

    Great book!! YOU should read the book one and two

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    Great book

    Great book suggest read 1 2 first and just read whole series you will love it!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    Really really good

    The Rangers Apprentice the ice bound land is a slow paced book that sets up the next book in the series. Will is doing all he can to recover and help Evanlyn. They are still with the skandians. this is a very exiting book were Halt and Horace are racing against time to save Will and Evanlyn when it takes unexpected turn in Galitca which will lose valuable time to save. This a very good book because of the back and forth movement is the book. Sometimes you will find you will be with Will and Evanlyn. I liked the book John Flanagan used the snow covered mountains as the seeing.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Fantastic Book

    This is my new favorite series. They are fantastic books!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    AMAZING

    This is my fav so far. I was expecting somting going on between will and evanlyn... WHO GIVS A RATS ASS IT WAS AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Holy crap this book amazing!!!!!!!

    I have read the whole seiries and this might be my favorite

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Loveing this book

    It is a grate book in every possible way !!!!!!!!! :) : D

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    My son loved this book

    My 11-year old son read this book and thought it was great.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Best book series for teebage boys

    this is the best book ever

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    RANGERS APPRENTICE IS SO GOOD

    Read all of these books they are so good!!!! Even at age30 im enjoying these books

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    EXcellent book.

    A can't put down book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Spectacular!!!

    J. Flanagan has once again achieved perfection with his 3rd book of The Rangers Apprentice. I just started to read his book and I am already in love with them. This is a great series for all ages. It is filled to the brim with action, a little bit of romance, and adrenalin. From advanced readers (9-12) to teens (13+) to adults, this series will make you laugh, love, and even cry at and for he characters. Enjoy!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great for reading with your son or daughter

    My eleven-year-old son and I have been reading together at bedtime since he was a little boy. We are always glad to find a series of books that we can enjoy together. This series by John Flanagan has been among the best. The characters are well developed and complex and you cannot help but like Halt, Will,Evalin, and Horace. The humor is smart and quirky. I think it is a wonderful lesson for my son to see how people who originally did not like each other can develope a friendship and mutual respect for each other. I also think he is impressed with the admiration and loyalty they feel for each other. The look in my son's eyes when Will finally recovered from his addiction to warmweed could not have been happier if it had been one of his own school buddies. We had to start the next book in the series the very night we finished this book. Great stuff!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    A book for 4th-8th graders, and fantasy lovers -- Rangers Apprentice Book 3

    Ranger's Apprentice
    Book 3


    I am going to tell you about this spectacular book, Ranger's Apprentice. The reason it must be told is because I find it to be an exciting tale of action, mischief, and it has an intriguing story that I think is stimulating.
    This book starts out with two main characters, Will and Evalyn (Will is an apprentice ranger, someone who uses a bow to fight, and Evalyn is a maid), who in the last book, got captured by a band of fierce Scandinavians. These barbarians plan to take Will and Evalyn back to their home country and sell them off as slaves. But what they don't know is that Will's master Halt (Halt is also a ranger, but he is a senior ranger, not an apprentice) and his friend Horace (a knight) are traveling to save Will and Evalyn.
    Meanwhile, the Vikings and their slaves get caught in a huge storm with waves higher than the ship.
    "The ship began to claw its way up the face of the wave, rising higher and higher, moving more and more slowly until Will was sure they must begin the terrible backward sliding motion again. Then the crest of the wave broke and thundered over them." Pg. 4
    By the time that it is over, they are forced to dock on this small island.
    At the same time, Halt and Horace are traveling through a country called Gallica, and all these strange knights want to challenge Horace, but always loose. Soon Horace's fame spreads and attracts some odd knights. On their way through the country, they get captured by an evil knight named Deparnieux (day-par-nyeu), where in a couple weeks a challenge will be issued between Deparnieux and Horace.
    "What a thoroughly piece of work you are Deparnieux," Horace said softly, and the black knight leaned forward across the table, thrusting his chin out for the ritual blow with a glove that would issue the challenge and make the entire event irrevocable.
    "Frightened boy?" He sneered, and then flinched as a glove slapped stingingly across his cheek.
    Not the pain made him flinch. Rather, it was the unexpectedness of it all. For the boy across the table hadn't moved. Instead the bearded, grizzled ranger had come to his feet with the speed and agility that left the warlord no time to react, and struck him across the face with the glove he had held under the table for the past few minutes.
    "Then I challenge you, Deparnieux," Halt said. And for a few seconds the warlord felt a surge of uncertainty as he saw the light of satisfaction deep behind those steady, unwavering eyes" pg. 226 and pg. 227.
    Meanwhile, back in the Vikings home town, called Hallasholm, Will was sold as a yard slave, and Evalyn as a house slave. That means that Will has to work in the cold snow 20 hours a day, and Evalyn has to work inside for 15 hours a day. The sad part is that Will, just to stay warm, needs this very addictive drug called worm weed. If he doesn't get the drug he is turned into a mindless animal that always craves the drug. Finally, the Viking leader Erak, that captured Will and Evalyn, feels some sympathy for Will who was once a great warrior.
    So as you can tell.wait I'm not supposed to tell you the end, but I can tell you that the day comes when the challenge against Deparnieux is issued. Instead of Horace (the knight) fighting him, Halt (the senior ranger) challenges Deparnieux. But sadly, you'll have to read the book to find out the end.
    Rating: 10 stars out of 10
    I rated this book 10 stars, because it had everything. Action, a great story line, and

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!

    An amazing story with lots of twists and surprises that will make you never want to put the book down, starting off with Will and Evanlyn getting taken to Scandia this is one book you won't want to miss!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Artemis Here

    I wish there waz at least a little romance between 'Will' & some girl it should be akinda girl who is stubborn, short temperd, likes to fight, real quick witted and is one of the 'Rangers' daughter oh & she should also b 15 & hav long thick black hair and she should be training her whole life to bcome a 'Ranger' other than that this is avery great series!!! Hope they make a tv series outta this series!!!!!! Any1 agree with me here??!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Very good book

    This book is one of the best ive ever read!!! But be sure to read the first and second ones

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    The olny reason i rated it a 4 is because it WONT LOAD

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Awsome

    Itbis awesome

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Totally awesome!!!!!!!!BEST BOOK IVE READ!!!!

    Really ,really ,really great, because there is a really good ending and cliffhanger!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 695 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 35