Customer Reviews for

Iced (Fever Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 471 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(332)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

81 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

Loved the Book, Just Not the Heroine's Age

First off, I'm giving this book Five stars because I thought it was a fantastic addition to the Fever World books. Iced picks up soon after Shadowfever ends, and it re-introduces Dani Mega O'Malley, the pint-sized girl with the super-sized abilities who was Mac's sideki...
First off, I'm giving this book Five stars because I thought it was a fantastic addition to the Fever World books. Iced picks up soon after Shadowfever ends, and it re-introduces Dani Mega O'Malley, the pint-sized girl with the super-sized abilities who was Mac's sidekick in the first five books. Iced is told from Dani's point of view with occasional parts told from Kat's pov and one fascinating brief section told from Christian's. For fans of Mac and Barrons, they're really just on the periphery, but it's the same Dublin as before. And Dani's in her element. With the Sword of Light and her freeze-framing speed, she's practically untouchable as she carves a swathe through the Unseelie hordes that have descended on her city. Enter Ryodan who wants Dani on his payroll, and he's not asking. He's telling. There's also Christian MacKeltar who's morphing into an Unseelie Prince but who watches over her. Here's where my issue lies... she's 14 years old. They're adult men who have somehow staked a claim on her, and it's just weird enough, just creepy enough that it kind of messed with my enjoyment of the book. Even though Dani is old beyond her years, she's still a child. The fact that the sexual innuendoes go over her head, and she's bemused by the sexual tension that frequently swirls around her is evidence of how young she is. Grown men have no business sexualizing her, and that's exactly what happens in this book. Don't get me wrong, I love Ryodan and Christian. Both of them are fascinating, complex men. Ryodan is similar to Barrons but not a replica, and Christian is grappling with holding onto some part of his humanity in the wake of becoming Unseelie. But they're too old for Dani right now, and that's huge problem for me. I imagine the author has a plan to handle the age issue, and I'm really hoping it happens in the next book because if I want to read about 14 year olds, I'd be browsing the YA section.

posted by BekahSC on November 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

This book dragged, and each scene read like a repeat of the one

This book dragged, and each scene read like a repeat of the one before. If Dani would show some compassion for anyone it might put an interesting twist to this series. Also Dani should be older---way too young for all these old characters hitting on her sexually. Made m...
This book dragged, and each scene read like a repeat of the one before. If Dani would show some compassion for anyone it might put an interesting twist to this series. Also Dani should be older---way too young for all these old characters hitting on her sexually. Made my skin crawl. In the first five books, Mac and Barron had that chemistry (love/hate), that made you want to read more. Dani doesn't compare to Mac. Frankly, I liked Christian's characterization better than Dani's. I wanted more about him. There is a mystery about him. But I love Karen's writing style, and I will keep buying and reading her books.

posted by BVeditor on December 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Not a fan of Dani

    Loved the fever series but reading a story from 14 year old Dani's perspectuve was painful. I kept putting down the book b/c it didn't keep me hooked like the fever series. If Dani was older maybe I would have enjoyed it more. I am curious about how KMM explores the next story but won't be in a hurry to buy it. The story also felt all over the place b/c of the three different point if views the story was being told. I think a series from the point of view if an annoying teenager is a bad mive.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Louis

    So Confusing

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This book has some problems 2.5 Stars This was the second time

    This book has some problems

    2.5 Stars

    This was the second time that I have read this book and let's just say it was an eye opening experience for me. I read this book the first time right after its release and gave it 4 stars. I did not bother writing reviews at that time so I have no idea what I was thinking when I decided that this was a 4 star book. I think I was just being an idiot because this book is nowhere near a 4 star book. I do remember that I could not wait to get my hands on this book when it was first released and I was desperate for a new book set in the Fever world. It took me a week to read this the first time which was highly unusual so I suspect I found it boring then but did not want to admit it to myself at the time.

    I went into this re-read expecting that I would like this book. I have very recently read the first 5 books in the Fever series and now consider all them to be 5 star reads. This book is nowhere near as good as those first 5 book. This book has some very major problems that I could not overlook on this re-read.

    Overly Sexual - The main character in this book is a very immature 14 year old girl and the topic of sex is constantly thrown in our face. People are having sex around her. People want to have sex with her. She has plans about how she wants to lose her virginity. Sex is fine. Sex with 14 year old girls is not fine. If you choose to write a book with a 14 year old girl as the main character, please try not to over sex the book.

    Dani - I live with a 14 year old girl and must admit that they can very interesting. I thought Dani was especially annoying at times though. I got so sick of hearing about how she was a superhero, or the Mega, and if I have to hear her say two peas in the Mega pod again, I may be sick. I still can't figure out how this 14 year old girl was able to solve problems that immortal beings couldn't.

    Ryodan - Ryodan is no Barrons. Not. Even. Close. Barrons is able to pull off the whole a**hole that everyone loves in the first 5 books. Ryodan just seems like an a**hole. Not only that, what is going on with his obsession with Dani. She is a child. The fact that he is waiting for her is just wrong.

    Christian - What has happened to Christian? I loved Christian when we first met him and was sad to see him changing. He has changed and his change bothers me less than his obsession with Dani. It is just weird and sick because let's remember - Dani is 14 years old. Again, waiting for her is just wrong.

    Jo & Kat - Where are the strong women we saw in the previous books? I missed those women. I really don't know who these two are. They added nothing to the story in my opinion and the parts that were told from Kat's point of view were pretty bad. They have both turned into wimpy women focused on sex. Such a shame.

    It's Boring! - The first half of this book is incredibly boring. It was sleep inducing for me. I would be reading and simply fall asleep. I stayed up half the night on a work night to finish Shadowfever but fell asleep constantly reading this book.

    I didn't hate everything about the book. I did think that the story picked up in the second half and I didn't find it boring once that happened. The ending was rather exciting but there was never a point in the book where I felt like I couldn't put it down.

    I thought that Dancer and Lor were the best characters in this book. Dancer is just a few years older than Dani and he was a great friend to her. Dancer acted like a friend to Dani without references to sex. It is a shame that others in the book couldn't have done the same thing. Lor was Lor. Lor is an unapologetic a**hole. Lor was often the one who actually gave Dani some decent advice or saved the day. I guess I like a**holes because I really liked Lor in this book.

    Right now, I would recommend that fans of the series skip this book. I really hate it when a series that I love goes off the tracks. I am afraid that this is the case with this book. I hope that the next book will be better than this trainwreck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2014

    After reading, loving, and recommending the Fever series to othe

    After reading, loving, and recommending the Fever series to others, I was thrilled there was another book by my new favorite author. I love the way Karen weaves her stories, although, she does a much better job making her male characters likeable, than the women characters who often come off annoying. Dani is very annoying. Also, Dani is too young for the sexualization that took place in this book. I had to put it down, come back to it after a few weeks.
    I'm sorry to say, I couldn't finish it. Grown men lusting after children was more than a little creepy. Hopefully Dani will be aged about ten years for the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    Disappointed

    I've read Ms Moning's Highlander series and Fever series and loved, loved, loved them both! But I was severely disappointed in the story telling and the development of the main character Dani. I was disappointed because I knew the author was capable of so much more! I hated the way Dani talked and how she thinks she's the sh*t. I found her to be super annoying actually. And the fact that these old ancient men were into her was borderline disturbing because of her age! And the plot in this book? I was waiting for something bigger and badder to happen, maybe some twist to the mystery of an ice monster...but nothing happened and it seemed like the characters were all a bunch of tornado chasers but instead of tornadoes it was something that froze everyone. Mr. Freeze much? I really don't see Dani as the super hero she claims to be. I hope there aren't going to be any more books of her. Karen Moning's other books are twenty times better!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    Only for die-hard fans of the Fever series ... This was difficul

    Only for die-hard fans of the Fever series ...
    This was difficult to finish and would have been about 150 pages shorter if you edit out all the times someone says "feck", drops the actual F-bomb or eats a Snickers bar. This was a book that couldn't decide whether it was YA or even from whose point-of-view it followed. And unfortunately, in my Nook version, that was problematic as it often changed character POV without warning or even a courtesy **** or other signal. You sometimes have to read several paragraphs to see whose head you're in now. It also is told in first-person present tense, which is awful. Dani is a very obnoxious and unlikeable character. She's 14 and is an egotistical snot who's nicknamed herself "Mega." The book often puts her into highly adult situations rife with innuendo or worse. I still enjoyed the world Moning created but the storyline would have been much better IMO if told third-person, past-tense. At least that would have allowed us to read some of what happened without cringing at Dani's reaction to it. Please bring back the adults or freeze-frame Dani into the future about ten years from now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    I felt tricked into buying this book. Silly me to assume that th

    I felt tricked into buying this book. Silly me to assume that the author would stick with Mac and Barrons. I honestly tried to muster some enthusiasm when I realized that this book would focus on an inconsequential teenager. I've been trying to get through this book for a week and I'm only on page 106 of 411. I loved the first books in the series. I ignored my boyfriend until I finished the last one in the series. I anxiously awaited the next book. Disappointed, I should have read the overview before my purchase. My bad, I was super excited to see a new book in the series. Karen Marie Moning should have tweaked the name just a tad, something like, Fever Series Starring Dani O'Malley or The Story of the Rest of Dublin, or how about Weird scenes Between Dani and Men Way too Old for Her? I'll wait for Karen to get it together before I buy another book in the Fever series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Because of the sexual awareness of grown men for a teenage girl,

    Because of the sexual awareness of grown men for a teenage girl, I can't rate this more than 2 stars.  The subtext between Dani and these GROWN MEN, was so disturbing for me that I couldn't enjoy the book.  If Dani is an adult in the next book, I'll read it, if not, I'll have to pass on this series.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I expected much more from this author. The writing in the Fever

    I expected much more from this author. The writing in the Fever series was amazing and this book did not reach the same level. I stopped reading this book just halfway through. I hope her next books are better.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    age issue

    love this author and fever series but haven't bought this book cuz of age issue! 14 come on!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Good but.....

    Ok, the writing is excellent and the plot is interesting. However, I disliked having a 14 year-old at the center of sexual tension and as the main character in a novel sold under"romance." I kept waiting for time travel or some aging magic to bring her up to legal at least. Having grown men sexually interested in a 14 year-old(even thought they restrained themselves) was very off putting.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Will

    K, you choose :3

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1