Customer Reviews for

Iced (Fever Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 457 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(323)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

79 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

Loved the Book, Just Not the Heroine's Age

First off, I'm giving this book Five stars because I thought it was a fantastic addition to the Fever World books. Iced picks up soon after Shadowfever ends, and it re-introduces Dani Mega O'Malley, the pint-sized girl with the super-sized abilities who was Mac's sideki...
First off, I'm giving this book Five stars because I thought it was a fantastic addition to the Fever World books. Iced picks up soon after Shadowfever ends, and it re-introduces Dani Mega O'Malley, the pint-sized girl with the super-sized abilities who was Mac's sidekick in the first five books. Iced is told from Dani's point of view with occasional parts told from Kat's pov and one fascinating brief section told from Christian's. For fans of Mac and Barrons, they're really just on the periphery, but it's the same Dublin as before. And Dani's in her element. With the Sword of Light and her freeze-framing speed, she's practically untouchable as she carves a swathe through the Unseelie hordes that have descended on her city. Enter Ryodan who wants Dani on his payroll, and he's not asking. He's telling. There's also Christian MacKeltar who's morphing into an Unseelie Prince but who watches over her. Here's where my issue lies... she's 14 years old. They're adult men who have somehow staked a claim on her, and it's just weird enough, just creepy enough that it kind of messed with my enjoyment of the book. Even though Dani is old beyond her years, she's still a child. The fact that the sexual innuendoes go over her head, and she's bemused by the sexual tension that frequently swirls around her is evidence of how young she is. Grown men have no business sexualizing her, and that's exactly what happens in this book. Don't get me wrong, I love Ryodan and Christian. Both of them are fascinating, complex men. Ryodan is similar to Barrons but not a replica, and Christian is grappling with holding onto some part of his humanity in the wake of becoming Unseelie. But they're too old for Dani right now, and that's huge problem for me. I imagine the author has a plan to handle the age issue, and I'm really hoping it happens in the next book because if I want to read about 14 year olds, I'd be browsing the YA section.

posted by BekahSC on November 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

This book dragged, and each scene read like a repeat of the one

This book dragged, and each scene read like a repeat of the one before. If Dani would show some compassion for anyone it might put an interesting twist to this series. Also Dani should be older---way too young for all these old characters hitting on her sexually. Made m...
This book dragged, and each scene read like a repeat of the one before. If Dani would show some compassion for anyone it might put an interesting twist to this series. Also Dani should be older---way too young for all these old characters hitting on her sexually. Made my skin crawl. In the first five books, Mac and Barron had that chemistry (love/hate), that made you want to read more. Dani doesn't compare to Mac. Frankly, I liked Christian's characterization better than Dani's. I wanted more about him. There is a mystery about him. But I love Karen's writing style, and I will keep buying and reading her books.

posted by BVeditor on December 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    She's back!

    I'm so happy Moning decided to continue with her Fever series, but I'm a little bummed that the heroine is a teenager. If she's going to grow up throughout the books and we're going to see her become the amazing woman that we know she'll become, I get it. However, if I wanted to read the thoughts of an adolescent coming to terms with her sexuality and her place in the post-apocolypic world, I'd read a YA book.

    Also, I wasn't as creeped out about the men in the book treating her a little more sexually than they should like some of the other reviewers. It was done as tastefully/subtley as it could have and like they said numerous times in the book, in the world that Ryo came from, she'd be old enough to be married with kids at 14. Anything inappropriate was addressed as such in the book by the characters' reactions. My only gripe is that I did the whole teenage angst thing already. I'm an adult now and I'd rather read about adults doing adult things with other adults.

    That aside, it really was an awesome book and I do like Dani as a heroine. She just needs to grow up quick...and not by book 3.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2012

    I was really looking forward to his book, but was very disappoin

    I was really looking forward to his book, but was very disappointed. It took 200 pages for me to even want to continue reading it. The only reason I got that far is because I know there are more coming and I'm hoping they are better. I LOVED the Fever series, and this fell completely flat for me comparatively. I thought the sexualization with Ryodan and Christian was too much, and Christian creeped me out at points. I loved Dancer, and I really liked the storyline, but it just didn't hold my interest and make me want to keep reading. Also, I found it predictable what the cliffhanger would be. I guessed it from the first couple chapters of Iced. This was definitely not the case with the Fever series that came before this book.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    good but missing mac and jerico

    I enjoyed the book but so many questions are in my mind. What is mac and barrons doinv while earth is being taken over. Who is the grand mistress now. What is happening with Jayne and his men. I hope moning will resume her story about the Fever characters and the problem of getting rid of the Fae. I love the fever series. Im reading them the fourth time!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    The fever series is simply one big fun joy ride. Nobody knows ho

    The fever series is simply one big fun joy ride. Nobody knows how to create a drool worthy guy better than Moning, and she did it again with this new addition; Iced. I like the heroine in this new novel. Dani is fun, clever, and too smart for he own good, and I can see a few books down the road, that she will make an amazing heroine to root for and love. However, with that being said, the age of Dani being 14 in this book, is borderline gross, and I have a hard time reading it to be honest. Here are these two amazing, hot and powerful guys who are lusting after her, and all I see is a little girl who doesn't even understand they want her. Really? You couldn't have at least made her a few years older? So what do we get with the next book? Dani at the ripe old age of 15 or 16? Gross! I also got tired of Dani's lingo throughout as well. "Dude", "Feck" and a few others get tiring after the first 100 pages. I will still read the series, as after all, it is Karen Marie Moning, and I love the Fever books. But did she have to have a 14 year old little kid who was massively abused in her early years by her Mom, now get to be the pedophile poster girl for two powerful hunks? Blah.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Any other main character

    I love KMM's world building and the post-apocolyptic landscape of this book. If Jo or Kat had been the main voice I've little doubt that I would be rating this higher. But Dani was an annoying teenager in the Fever and she is unchanged. I can't stand her narrative voice and I do find it disturbing that a 14 year old old is the focus of several much older and sexually intense male characters - though lines are not crossed. Though I adore those male characters. Thoroughly enjoyed the introduction of Dancer.
    Hey Robin didn't get interesting until he grew up, got a crew and eventually became Nightwing. I have less hope for Dani though.
    Do I regret reading Iced? No. Especially since I visited the friendly neighborhood library. I enjoyed the story and solution and spending time with loved Fever characters. Just less Dani would be fab. Micro rather than Mega.
    Also several glaring copyediting errors were a distraction.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Don't love it

    I wish I could say this was the book that would make me die anticipating the next, but it isn't. Right now I'm rather glad I got it cheap. Even for urban fantasy it's plot was implausible, and the love triangle wasn't erotic, it was yucky. I'm of only one mind here---if a fourteen y/o is going to have sex in this series, it better damn well happen with another child--not a full-out man. I think I'll check out Burned when it's on the shelves...of my library.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Ok

    Am i the only one who finds Dani annoying? Everything else is great, but, gaaah, she actually, out loud, thinks of herself as a comic book hero?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    entertaining.

    good action. Keeps your interest

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    Dani needs to be aged. Her being 14 is a problem for me!! Loved

    Dani needs to be aged. Her being 14 is a problem for me!! Loved KMM's writing style. Just not in love with a 14 year old heroine.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Great read but needs a decent proofreader

    The story is, as expected, wonderful. However the constant use of the phrase "all the sudden" when it should be "all of a sudden" drove me nuts!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fun read but NOT a YA book. As in previous books Moning is sexua

    Fun read but NOT a YA book. As in previous books Moning is sexually graphic, the heroines age makes it seem that this is fitting for YA which is odd, I wish she weren't 14.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1