Customer Reviews for

Iced (Fever Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 472 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(333)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

81 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

Loved the Book, Just Not the Heroine's Age

First off, I'm giving this book Five stars because I thought it was a fantastic addition to the Fever World books. Iced picks up soon after Shadowfever ends, and it re-introduces Dani Mega O'Malley, the pint-sized girl with the super-sized abilities who was Mac's sideki...
First off, I'm giving this book Five stars because I thought it was a fantastic addition to the Fever World books. Iced picks up soon after Shadowfever ends, and it re-introduces Dani Mega O'Malley, the pint-sized girl with the super-sized abilities who was Mac's sidekick in the first five books. Iced is told from Dani's point of view with occasional parts told from Kat's pov and one fascinating brief section told from Christian's. For fans of Mac and Barrons, they're really just on the periphery, but it's the same Dublin as before. And Dani's in her element. With the Sword of Light and her freeze-framing speed, she's practically untouchable as she carves a swathe through the Unseelie hordes that have descended on her city. Enter Ryodan who wants Dani on his payroll, and he's not asking. He's telling. There's also Christian MacKeltar who's morphing into an Unseelie Prince but who watches over her. Here's where my issue lies... she's 14 years old. They're adult men who have somehow staked a claim on her, and it's just weird enough, just creepy enough that it kind of messed with my enjoyment of the book. Even though Dani is old beyond her years, she's still a child. The fact that the sexual innuendoes go over her head, and she's bemused by the sexual tension that frequently swirls around her is evidence of how young she is. Grown men have no business sexualizing her, and that's exactly what happens in this book. Don't get me wrong, I love Ryodan and Christian. Both of them are fascinating, complex men. Ryodan is similar to Barrons but not a replica, and Christian is grappling with holding onto some part of his humanity in the wake of becoming Unseelie. But they're too old for Dani right now, and that's huge problem for me. I imagine the author has a plan to handle the age issue, and I'm really hoping it happens in the next book because if I want to read about 14 year olds, I'd be browsing the YA section.

posted by BekahSC on November 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

This book dragged, and each scene read like a repeat of the one

This book dragged, and each scene read like a repeat of the one before. If Dani would show some compassion for anyone it might put an interesting twist to this series. Also Dani should be older---way too young for all these old characters hitting on her sexually. Made m...
This book dragged, and each scene read like a repeat of the one before. If Dani would show some compassion for anyone it might put an interesting twist to this series. Also Dani should be older---way too young for all these old characters hitting on her sexually. Made my skin crawl. In the first five books, Mac and Barron had that chemistry (love/hate), that made you want to read more. Dani doesn't compare to Mac. Frankly, I liked Christian's characterization better than Dani's. I wanted more about him. There is a mystery about him. But I love Karen's writing style, and I will keep buying and reading her books.

posted by BVeditor on December 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Hurry up and grow Dani...

    The plot is filled with action and adventure, loved seeing Barrons and Mac. Dani is fealess! Giving the book 4 stars. Overall I enjoyed it but surprised that I ended up hating charcters that I loved in past books (you know who you are). Dani's narration got on my nerves, the "dude" and "feck"get old after the first few chapters. Scenes with grown men admiring or getting to close were cringeworthy. Dani needs to grow up, fast.

    21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Awesome read

    This book takes you back to the scene of the Fever series, but now it is Dani's tale. She is fascinating and full of life. I thought her love of life itself, even under the most dire of circumstances refreshing. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because I did find it disturbing that grown men were claiming her in anticipation for the woman she will become. I would have wished the author would have skipped forward a couple of years.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2012

    I'm only giving the book 4 stars because I was really hoping tha

    I'm only giving the book 4 stars because I was really hoping that Dani would have aged a little. Like others, it just felt kind of wrong to root for Ryodan or Christian as her potential contenders considering her being 14 years old and them obviously being WAY too old for her at this stage. Obviously I took a liking to her friend Dancer as well (potential love interest too), who was briefly mentioned in the Fever Series. Can't wait to see how her character unfolds and how she'll develop as a young woman.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Very good

    I was wary because of the age of the narrator, but found myself pleasantly surprised. The fever series lost some its spark because of the disproportionate scenes of sex vs plot (yes, it can get old and annoying), and this had a wonderful unreliable narrator. The narration of the guy was overreached and not believable at times, but otherwise...okay.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Iced

    Dig the Mega. And actually I think Lor is funny.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    This is an amazing book!!! How long before the next one? Please

    This is an amazing book!!! How long before the next one? Please don't make me wait too long, I have a suspicion about Roydons relationship with Dani and I want to see if I'm right.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2012

    I agree with BekahSC that the sexual innuendoes from Ryodan and

    I agree with BekahSC that the sexual innuendoes from Ryodan and Christian were giving to Dani, only being 14 years old, were bothersome. I did love the book, though and am hoping Moning plans to solve that disturbing issue. I am addicted to all the Fever books and I was disappointed that Mac and Jericho were not in Iced. I'm asking myself why weren't they helping to save the planet. Where were they while everybody else was risking their lives? The way the last chapter ended is giving me hope that Mac and Dani will make up and be friends again....and of course, get Barrons back in the picture to help save the planet!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Love the kid

    Want to read more about Dani.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Good spin off

    Interesting book. It switches to Danny in the first person. So far so good but still not as good as Mackayla Lane!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    What I love and find unique about this series is that the charac

    What I love and find unique about this series is that the characters are so "big" as well as their story that one book doesn't cover it. Mac and Jericho's story took 5 books to resolve. It was great to have the Fever series now pivot to Dani "Mega" O'Malley. Dani is featured in the previous Fever books but it appears will be the focus of the Fever books 6-8.




    Dani is a 14 yr old "superhero" self-appointed to be the savior of humans and do what needs to be done to ensure that safety. The story also picks up after the wall fell and the Fae have invaded earth, particularly Dublin, Ireland where Dani and Mac are. Dani is struggling with trying to keep up with her superhero responsibilities along with protecting those close to her, dealing with the loss of her friendship with Mac, growing into a young woman and the changes that go along with that as well as 3 males who have a strong interest in her. The three males trying to compete for Dani's attention are Ryodan, Dancer, and Christian. All 3 are yummy and I keep wondering which one will ultimately win her heart -- although I do have my preference. The issue is that they are all older than her and in one case immortally older than Dani. Dani is slowly discovering her new "adult female" feelings and trying to figure them out. Ms Moning does a fabulous job capturing a teen female perspective; at times I'm frustrated with Dani and her "youth", but I never dislike her. Dani (and Ms Moning) are true to the character. I just keep wondering how MS Moning will handle the issue of making Dani older without too much story passing, but I'm sure she has a fantastic plan-- that's how good her writing and stories are. Now, I just have to anxiously wait for the next book of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    Great Addition to the Fever Series!

    This is a great story to add more depth to an already established universe. I enjoyed Dani's point of view because she's young and way too brave for her own good. The only downside was that I was confused at some of the "voice" changes. There wasn't a clear indication that someone else was taking over the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    I loved the plot and how much action there was through out the b

    I loved the plot and how much action there was through out the book.  I felt that the author did a great job at adding to the fever series and staying true to the series.  The only reason I did not give this book a full five stars was because I felt that some of the interactions between Dani and the men in her life were awkward and inappropriate.  I really think that any grown man hitting on and speaking to a 14 year old the way that the men in this novel spoke to Dani is just gross.  I really wish that maybe the book had had picked up when Dani was a little older.  It would have made things a little less creepy.  Otherwise, great addition to the Fever series.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Huge fan of Karen Marie Moning

    I can't put the book down. I am just as intriged with story as i was with the fae series. Not going to lie, i still like the fae series more but its because i am not use to reading about a 14 yr old character amongst grown adult story line. I need Dani to be older for the next book.

    My thoughts are Rodgen is her father.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Interesting!!

    It is interesting to be getting a better look at Dani and what she has gone througth growing up. I am ready for the next book so we can get more insight and also tie up some loose ends in regard to Mac. If you have read the Fever Series then you need to continue on the journey and read this one as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Not as good as Fever, but still very good!

    I loved the Fever series, and you definitely have to read that series before reading this book in order to understand the story. This book was well written and intriguing, but I did have a problem with Dani being so young for some of the more adult aspects of the book. I had to keep imagining that she was older. Other than that, it was a great book. I will be reading the next books when they come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Great book

    Absolutely loved the fever series this book is gr8 i didnt enjoy as much as the mac novels but it is a great addition to fever world i look forward to the next 1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Roller coaster of Excitement

    This book was impressive. Not once was there down time. The plot, while not overly complicated, took you through a crazy adventure. Moning does a wonderful job in this book, making it exciting, thrilling, sexy, fun, and kept you hooked with mystery. Not another teen series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    I enjoyed the book.. However, the constant harping on Dani's age

    I enjoyed the book.. However, the constant harping on Dani's age but then obsessing about having sex with her by the men ! 'She belongs to me, no she is staying with me !" But she is 14 ! I couldn't figure out if she was naive or just not thinking along those lines. Dancer was a nice grounding touch but all the discussion from her POV about Ryodan's sex life was disturbing. I love Christian, even from the last series ! But in this book, he turned into a chest beating ape... Kill Ryodan & be done with it . Stop the harping !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Going to be a fecking good series

    If you are a fan of Karen Marie Moning, you will love this book & anxiously await the next one. I thought it was awesome & full of suspense. I can't wait for the next installment!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    Like this new series

    Definitely recommend the 1st book in the series.

    I wasn't sure if I would like it since I LOVED the Fever series. (hard act/books to follow) However, I did enjoy Dani's story and found myself letting go of Mac and becoming a follower of Dani. She's only 14 and wondered how KMM was going to keep it interesting from a 14 year perspective. But she did. I look forward to the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4