Customer Reviews for

Iced (Fever Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 454 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(321)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

77 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

Loved the Book, Just Not the Heroine's Age

First off, I'm giving this book Five stars because I thought it was a fantastic addition to the Fever World books. Iced picks up soon after Shadowfever ends, and it re-introduces Dani Mega O'Malley, the pint-sized girl with the super-sized abilities who was Mac's sideki...
First off, I'm giving this book Five stars because I thought it was a fantastic addition to the Fever World books. Iced picks up soon after Shadowfever ends, and it re-introduces Dani Mega O'Malley, the pint-sized girl with the super-sized abilities who was Mac's sidekick in the first five books. Iced is told from Dani's point of view with occasional parts told from Kat's pov and one fascinating brief section told from Christian's. For fans of Mac and Barrons, they're really just on the periphery, but it's the same Dublin as before. And Dani's in her element. With the Sword of Light and her freeze-framing speed, she's practically untouchable as she carves a swathe through the Unseelie hordes that have descended on her city. Enter Ryodan who wants Dani on his payroll, and he's not asking. He's telling. There's also Christian MacKeltar who's morphing into an Unseelie Prince but who watches over her. Here's where my issue lies... she's 14 years old. They're adult men who have somehow staked a claim on her, and it's just weird enough, just creepy enough that it kind of messed with my enjoyment of the book. Even though Dani is old beyond her years, she's still a child. The fact that the sexual innuendoes go over her head, and she's bemused by the sexual tension that frequently swirls around her is evidence of how young she is. Grown men have no business sexualizing her, and that's exactly what happens in this book. Don't get me wrong, I love Ryodan and Christian. Both of them are fascinating, complex men. Ryodan is similar to Barrons but not a replica, and Christian is grappling with holding onto some part of his humanity in the wake of becoming Unseelie. But they're too old for Dani right now, and that's huge problem for me. I imagine the author has a plan to handle the age issue, and I'm really hoping it happens in the next book because if I want to read about 14 year olds, I'd be browsing the YA section.

posted by BekahSC on November 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

This book dragged, and each scene read like a repeat of the one

This book dragged, and each scene read like a repeat of the one before. If Dani would show some compassion for anyone it might put an interesting twist to this series. Also Dani should be older---way too young for all these old characters hitting on her sexually. Made m...
This book dragged, and each scene read like a repeat of the one before. If Dani would show some compassion for anyone it might put an interesting twist to this series. Also Dani should be older---way too young for all these old characters hitting on her sexually. Made my skin crawl. In the first five books, Mac and Barron had that chemistry (love/hate), that made you want to read more. Dani doesn't compare to Mac. Frankly, I liked Christian's characterization better than Dani's. I wanted more about him. There is a mystery about him. But I love Karen's writing style, and I will keep buying and reading her books.

posted by BVeditor on December 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 454 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 23
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    I had a very hard time finishing this book. Dani is beyond annoy

    I had a very hard time finishing this book. Dani is beyond annoying. Also, the manner of her speech is so not Irish.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    I really find Dani to be annoying

    I did not enjoy this book. It was repetitive, predictable, and dani sucks as a main character.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    Disappointing on so many levels. I've read all of the Highlander

    Disappointing on so many levels. I've read all of the Highlander Series and Fever Series books and loved Moning's technique but with Iced I feel she was way off the mark. I honestly do not understand her reasoning in not at the very least aging Dani a few years, and making her more mature so she wasn't grating on my nerves all the time. Also, aging her would have me appreciate the odd advances of the men in her lives without giving me a creep factor. That being said I also hated Mac for the majority of the Fever Series but at least Barrons kept me wanting more.I was hoping the men would keep me going like Barrons did in the Fever Series, but I just couldn't get enthralled with Dani being the POV. Since this is her second heroine character I can now honestly say IMHO that Moning is just not well with creating a heroine character that doesn't rate high on my "Annoy Me Meter".

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    When I first read the synopsis of what Iced was going to be abou

    When I first read the synopsis of what Iced was going to be about I was a bit skeptical about how it was going to pan out with the main male protagonist being so much older than Dani I really could not see how this child was going to fit with all of these adults and it not coming off in appropriate. After all Dani is 14. So I used my 1 hour free read in a B&N store and I was not 20 mins in before I purchased the book and greedily starting reading.

    KMM knocks it out the park…again

    The Dani character adds the overzealous teen innocence to the brutal reality of the post apocalyptical world of "After the walls fell"
    Dani sees the world through not rose colored glasses but glasses of black and white.
    It’s going to be interesting to watch her grow to see the grey's of the world

    So thanks KMM for creating more characters to fall in love with in the Fever series world which already promises to be another great thrill ride

    PS – slight spoiler
    The iPod scene “classic”

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Another favorite!

    This story continues in the setting of the Fever Series with Dani as the main character. Dani is a teenager trying to survive in a world that is falling appart, and she does it on her own terms. This is not a YA book. There is some sex although it does not involve Dani. I cannot wait for the next book in this series. Well done KMM :)

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    GREAT BOOK!

    aren Moning has done it again! ICED picks up were the Fever series left off. Moning's ability to capture and intrigue a reader is astounding; I myself couldn't put the book down until I had read it cover to cover. Which took about 24 hours. Moning's attention to detail in her writing allows the reader to play a captivating mental movie. I can't wait to read her next book; I'm waiting on pens and needles to see what happens next.

    Oh and I noticed some people have been discussing the inappropriateness of the (seemingly immortal) men having some interests in the young feisty Dani O'Malley; however, I feel there interests just lend to coming events as Dani gets older. The men appear to be interested in the glorious women Dani is sure to become and they only seem to at this time want to lookout for the child she still is. Since these men will live for years to come and not age I they see potential and I wonder who will win in the end! I guess I will just have to keep reading Karen Moning's new series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    I was a little skeptical about this book because of Dani's age.

    I was a little skeptical about this book because of Dani's age. I thought her narration and point of view would be too diffuclt to push through. However once again Karen does the amazing and unthinkable. I fell in love with this girl! She's exactly what a fourteen year old should be. I find myself liking Ryodan and her more than Barrons and Mac. Just a bit. I think also because I'm anticipating the second book so It's bugging me. Anyways I really recommend this book.The best part is also that Ryodan is not a replica of Barrons. He's very epic in his own way.For those of you worried about Dani's age, I believe the next book will have her grow up. Karen said she wanted her to stay fourteen at the beginning so we can experience her growing up and going through that sexual awakening. I'm guessing it will be very entertaining! Burned release date: January 14, 2014. Now excuse me while I go cry in a corner....  

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Awful!

    I read and absolutely loved the Fever series. I was so excited to get this book and then I started reading it. There was no excitement, no eagerness to turn the next page, no interest. I made it through the first 100 or so pages and couldn't stand any more. It was the same thing over and over again. As far as Dani is concerned, well, I just don't like her. She's irritating, annoying, conceited, immature and 14. Now I realize that many14 year olds are this way, however, she is over and above the rest. Also her dialog is unchanging from page to page, circumstance to circumstance. She has no decision-making skills and she has no responsibility for her actions. She has little compassion even for those she supposedly cares about. I can't find one thing to like about her except when she is unconscious. It is pretty bad when the protagonist of the book only inspires feelings of irritation and you begin hoping somebody beats her a**, takes away the sword, and ships her off to another country so you don't have to read another "feck you" or "dude". I wasted a lot of money and time on this book that I will never get back. If the next books have her at the same age or level of maturity I will not bother. As it is, I think I will check them out from a library just in case. I hate writing a bad review because I love KMM's other work but I was so disgusted that I felt I had to.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    I really enjoy Karen's books. I read the Fever series and that t

    I really enjoy Karen's books. I read the Fever series and that turned me onto the Highlander series. Love the writing style, the descriptiveness and everything in between. ICED was great, too. Every review I've read is all about the "creepy" older men and their compulsion to claim Dani. Why? It was a great book and it's FICTION. Think about what you were doing at 14 and then add everything that's going on in Karen's world to the mix and it doesn't sound so "creepy" then.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    WHAT A WONDERFUL START TO THIS SPIN-OFF SERIES!! If you haven't

    WHAT A WONDERFUL START TO THIS SPIN-OFF SERIES!!

    If you haven't read the Fever series, you should probably start with that, since this book stars right where the last Fever book left off. You could probably start this series without ever reading the other, but you may be left in the dark about some issues (although Ms. Moning certainly does try to explain most references to the prior series).

    For those upset with Dani's age in this book, I believe there are hints that this is sort of a "coming of age" series for Dani. Also, though they are attracted to her, Ryodan and Christian make no real moves on her and I believe are waiting for her to mature (after all, they are immortal and have plenty of time).

    I love Ms. Moning, and she has not disappointed me with this book. If cursing and innuendo are not for you, this book is not for you. That being said, the cursing is supposed to give you an idea that Dani is not your typical 14-year-old girl, and she is definitely NOT growing up in a nice world, so please keep that in mind for those of you offended by this. If you have never read any of Ms. Moning's books, let me say that they tend to run a little "HOT" and are definitely not for the immature reader (even though the main character in this book is only 14). I would probably say 17+ for this one.

    My one complaint for this book was the same I had at the end of each of the Fever books. ARGH......... I HATE CLIFFHANGERS!!!!!!!!!!! I hate waiting so long between books. At least Ms. Moning makes it worth the wait. Thanx again Karen for another great book, and I cannot wait (seriously, CANNOT WAIT) for the next installment. HURRY UP PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    -- SPeed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was not sure how much I was going to like this book with it be

    I was not sure how much I was going to like this book with it being narrated by Dani. I was not terribly fond of her in the Fever series – I did not hate her, I just did not love her. I was impressed, however, with how Moning wrote her character into this story. She is kind of a loner with only one other person who she trusts completely in (Now that Mac is out of the picture, anyway). Though Dani is only 14 in this book, her age is just a number. I do not believe she has ever been a kid, though she is a bit naive when it comes to Ryodan and Christian. She is a go-getter and takes the world by the balls. There is not much she is afraid of, and even when she does cross paths with fear she faces it head on.

    I love that we got to get to know Christian better in this book. I look forward to see where Moning takes his character. I also love that we got Ryodan. He was kind of an enigmatic character in the first five books of Fever, and even though we got a lot of him in Iced, he is even more mysterious now.

    There are things in the book I have to question (Joe's role, for example), which I have no doubt Moning will provide a suitably entertaining story for later in the series. I was so excited to find out there will be two more Dani books and then two more Fever books after that!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Can't wait for the next installment.

    I liked this book very much. I loved seeing things through Dani's eyes! The parts from Kat's perspective were a bit dull for me though and I foundmyself rushing through them. Now I know a lot of people didn't like how Ryodan and Christian had somewhat claimed Dani and made it clear that they thought of her in a sexual way but I wasn't bothered by it at all. I thought it showed how innocent and niave Dani still it when it comes to sex and men. Plus I am excited to see if she will grow up and actually choose one of them. Personally I hope its Ryodan.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    She's back!

    I'm so happy Moning decided to continue with her Fever series, but I'm a little bummed that the heroine is a teenager. If she's going to grow up throughout the books and we're going to see her become the amazing woman that we know she'll become, I get it. However, if I wanted to read the thoughts of an adolescent coming to terms with her sexuality and her place in the post-apocolypic world, I'd read a YA book.

    Also, I wasn't as creeped out about the men in the book treating her a little more sexually than they should like some of the other reviewers. It was done as tastefully/subtley as it could have and like they said numerous times in the book, in the world that Ryo came from, she'd be old enough to be married with kids at 14. Anything inappropriate was addressed as such in the book by the characters' reactions. My only gripe is that I did the whole teenage angst thing already. I'm an adult now and I'd rather read about adults doing adult things with other adults.

    That aside, it really was an awesome book and I do like Dani as a heroine. She just needs to grow up quick...and not by book 3.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Karen Marie Moning┬┐s newest book, Iced, is still based in the wo

    Karen Marie Moning’s newest book, Iced, is still based in the world of her Fever series. While the Fever series focused on Mac and Jericho Barrons, this new series heroine is Dani O’Malley, a fourteen year old sidhe-seer with super powers and the Sword of Light which can kill Seelie and Unseelie.
    This series picks up right where Fever left off. Even though Mac and Dani are on the outs (if you haven’t read the Fever series Iced will explain why), she is not alone. Dani is still the smart-mouth teenager we know and love but she gains a whole list of new sidekicks. In this new series she is surrounded a by smart man (Dancer), a powerful man (Ryodan), and a Highlander (Christian). Each man has his reasons for wanting to protect Dani from herself and the dangers of the world in year 1 AWC (After the Wall Crash).
    Iced is filled with plenty of creepy Unseelie monsters that we know from the Fever series and a few new and inventive monsters that Moning is so wonderful at creating. There is plenty of action in Iced to keep you on the edge of your seat.
    This story is told from three points of view: Dani’s, filled with her classic “feck” floating throughout her speech; Kat, the reluctant new leader of the sidhe-seers; and Christian, the Highlander trying to adjust to his changing world. These three voices add an interesting flavor to the story, as Dani is all youthful enthusiasm, Kat is weighed down by worry, and Christian is consumed with his single-minded vision. It makes for a rich tapestry in storytelling.
    I highly recommend this fey story. Moning doesn’t disappoint. I found this first Dani O’Malley story to be as good as the first Fever story. I’m looking forward to a long – dare, I say – fun-filled story. I hope we get to see plenty adventures before Dani is grown up and truly understands everything around her.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2012

    I was really looking forward to his book, but was very disappoin

    I was really looking forward to his book, but was very disappointed. It took 200 pages for me to even want to continue reading it. The only reason I got that far is because I know there are more coming and I'm hoping they are better. I LOVED the Fever series, and this fell completely flat for me comparatively. I thought the sexualization with Ryodan and Christian was too much, and Christian creeped me out at points. I loved Dancer, and I really liked the storyline, but it just didn't hold my interest and make me want to keep reading. Also, I found it predictable what the cliffhanger would be. I guessed it from the first couple chapters of Iced. This was definitely not the case with the Fever series that came before this book.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Love love love it :)

    I absolutely love the fever series and Iced is another great addition to it!!! Such dreamy men. Action humor a lil romance and some sexy scenes. Very good read :) love Karen and cant wait for thr next Dani book :D

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    It drew me into Dani's world again like it did with the Fever s

    It drew me into Dani's world again like it did with the Fever series. I couldn't put it down had to read the whole book. The ONLY thing bad is the wait for the next book . PLEASE HURRY

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2012

    I'm only giving the book 4 stars because I was really hoping tha

    I'm only giving the book 4 stars because I was really hoping that Dani would have aged a little. Like others, it just felt kind of wrong to root for Ryodan or Christian as her potential contenders considering her being 14 years old and them obviously being WAY too old for her at this stage. Obviously I took a liking to her friend Dancer as well (potential love interest too), who was briefly mentioned in the Fever Series. Can't wait to see how her character unfolds and how she'll develop as a young woman.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This book failed me! I loved the whole series til I read this o

    This book failed me! I loved the whole series til I read this one. I will not continue on with the series. The main character and her attitudude ruined everything for me. I DO NOT recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2013

    I honestly don't know what to say about this book. My thoughts o

    I honestly don't know what to say about this book. My thoughts on it are a bit jumbled, so forgive me if this review isn't very cohesive. 
    This book was everything I hoped it would be and more. It had me so hooked that I finished all 407 pages in just over 15 hours. The only problems I had with it were Dani's naivete at times (though it was funny sometimes) and how it related to her constant need to be a 'superhero' and the problems caused by this need, and the way she would do dumb things now and again and was surprised by the consequences (ahem, bottle stopper incident). It was especially annoying how she would blame other people for her mistakes, though it made no sense for her to place the blame on them. There was also one part towards the end of the book that didn't really make sense (possible spoiler alert), Ryodan and his men are much faster than Dani, he is able to keep up with Dani in Freeze-frame mode when they're investigating near-absolute-zero temperatures, but yet at a critical moment when Ryodan needs to move through this environment, he can't move quickly enough, but somehow Dani is able to move faster. It was also strange that throughout this crisis befalling Dublin, Barrons and Mac hardly show up. I'm sure these will be explained in the next book, perhaps even why Dani was able to move faster than Ryodan. Most of the above issues I had with the book were due to Dani's age and personality, and I was able to step back, realize, and appreciate this. I’m still floored that Moning can write in present tense so flawlessly.




    Unlike some others who have commented, I had no problem with her relationship with the men in her life. I didn't think that the attention they paid Dani was lascivious or inappropriate. While I am anxious for Dani to grow up and notice one of the men in a more mature and amorous light (I'm rooting for Ryodan so far), I think the anticipation and the journey to that point will be slightly better than that point, only slightly of course.




    I would have been disappointed had Moning started the book at a later date, when amorous attentions would have been more appropriate. I think she did a fantastic job of toeing the line between appropriate and immoral. In fact I think she steered well clear of that line. I hardly consider Dani to be that young, especially when you factor in her experiences and her capabilities. She is nowhere near as innocent as her naiveté may suggest, and it was because of this that I was completely comfortable with the way that Moning laid out interactions between Dani and the men (though one is only 3 years older than her). Throughout the book, I often forgot she was only 14. 




    There were no kisses, maybe 1 inappropriate touch that had a very good reason (Death-by-
    Sex Fae magic), and the ‘looks’ that she kept getting from the three men weren’t necessarily desirous ones, they held emotions Dani didn’t understand, and considering how isolated she was for most of her life, she doesn’t have much experience when it comes to fine emotions and people. I think those people who consider Ryodan a Pedo are those who are forcing sexual innuendo and tension where it wasn’t and would have been just like the ‘grownups’ around Dani, trying to keep her locked down just because of their own misconceptions of her age.




    Overall the book was amazing, and I can’t even hate Moning for the way she ended it, it was brilliant. I don’t even know how I’m going to survive the wait for the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 454 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 23