Customer Reviews for

Icefire (The Last Dragon Chronicles Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 228 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(166)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Ice fire

This might be the best series i have ever read.

posted by Anonymous on February 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not My Favorite of the Series

It is the book that ultimately gives you the basic understanding to set you up for the rest of the series... it has the very important key topics which I assure you is the reason you shouldn't skip it but it does have a majority of slow parts... just like Dark Fire late...
It is the book that ultimately gives you the basic understanding to set you up for the rest of the series... it has the very important key topics which I assure you is the reason you shouldn't skip it but it does have a majority of slow parts... just like Dark Fire later on in the series

Beautifully written though as always with this series

posted by matt5321876 on April 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Great book

    Awesome book but a little confuseing to yunger ones

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    The shadow

    [ Ignis is at res 3. ]
    <p>
    Hisses in annoyment at Stone and slipped behind the dragon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    Stone

    Pulls out a pure light bde.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Anonymous

    I read the first one the fire within as a BOB book pretty good so yeah excited to read this one great work Chris'Dlacey
    I luved the first one.

    :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    First i'm still in the midst of reading this book. I HATE Suzann

    First i'm still in the midst of reading this book. I HATE Suzanna or whatever her name is I just want to punch her in the face.
    SERIOUSLY. HATE HATE HATE!!!! How dare she!! that's all i have to say right now about that.
    lol However i do LOVE this book quite a bit! It flows rather smoothly through the brain, eloquently written, vastly intriguing. 

    (If he ends up with Zanna for real i might stop reading these books. it's not often i despise a character so much.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Love it

    I read this book in the summer and it was cool in the beginning of the book you really feel like tou are in it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Icefire

    So far i read the first book and im looking forward to the sencond book i cant wait to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Second favorite

    Icefire is my sevond favorite. I thought that the first few chapters were a little boring but as the book grew it could be funny in some parts and thrilling and suspenful in some parts. I give Icefire four stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Anonymous

    This book is awesome! SOOO GOOD! The first one talked more about squirrels, and Icefire talked about hedgehogs and dragons. Icefire is the best one in the series. THIS IS A GOTTA READ IT BOOK!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    Pretty good!

    This book was pretty good. The first few chapters were boring, but as usual, the last few chapters are more exciting. (written by my son who read it).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Hey what up world?

    I love these books i just started im on the second one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Great book

    This was a great book but if you are not older than 8 this book may be a little confusing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Wazzam!!!

    This book rocks.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    bought as a gift

    I bought this book as a gift for my granddaughter, she loves Chris d'lacey books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Good Book

    THis book in my opinion is not as good as the first one. it is still very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    Really good book! Read it!

    WARNING SPOILER ALERT
    Icefire was truly a great book. It was written very well by the author and especially how Chris D'Lacy made the dragons talk. This book brings the romance and great adventure stories for your mind to make pictures. So the main character David, has to go an epic adventure to help out all of his friends. He finds out some information about this mysterious ice fire. Plus lots of important knowledge about the ancient dragons that once ruled to earth. Then that leads to how all polar bears are attatched to the dragons. So he and his land lord, Liz, and her daughter, Lucy, help save all the Fire Tear of "many" dragons...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2008

    Best book yet!

    I have never read a better book and right now I'm reading Fire Star and i have to say that Icefire is the best book EVER!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2008

    I love this book!

    This book is the best.Im not finished reading it but so far its awsome.I cant wait to read the other novels of this book series.These books are written by Chris D'lacey, he is my favorite author.All of his books are cool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2007

    Icefire: The Dragon Book

    Icefire by Chris D¿Lacey is a fantasy fiction book that contains mythical creatures and fake characters in a realistic setting. From page one of the book, this novel has been by far the most interesting book that I have ever read. With well-made plots and exceptional storylines, Icefire is a great fiction book that can ever be read. The book takes place in a regular, middle-class house and its neighborhood in which the owner of the house and the tenant live in. The year is probably the modern times in which automobiles and electronics are available at this time. The tenant of the household, David Rain, faces a problem when Aunty Gwyneth or Gwilanna enters Liz Pennykettle¿s household and speaks in the way of dragons to her. She attempts to bring back the rebirth of dragons in the Pennykettle household by hatching a dragon baby from Liz while Liz is pregnant. She also destroyed all of the dragons made by Liz Pennykettle, which in turn destroyed Liz¿s power for all of her clay dragons. David knew the new dragon must not hatch or else Liz might not live and Gwilanna would take over the household forever. Liz and Lucy had left their house in order to attempt to win the best dragon contest at the fair close by town. Meanwhile, David Rain, the tenant, is left at their house, with Zanna, his college friend. David was in Liz¿s private dragon den, examining the dragons when a mysterious stranger, Gwilanna, rings the doorbell and enters the same time Lucy and Liz came back. David was to give up his room for Gwilanna and soon Aunty Gwyneth begins to cause some trouble by knocking Liz unconscious and destroying the power of all of the clay dragons. She then bewitched Liz to hatch a dragon baby for her. David knew that he must stop that or else the household would be destroyed forever. Chris D¿Lacey, author of Icefire, uses a third-person point of view to tell the whole story in the perspective of David Rain and all of the other characters. The wording of the story has no slang or strange dialects because it¿s just regular English in a proper format. Anyone who likes a little bit of fantasy fiction or plots that do not take place in real life should read the novel Icefire by Chris D¿Lacey because this novel narrates a story about dragons and how they rebirth after many, many years. Readers will get enjoyment and information about the fantasy history of dragons in a modern household after reading the story. Readers will also be thrilled with the plot and the conflict as to how the problem is resolved. Reading Icefire will give anyone much enjoyment as well as knowledge of fantasy fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2006

    Special times with Dragon's

    There are kid¿s named Zinnia, David and Lucy. Liz is Lucy¿s mom. David is the tenet and what he has to do is pay the bills, and when Liz and Lucy are gone he has to take care of the house. Zinnia is David¿s friend she is Goth and where tight black skirts or pants and her hair is is black also. Zinnia¿s make up is black. David has a problem and it includes dragon¿s so what David does is he has help from Zinnia. Zinnia has a book on dragon¿s of course David, Lucy and Liz has dragon¿s but. David has to find a lot more difficult information but, what Zinnia does is she asked if she can go up stair¿s where the den is. ¿I don¿t know Zinnia Liz does not like me going up there¿. Say¿s David. ¿But there might be a dragon that can help you¿. Zinnia replies and David answer¿s ¿Ok but just for a few seconds¿. They are up there and Zinnia find¿s a wishing dragon and Zinnia say¿s. ¿Hey why don¿t you use a wishing dragon ¿. David tries¿s it and nothing comes to mind but this lady comes and they think that it is Liz and Lucy. When they open the door it isn¿t Liz and Lucy it is another person. Liz and Lucy know just gets home and Liz say¿s. ¿Aunt Gwenth what a surprise to see you¿. ¿Yeah well some one made a wish and I thought it was from here¿. Aunt Gwenth said. Then Zinnia say¿s breaking the silence. ¿Well I better be on my way¿. Then David has to go to Henry¿s to stay and David has to follow the rule¿s so he reed¿s the rule¿s and he break¿s one rule Henry say¿s. ¿Rule number 19 boy never have a pet in this¿. Then David break¿s the silence by saying. ¿May I use the phone¿? Henry nodded his head. David picks up the phone and call¿s Zinnia and she say¿s that she has the answer to his essay and so David gets to go on his journey. I like this book because it is about figuring out a problem and I know that it is a fantasy but it seems like an adventure. Another reason why I like this book it is because the book make¿s you not want to put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2