Customer Reviews for

The Icing on the Cupcake

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

GREAT READ

Very easy read. This book is a two in one! After every chapter there is a recipe for cupcakes! Already tried one and the cupcakes where a HIT! (I made the pinapple ones) Loved the book kept me entertained...if you love to bake like me you will enjoy this book!!!

posted by Paz_Amor_Felicidad on May 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I

"It'll be okay. I will be with you, in here." He put a paw to her heart. "Good night, now. I love you, Shadowrose." He laid down and slept, shivering.

posted by Anonymous on July 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    GREAT READ

    Very easy read. This book is a two in one! After every chapter there is a recipe for cupcakes! Already tried one and the cupcakes where a HIT! (I made the pinapple ones) Loved the book kept me entertained...if you love to bake like me you will enjoy this book!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    Fun and nostalgic

    I enjoyed this quick read. It was a fun read for this lover of cupcakes and NYC.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Violetheart

    Ravenshine

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Volcanofang

    Huh. Raventalon sounds good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Flowerstem

    I agree on Ravenwing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Dragonstar

    She caught a vole.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Cute But Predictable

    A cute story (and a timely focus on cupcakes) about a recent college grad unsure of what to do with herself after her engagement is called off. She heads to NY to live with her grandma and find herself. The thing I found rather unbelievable was Ansley's transformation from selfish and mean to giving and sweet. Maybe it was all her hard work in opening the bakery and helping her grandma? The characters were not fully developed. Easy read though and lots of recipes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    amazingggg

    a real story relatable to, takes you ona journey of the main character finding their path in life. an emotional ride with suprising twist and turns and an unforgettable change in character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2010

    Fun Light Read

    Great characters, fun light read, and it keeps you guessing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Delicious ...and I don't even like cupcakes!

    I'm going to have to disagree with Ansley. I don't like cupcakes. I don't like cake at all. *ducking incredulous looks*

    However, even I want to try some of these cupcakes! (The Margarita, Hold the Salt one sounds divine!) There are two kinds of food-lit, the kind where food is pervasive in the stories like books from Sarah Addison Allen and Erica Bauermeister, and the kind that weaves recipes into the story, like this book from Jennifer Ross and books from Josi S. Kilpack. I love them both indiscriminately.

    The main character in this book is far from likable. Actually, most of the character's in this book are unlikable. Ansley is cruel; her grandmother, Vivian walked out on her family; her mother Hattie, spoiled her daughter to excess; and then there's Thad, Vivian's haughty financial advisor. Taking all that into consideration, I would usually walk away from such a book, but Ms. Ross created such an interesting story around these characters that you can't help but get pulled into it. (Like Julie, I read this in about a day.) These character's are not just archetypal stereotypes, but have depth and grow. You may not like Ansley by the end of the book, but you sure do respect her.

    The plot moves along nicely and though there is a twist that is foreshadowed early in the book, it is still well done. I also like that the story is not wrapped in a nice neat little package at the end. It is left open, but not so open that you feel cheated out of story.

    Ms. Ross is an excellent example of what is good in the genre of food-lit. I will certainly be seeking more from her.

    http://girlsjustreading.blogspot.com/2010/05/group-review-icing-on-cupcake.html

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    Entertaining but not realistic

    The overall concept was interesting but the ending was not realistic. I do not want to ruin the ending but the accident appeared thrown in at the end. I also do not know alot of people that would be so forgiving of other people's actions since they could be life threatening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2