Customer Reviews for

Icing on the Lake

Average Rating 4
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Will she choose the one who bakes the cakes or the one who skates on the lake?

Kirsten is a shy girl, who is stuck in Minneapolis, Minnesota helping her sister Gretchen, who broke her leg, with her nephew Brett and just trying to keep Gretchen happy. Kirsten is just trying to get through this snowy January, but her friends tell her that she must f...
Kirsten is a shy girl, who is stuck in Minneapolis, Minnesota helping her sister Gretchen, who broke her leg, with her nephew Brett and just trying to keep Gretchen happy. Kirsten is just trying to get through this snowy January, but her friends tell her that she must find a date for Groundhog Getaway. The pressure is coming on strong, until she thinks she has found the one. Sean, the popular hockey player, seems to be interested in her, but when she asks him about the trip he seems uneasy to go. Then Kirsten meets an obnoxious boy named Connor, who seems to be mean and sarcastic all the time. But then Connor seems to be kind of cute in his own way. On a winding ride Kirsten has to decide who will truly be the one. Icing on the Lake had good and bad things about it. I really liked how crazy the book was when you didn¿t know what she would do next. I also liked it when Kirsten would get nervous or do something odd in front of the two boys because it showed that she was a normal girl and not some perfect teenager. I didn¿t like it when Kirsten was leading Sean on because it was really something no one should do. Another thing I didn¿t like was how Kirsten assumed everything because it made her look like she was full of herself sometimes. I thought that Icing on the Lake was a very good book. I would recommend this book to teenage girls because it¿s a romance novel. If you enjoy this book, you will also enjoy Catherine Clark¿s other books such as So Inn Love, Main Squeeze, or Better Latte than Never. Although you hear about this kind of crisis of one girl choosing between two guys often in books and movies, Icing on the Lake has its own twist and moments that will keep you reading until the end.

posted by Anonymous on May 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

Was the least favorite book I've read since getting my nook. Will not recommend to my nook friends. Found it boring and predictable.

posted by Anonymous on January 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    ~OMG AMAZING BOOK~

    Hey everyone it's readingluvr68 here. This book was amazing!!! It is one of my favorite books! It has romance, comedy, and well liked characters! I would DEFINITELY recommend this book!!!!!! If you have read and like the books I have recommended below then you will definitely love this book! If you have read this book and have not read the ones below you will love them! Have a great day!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2008

    Will she choose the one who bakes the cakes or the one who skates on the lake?

    Kirsten is a shy girl, who is stuck in Minneapolis, Minnesota helping her sister Gretchen, who broke her leg, with her nephew Brett and just trying to keep Gretchen happy. Kirsten is just trying to get through this snowy January, but her friends tell her that she must find a date for Groundhog Getaway. The pressure is coming on strong, until she thinks she has found the one. Sean, the popular hockey player, seems to be interested in her, but when she asks him about the trip he seems uneasy to go. Then Kirsten meets an obnoxious boy named Connor, who seems to be mean and sarcastic all the time. But then Connor seems to be kind of cute in his own way. On a winding ride Kirsten has to decide who will truly be the one. Icing on the Lake had good and bad things about it. I really liked how crazy the book was when you didn¿t know what she would do next. I also liked it when Kirsten would get nervous or do something odd in front of the two boys because it showed that she was a normal girl and not some perfect teenager. I didn¿t like it when Kirsten was leading Sean on because it was really something no one should do. Another thing I didn¿t like was how Kirsten assumed everything because it made her look like she was full of herself sometimes. I thought that Icing on the Lake was a very good book. I would recommend this book to teenage girls because it¿s a romance novel. If you enjoy this book, you will also enjoy Catherine Clark¿s other books such as So Inn Love, Main Squeeze, or Better Latte than Never. Although you hear about this kind of crisis of one girl choosing between two guys often in books and movies, Icing on the Lake has its own twist and moments that will keep you reading until the end.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2009

    OMG!!!

    OMG! I love this book. It was the cutest thing like ever! This is definitely a book I would read over and over again. It was funny, sexy, and romantic. If you read this book I promise you WON'T be sorry! It's great. Just about the best book I've ever read. Read it with your friends if you can. It'll surely have you laughing for hours. PLEASE, PLEASE READ!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Anonymous

    Was the least favorite book I've read since getting my nook. Will not recommend to my nook friends. Found it boring and predictable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Ok but not the best I've ever read

    This was not one of my favorite books because i found the writing to be a bit too flat. There was much drama but Mrs. Clark just doenst grab my attention anymore...I perfer Rachel Hawthorne.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2007

    Pretty cliche...

    but the events leading up to the ending were cute and great. Despite the obvious ending, though, it's a good book to read when you have nothing to do. It's like having a fling...except, it's with a book with a cliche ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2006

    im not sure

    ok here me out. i have a couple of more pages to go but i know the ending. but you see even though im reading it quuickly and i want to read it more things went quickly and confused me. like when did kristen and sean get together? and when did conor and kristen start being friends? it went quickly. and the ending well, ill admit i read the ending first and i knew who she would end up with. but after starting from the beginning and reading some of it i wonder how does the story cause the ending? where did the ending come from? dont get me wrong i like the ending( and i guess they stay tog. if im correct) but i wonder if i would have wanted those two people( unidentified for those who didnt readit) get together. because of the lack of conversation and interest. I think this story was okay. and the author and her other stories interest me. im guessing if i read other books by this author this wouldn't be my favoriite. again don't blame me for my opinion

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Wells

    Finds a camo kyruem. He told his dialga to freez time and took a picture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Ava

    Smirks. You cant kill us. We are invincible. She concentraits. The ground stars to tremble. A crack forms and blades daughter falls in as does some other cats. My power is the control of elelments and weather. I got it from saving a kits life. I may be evil but i dont hurt babies. You however are not a baby. She looks to the one who thought that they killed blade. A bolt of lightning strikes him.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Cottondusk

    No!!!!! Aspenfire!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Nebula to ava

    Id stop that if i were you. The massiv white shecat meowed a cool bitterness

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Young at Heart

    YA romance novels are my guilty pleasure, and i LOVED icing on the lake. i was disappointed that it is so short, but i love it anyway.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Good read

    Fast read. Good story line for the girl who loves a good chick book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I loved this book. One night i read about 100+ pages because i just couldn't put it down. I read up until 11 pm that night and had to force myself to stop or i would be up all night trying to finish it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Cute little read...

    This was a cute little read and I liked it a lot! I thought how it ended was great and I'm glad how it all turned out! Would I recommend this book to anyone; yes!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book!!!

    it's a great read. very entertaining, and always leaving you wanting more,the whole situation is very interesting it keeps you wondering about whats going to happen next,i finished the book in one day it was amazing i loved every second of iiiittt !!! xD

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    cute story

    loved how it ended it was a fun story to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    Young at heart romance

    Heart warming

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2008

    one of the best books i've read

    i love this book so much, if you haven't read it yet then i definetly reccomend it to you. i love the story line how its set in the winter and everything about it, in the beginning i wanted kirsten to go out with sean but im glad she ended going out with connor. READ THIS BOOK!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2007

    Best book

    I loved this book. I highly recommend this it. I never wanted it to end.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5