Icky Thump

Icky Thump

4.0 16
     
 
If between OCD and genius lie the White Stripes, Icky Thump tilts toward Nobel Prize territory. Working within strict limitations is Jack (and Meg) White's hallmark; from the candy-cane suits to their studio-vérité work ethic, the duo are a blues-rock answer to a Dogma 95 film. Take 2005's Get Behind Me Satan, which

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Despite my love for the White Stripes, I was disappointed to discover that the album contained lyrics about how white Americans should kick themselves out of the county, too, because they're also immigrants. This is yet another example of why musicians should not try to include politics in their music. Doesn't Jack White know that people don't want illegal immigrants in the country because they avoid paying taxes? Does he enjoy covering for their medical costs? I vote that White sticks to making good music, not perpetuating misinformation.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Jack White is one of very few people who can make musical disarray sound so good. From the odd time signatures to the screaming guitars and always unique lyrics, the White Stripes just keep growing musically.
Guest More than 1 year ago
After hearing “Icky Thump” for the first time, it was apparent that The White Stripes were rejuvenated and on top of their game. Personally, I was disappointed with “Elephant” and the singles from “Get Behind Me Satan” were ok. The music sounded too stripped down and lacked a certain energy that made songs like “Fell In Love With A Girl” and “Dead Leaves and The Dirty Ground” from “White Blood Cells” minimalist rock classics. But after putting on “Icky Thump”, I was just amazed by how much better The White Stripes now sounded. The harder songs rock more and the softer songs have more feeling behind them than before. It’s a more polished sound without sounding overproduced, maintaining the raw feel that makes The White Stripes what they are. Some of my personal favorites are “Icky Thump”, “You Don’t Know What Love Is (You Just Do As You’re Told)”, “300 M.P.H Torrential Downpour Blues”, “Prickly Thorn, But Sweetly Worn”, “I’m Slowly Turning Into You”, and “Effect and Cause”. It’s a solid record from front to back that takes you up and down on a fun musical journey.
Guest More than 1 year ago
songs are original and all good while keeping to their "simple is better" style and mann can jack white rip some riffs! awesome....
Guest More than 1 year ago
It was AWESOME! You get used to one type of sound and they through another at you that's just as good! It's like a mosh pit for your ears. It's perfect especially Rag and Bone. It was so fun to listen to.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Most of the music on this CD was traditional White Stripes music but some was not. The song "Icky Thump" is not typical of the White Stripes so if you're looking to purchase other CDs based on this song don't. I strongly dislike the song "Icky Thump" but to each his own. The other two songs that are not innate to the Stripes are "Prickly Thorn, But Sweetly Worn" and "St. Andrews (This Battle Is in the Air)".
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Listenening to "Icky Thump" is like going to an amusement park and every ride is a little different but they each give you a particular thrill. Listening to the jamming "300 M.P.H. Torrential Outpour Blues" then going into "Conquest" is a little like the bells in "Time" by Pink Floyd but the whole disk is a thrill ride. White's lyrics are genius and his guitar is screeching and sublime. If you only listen to two songs,make them "I'm slowly turning into you" and, well I can't say. You really need to listen to the entire cd. It's Great!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago