Customer Reviews for

Icy Sparks

Average Rating 4
( 134 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2003

    This is a book for the contemplative-not for the standard airhead

    This book is for those who read to get the message, even if it is oblique. It is not a book for standard airhead entertainment. There are a lot of themes that run though this book. You don't necessarily need to understand those with different disabilities or disorders because the themes eventually point to the crux of the message, for which is that even with all of the 'differences' in people--we are all still very much alike in our humanity.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Quirky and triumphant

    I really enjoyed this story. The imperfections we have as humans can cause us pain or embarassment. The author tells a story about a little girl's experience with her imperfections that is sometimes, sad, quirky and funny, but in the end, triumphant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    great novel

    loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    You will root for Icy!!!

    Girl has turrets Syndrome before anyone knows what that is, she is made fun of and can not figure out how to stop herself from uncontrollable jerks and twitches. She just wants to be normal. I wanted her to know that she had an uncontrollable disease, poor girl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2007

    A reviewer

    I enjoyed this book a lot. It was very entertaining for being in the olden days. Very informational on what was wrong with Icy and what she was going through. I don't understand how all of a sudden she just began to have these jerks and pops. It was very interesting with all the new people and the hospital she goes to. She's very independent and I can relate to that so that made me enjoy it even more. I like how when I read I felt like I was there in the scenes and it made it even better. All in all it was an awesome book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    Because mom said so...

    ICy Sparks was a wonderful book to read, and I enjoyed greatly, but the time plausing is a little lengthy and the Author describes many things that are unnessesary to be desrcibed. The characters are quite amusing and the storyline is very good. My mum recommended me the book and I thought it's quaint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2003

    A Great, Different Read

    I love books about the south, well the south that I grew up in. This book gives voice to a little girl that most of us wouldn't know. I feel lucky to have read this book, and to have 'experienced' her life. I keep Icy in mind when I meet others who aren't 'like me' and reach out to them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2003

    Heartwarming

    This book was different. I touched my heart and was an easy read. I do recommend this book to those who are looking for something different. Satisfiying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2003

    A triumph!

    This is a wonderfully written book about a young girl who grows up in the heart of Appalachian culture. She is funny, smart, and appealing. It is a definite read for those who wish to have a keener understanding of Appalachian life with its triumphs and struggles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2003

    Loved It

    I thought this book was GREAT. But it was a little time consuming, if you stopped reading for a few days you maybe had to read a chapter over to know where you are and what is happening. I thought it was worth the time. I'm under the age of 13 years old and i volunteer at a school for children and adults with disabilities if you don't know at least one person with some sort of disability, Tourette Syndrom, Cerebal Palsy, etc. it would be hard for you to truly understand and get into this book. I loved it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2002

    Interesting Story

    I thought it was an interesting story about someone growing up with Turet's Syndrome and what they had to go through while growing up. I had a little trouble getting into it at first but I kept up with it and would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2002

    Icy Sparks: Best book I have read in months

    Icy Sparks is a good book. It takes place in the 1950's in the rural Kentucky. It is a over whelming book that shows the pain that kids go through when they are tormented from kids their age. Icy is over come by tics and croaks that is not know to anyone for years, she even goes and stays at a hospital at the age of 11 to see if they can help her, but there is not much luck. In her adult years she finds out what is wrong with her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2002

    Southern Comfort

    Icy Sparks is the eleven year old girl of the title suffering from a disorder which makes her different from her peers. As her story unfolds I was drawn into her world of rural Kentucky where she's being raised by her grandparents. Icy's story is told with compassion and realism, I enjoyed it immensely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2001

    Growing Up Different

    I thought Icy Sparks was a great eye opener to how kids who grow up being different, truely suffer. I think that almost everyone feels like they are an outcast at some point in their life and because of this it was easy to relate to Icy. This was a sad book due to the way Icy became isolated because of an illness she didn`t recognize and couldn`t help. However the ending of the book did turn out to be uplifting and inspirational. I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a good and inspirational story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2001

    Unconditional Love

    Icy Sparks benefited from the unconditional love of her grandparents and a misfit shop owner.The school principal also made a valuable impact. Without these people in her life things would have been very different for Icy. While reading this book,I was contantly reminded of connections and how important we all are to the people around us. I enjoyed the setting and the simplicity of what it really took to make Icy happy. I am a teacher and I often see grandparents raising children. I sometimes feel sorry for these older people having to handle parenting in their later years. This book made me rethink the whole idea and see the joy a child can bring into anyone's life regardless of age.Read this book and think of the people who have loved you or you have loved unconditionally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2001

    A true since of what being different means

    I could really relate to Icy I had emotional problems as a child that where unknown at the time in the 50's,I felt alone and so different as Icy did, she handeled the hospital stay much better than I would have. She had a very uplifting spirit. I only wish the author would have went a little further with what happen to her as an adult. A good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2001

    Couldn't put it down

    I thought it was a great book! It was interesting to see the sequence of events through a child's eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2