Customer Reviews for

I'd Like to Apologize to Every Teacher I Ever Had: My Year as a Rookie Teacher at Northeast High

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    A Must Read for All First Year Teachers!

    I saw Tony Danza on the Today Show promoting the book and thought it would be a good read for me and my daughter who happens to be in her first year of teaching. Well we both read it and LOVED IT! I thank Tony for taking the time to write this book. So many of his stories have been helpful to her, just knowing that all first year teachers go through similar situations. We loved the way he connected with so many of the kids through the 1/2 Sandwich club and just caring about them personally.

    You give first year teachers hope! And some days that seems like all you have.

    Thank you Tony. Job well done, on the book AND in your first year of teaching!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    Just finished Tony's book and I thoroughly enjoyed every minute

    Just finished Tony's book and I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it! Love his style, enthusiasm, and passion for the children he taught. Being a teacher too, I can appreciate his candor, and creativity, in an effort to communicate and instill a sense of accomplishment in his students.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Highly recommended

    I would love to purchase this book for every BOE member so they could get a glimpse of what it is like in the classroom. Tony Danza goes into teaching with the same dream as all of us, but learns the realities of teaching quickly. Teaching is a great profession, but it encompasses many other skills, as Tony realizes. Although he only teaches 1 block class, he realizes the challenges faced on a daily basis. It is worth the read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    I read that all of his characters were named "Tony" so

    I read that all of his characters were named "Tony" so that this guy would know they were talking to him or rather "his character." I don't know when and where he got his teaching credentials, but being an actor and having A&E give you a show where you teach on camera doesn't make you a teacher. Live on a teacher's salary; deal with schools, administrations, and unruly students year after year after year with little to no appreciation; and deal with the legal threats if you happen to accidentally anger Johnny's Mommy or Daddy... then come back and write a book. Mr. Danza, you are multi-millionaire actor, having had a television show where you teach does not a teacher make you...

    2 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    Highly Recommended for every Administrator in any school!!!

    I enjoyed Mr. Danza's book very much. I agree 100% with the statement that every teacher needs an assistant. As a retired high school math teacher of 32 years, the paper work was beyond belief.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    The most important book you'll never read?

    My husband teaches as a teaching assistant at a University. I work at a private school part time but next year I will be starting as a full time first grade teacher. We decided this would be a good book for us both to read and connect to. We both really liked it! At some points it was a harsh and scary view of what a large public high school is like. At other points it was a story about a teacher working hard, sharing in his students successes and failures and being overwhelmed by administrative expectations. Mr. Danza clearly loved his students and battled with the same issues every teacher does... how do you connect with students without getting too close, how can you be a mentor to your students while also saving time and energy for your own family and how do you make a big impact on a little budget. Unfortunately the most important audience for this book, the politicians and parents who question how much money and support to give to schools, will probably never read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    My world as a teacher in a nutshell. He tells it like it is.

    My world as a teacher in a nutshell. He tells it like it is.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Great Read

    I thoroghly enjoyed this book!!!

    Recommend it highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2