Customer Reviews for

I'd Tell You I Love You, but Then I'd Have to Kill You (Gallagher Girls Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1457 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1016)

4 Star

(247)

3 Star

(95)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(65)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

49 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

A Series that Progesses with Each Book. So Don't Stop Here!

I remember when I'd Tell You I Love You But Then I'd Have to Kill you first came out. Picked it up, sounded interesting, but I hate first character narrators who sound too...teenagery. I've had my experiences with them and I wasn't willing to risk my cash on another one...
I remember when I'd Tell You I Love You But Then I'd Have to Kill you first came out. Picked it up, sounded interesting, but I hate first character narrators who sound too...teenagery. I've had my experiences with them and I wasn't willing to risk my cash on another one. So now, four years later I picked up Heist Society--by Ally Carter, same author of Gallegher Girls series and madly fell in love with her story telling skills. Gallagher Girls series is quite the ride and I'm glad I--twenty years old--picked it up and finally read it. I won't give away anything but each book is full of humor and action. But you can tell that through out the years she started to grasp the whole feel for great story telling--not that the first two books where horrible. Far from it, but the last two books--especially the last one (Only the Good Spy Young) certainly were a crazy ride full of emotion and character development.

The first two books had fun humor and introductions to the spy world and what it had to offer and the troubles and duties that came along with it. But they lacked the action, intensity and climatic story that the last two books where equipped with. Either way, I didn't feel like sticking fork in my eye while reading Cam's narrative. Very fluid and fun and simple. As the story progresses and she faces more danger--without her teachers plannings--she grows more mature and aware of what's out there. What she'll have to face one day.

If you're looking for a series or just a good fun book, then these books are the right choice. Don't let the long--maybe a tad cheesy (I kinda like it :] ) title fool you. Cam and her gang will steal your friendship and Zach (sigh) will steal your heart. Because they're spies. And thats what they do.

posted by Helloo on July 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

I wanna be a spy

Okay, I was never expecting much from this book, especially after I saw that it had been optioned for a film by Disney. But I was hoping for some James Bond/Cody Banks/Spy Kids action.

This book is about Cammie Morgan, a student at the elite Gallagher Academy, which...
Okay, I was never expecting much from this book, especially after I saw that it had been optioned for a film by Disney. But I was hoping for some James Bond/Cody Banks/Spy Kids action.

This book is about Cammie Morgan, a student at the elite Gallagher Academy, which is essentially an all-girl school for spies. Cammie is a pretty normal student at Gallagher, besides the fact that her mother is the headmistress, and she has a reputation for being "the Chameleon." Cammie knows fourteen languages and how to kill a man with a piece of uncooked spaghetti, but when it comes to boys, she's clueless. However, some boy advice will come in handy when she starts up a secret relationship with a normal boy- who thinks she is just a normal girl.

This book was cute. Nothing more than that. It had some humor, not enough to make me laugh out loud, but enough to keep the mood light. That's the thing, I thought this book was TOO light. I never really bought in to any conflict. Don't you think in a book about spies, there should be some bad guys? Essentially, this book is about a girl who meets a boy. The spy stuff is just kind of tacked on. Cammie seemed more like a normal girl than a genius. But she did have a level head on her shoulders. But of course, all her friends wer super-model gorgeous while she is average looking. And she is the one with the boyfriend. Right. The characters and plot were all just a bit bland for me. Not much action to speak of. That was a tad disappointing. But there was some genuine guy advice, which readers will appreciate.

I don't know. It's cute, light, and I'm sure tweenage girls will eat it up. I won't read the sequels though unless they fall into my hands.

posted by Awesomeness1 on June 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Anonymous

    I think this book is a bit if a light read and if your looking for a spy book i would reccomend alex rider

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2012

    It wasen't that exciting..

    Honestly everyone recommended this book to me in 8th grade, and now I'm a sophmore. I don't think this book was really that entertaining, it was very slow moving and weird. The whole concept of the book was very odd, considering that the main character Cammie was 16, and still didn't know how to talk to boys. The whole secretive spy school was kinda creepy since they had to go on secret missions to watch one of there teachers at a carnival just to find out what he was drinking.. Also, I found her lies to Josh very immature, since she couldn't just tell the truth. That really bugged me the entire book, again since shes 16 she should already know that when you lie, it comes right back to bite ya in the butt later. I've learned that probably in junior high and I think its kinda sad that she had to learn it her junior year in highschool. So therefore, the book was very slow moving and annoying. I didn't enjoy reading this book, I wouldnt recommend reading it to anyone.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I'd Tell you too Read this, but....

    This book is about a girl named Cameron Morgan who goes to school at The Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women. Pretty much, its a school for spies. Which is a private boarding school for girls who are very "gifted". With classes like Covert Operations and Code Breaking, these girls must be witty and quick thinking too survive at this school. Cammie is fluent in fourteen different languages and has learned many ways too kill someone. But, when she meets a boy, her and her two best friends go undercover too figure out who he really is. Although, she can get all of his information through hacking computers, she decides too get a little closer look by investigating his house.
    Well, I enjoyed some parts of this book, but it got very boring and I had such trouble getting through it! Many of my friends recommended this book too me, but I think that if you are a better reader ad you like pretty girlie yet books about spies then i think you would really enjoy this book. But, i may try too read the other books in this series and see if any of them are more interesting.
    - Sarah

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Confusing

    Look I'm 9 and I don't understand this

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    I dunno, really boring in begging

    I haven't finished this book. In fact, ive only read the first few pages, but i cannot get through the beggining! Its kind of boring, and i won't be reading this book or the others in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    Okay

    This book is alright. It was hard to get through it. I am one of those people who once they start a book they have to finish it, but I am not going to finished the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    I don't recommend this book :/

    This book wasn't well suited for me. I read this book for a book club at my school but if it hadn't been for that I honestly don't think I would have even finished reading it at all. If u read the back, it misleads you into thinking that the main character, Cammie, will go on an adventure and get to show her smarts and skills. However, she doesn't. Throughout the book it repeatedly states that she can speak fourteen different languages and kill a man seven different ways with her bare hands but you never get to experience her using any of that. If the author hadn't said those things over and over then I would definitely just think of her as a normal girl. Also, if you are looking for a fast paced book with twists and turns then this book is definitely not for you. The book takes a long time to get started and sometimes it seems to drag on. I definitely don't recommend this book.
    -Emma Coen

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    I dont't recommend this book :/

    This book wasn't well suited for me. I read this book for a book club at my school but if it hadn't been for that I honestly don't think I would have even finished reading it at all. If u read the back, it misleads you into thinking that the main character, Cammie, will go on an adventure and get to show her smarts and skills. However, she doesn't. Throughout the book it repeatedly states that she can speak fourteen different languages and kill a man seven different ways with her bare hands but you never get to experience her using any of that. If the author hadn't said those things over and over then I would definitely just think of her as a normal girl. Also, if you are looking for a fast paced book with twists and turns then this book is definitely not for you. The book takes a long time to get started and sometimes it seems to drag on. I definitely don't recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Honest opinion.

    This book was very ... average. it was kind of obvious throughout the entire story. Such a give away. It was rather boring. Very predictable. There's no real danger in the story. If you're a gullible teenage girl who only likes to read about clueless girls; go for it. No offence... even you could see it coming. Don't deny it. I wouldn't reccomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    couldn't get through this book

    after six pages i wasn't excited by the book but i still kept trying to read it by the sixteenth page i was also ready to stop but i tried until i got to page 112 and i couldn't continue, the book was so slow and really bland i just didn't find it interesting, i wouldn't reccomend this book to anyone to read...i guess unless you're really really into spies..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    WORST BOOK EVER

    woahh okay so I bought the book b.c the cover looked good and etc<BR/>but serioulsy the storyline is flat & I get bored<BR/>the romance is probably for 10=-14 year olds

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2007

    bummer of a book

    im happy there are some people who enjoyed this book but i wasnt one of them. i got this book for an xmas gift and am sad to say that i didnt enjoy it at all. i couldnt get into it for some reason.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2