Customer Reviews for

The Ideal Man

Average Rating 4
( 412 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(201)

4 Star

(93)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

too expensive

I will have to wait for it to come out in discount paperback. I love love Julie Garwood though.

posted by 3191477 on July 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

42 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

I'd like to read it but......

Waaay too expensive for an ebook.

posted by ornerylibrarian on June 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 414 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 21
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    I love Julie Garwood!

    Another winner for Julie Garwood. It took me less than a day to read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Have not read but please don't

    give it a 1 star because of the price. It does effect the total score. They do have books for less than $5 that are good. The price does go down once it hits paperback. Remember it is still alot less than the hardcover. She does have other wonderful books out there to read for less also.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Can not wait!

    I cant wait to read this. I have read all of Julie Garwoods books. I would pay $30 to read this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Garwood fan

    I am surprised about the cost of this book

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Fantastic Read

    She was only going jogging to relieve some job stress; she never planned on witnessing an attempted murder!

    Ms. Garwood's romantic suspense stories have always been top notch, but I hadn't read anything new by her for some time. I was happy to get a chance to check out her book. She didn't disappoint me.

    This author makes everything about her books "real". Her characters feel emotions that I find easy to understand and relate to. After all, Ellie is a busy doctor and Max is in the FBI and neither one of them wants to get involved at this point in their careers. I can understand that. And I can also understand why that wonderful reasoning doesn't work.

    The killers are determined to get rid of witnesses and hire assassins to accomplish that. As Ellie and Max fight them off and try to keep Ellie safe, they grow close and begin depending on each other. This is an action packed story with danger all around, with an informant in the FBI office, and no way to know who you can trust. You hope all will end well, but there's no guarantee when you are involved with dangerous folks on the other side of the law whose witnesses disappear before the trial can held.

    With all the tension in the story from the chase, the author relieves the atmosphere by adding Ellie's family problems and creating a heated relationship between the two who didn't want commitment. It's fast paced, tantalizing story that keeps your eyes glued to the page. This is well-put-together thriller with a side of romance. Get your own copy and "taste" it.

    Originally posted at the Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2014

    Beautiful, prodigious doctor Ellie has had a rough time. She has

    Beautiful, prodigious doctor Ellie has had a rough time. She has a stalker, her sister ran off with her fiancé, and now she's the witness in an attempted murder of an FBI agent. Max is the FBI agent that has appointed himself her guardian. Parts of this book is really good - like the love story between Ellie and Max. But a lot of the background stories are too much. For example, Ellie has an estranged relationship with her family because of her stalker. He was so obsessed with her that her family thought the best thing was to send her away. Even today, she visits her parents in secret so that no one tells her stalker her whereabouts. And so, she heads home for her sister's wedding - and oh, did I mention her sister is marrying Ellie's ex-fiance? - only to be found by the stalker. But first, Ellie and her sister have to behave like children bickering over the insipid John. Stalker finds Ellie, hitman trying to stop her from testifying at the FBI witness murder finds Ellie, and it's just one thing after another. If it wasn't for the great attraction between Ellie and Max I would have given up on this one. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    Fantastic author! Love this book! Great action and storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    Not good. I have read nearly every Garwood there is, and was ple

    Not good.
    I have read nearly every Garwood there is, and was pleased to see this one which I had not read. What a mess! The elements of a good Garwood book - spunky heroine, stalwart hero - are present but very recycled, nothing new, fresh or interesting here. I expect some repetition since an author will get a winning formula and ride it to death, but I was so irritated that the book begins nearly exactly like "Mercy" (my favorite) that it was hard to proceed. I got about a quarter of the way through, and then from there, sloppy writing and terribly devised plots made this book unreadable. Often, the point of view switches mid-paragraph, which makes for a jumpy, uneven reading experience. If I could return it, I would.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    VERY GOOD BOOK. I LOVE JULIE GARWOOD'S BOOKS.

    VERY GOOD BOOK. I LOVE JULIE GARWOOD'S BOOKS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Big big Fan

    Another great read, I love her whole FBI series --I also love her Scottish Highland series -- plus all others in between This is a must read if you like Garwood I have read it twice so far since it came out and will probably read it again in a year or so just like i have done with all hrr others

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Rosy

    It was good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Great Read

    This author brought life to the story. It was a great book. I definitely enjoyed reading it. It was a full story line that was easy to follow because of how detailed the she was. She recounted each story line at the end and brought it all together. I will definitely read more from Julie Garwood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Not Julie Garwood at her best

    I love most of Julie Garwood's older books, but for the past few years her books have lost there magic.
    This book started out interesting, but quickly became boring. There's little effort spent on character development, and to be honest, it's just not well written.
    The two main characters are boring and have little chemistry. The supporting characters are extremley wooden, and unlikeable.
    Skip this one, and read one of the Buchanan family series instead. I recommend "Mercy".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Fydjdjdjdjdjdjjdjjjjdjdjjdddudjdjdddudududujgjgghfydhdjdjfucyfnhdfhcnncyc

    this book was so good it was hard for me to put down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    Ok

    Starts off slow, has a lot, possibly too much going on in the middle and ends very quickly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Not Her Best

    Very dissappointing! I never really grasped the idea of "phoned in" until I read this . Really poor effort. Mercy was100% better and it seemed this one was a weak imatation. I give it one star only because there is no half of a star choice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Couldn't put it down

    Very good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Garwood Forever

    Julie Garwood is one of the great romance writers. Have read her books for over 25 yrs & have yet to be disappointed. My all time favorite is Lion's Lady.

    I enjoyed The Ideal Man alot! In fact it will be put on my "Worth Rereading" list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    To my freinds from school

    By Fabio Meyer or olso known as Jhon Meyer this is for my freinds and kaley (if thats how you spell your name because i couldve forggotten) remember me from second grade when our teacher was Mr.Nort.Those days were awsome i'm 12 now almost 13 my birthday is in march.Remember David,Michal,Neco and Kevin my best freinds.I remember this one time when we would play this game where we would put a peice of strong paper and then attach it to a rubber band and then fling them at each other yea even though they would sting.I remember one day you and David kissed behind some computers in in the computer room ha ha even though i knew you had a crush on me.I remember the last day of school when we were watching a movie your freind that sat on our table said she had a crush on me and then Michal would tell me to sit next to her.But that very day i noticed how you looked at me it was like....i cant describe it well hopefully you can read this but if not one of our other freinds do just to look at the past and laugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Good Read

    Julie Garwood's books are always enjoyable and this one is no different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 414 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 21