Customer Reviews for

The Ideal Man

Average Rating 4
( 408 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(201)

4 Star

(91)

3 Star

(67)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

too expensive

I will have to wait for it to come out in discount paperback. I love love Julie Garwood though.

posted by 3191477 on July 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

42 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

I'd like to read it but......

Waaay too expensive for an ebook.

posted by ornerylibrarian on June 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Disappointing

    As a longtime fan of Julie Garwood (I have read everything she has written to date) I was sorely disappointed in "The Ideal Man". The primary charachers are just tweeked versions of the characters in "Mercy"; the prodigy woman doctor, the strong silent hero with 6 brothers etc.....She is capable of such good story structure, this seemed like some "throw away' attempt to get something published this year. Maybe she has run out of story lines and characters. The next book I won't buy but will check it out of the library to see if I want it for my library. Would like to see an effort in line with Mercy, Heartbreaker, Murder List, or Slow Burn....Julie, you are capable of much better.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Not her best!

    Was looking for more from this book. I usually love Julie Garwoods books, this however was just flat. It read like it was written by someone other than her. No twists, no turns just a readable story.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    Very dissapointing

    For those of you who are concerned with t high price def not worth it, wait till t price drop. I bought Julie Garwood book at that price because I am a fan, have read her previouse work and deemed it worth it to spend that. Boy was I wrong the first chapter is awesome and so promising so much spark and sizzle but then it gets lost. I found the family completely annoying, the fact that nobody took a notch or two off Ava is mindbuggling. Really your eleven year old sister is almost killed aaaanndd Ava throws a tantrum very vexing and frustrating book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Garwood fan

    I am surprised about the cost of this book

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    Not good. I have read nearly every Garwood there is, and was ple

    Not good.
    I have read nearly every Garwood there is, and was pleased to see this one which I had not read. What a mess! The elements of a good Garwood book - spunky heroine, stalwart hero - are present but very recycled, nothing new, fresh or interesting here. I expect some repetition since an author will get a winning formula and ride it to death, but I was so irritated that the book begins nearly exactly like "Mercy" (my favorite) that it was hard to proceed. I got about a quarter of the way through, and then from there, sloppy writing and terribly devised plots made this book unreadable. Often, the point of view switches mid-paragraph, which makes for a jumpy, uneven reading experience. If I could return it, I would.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Not Her Best

    Very dissappointing! I never really grasped the idea of "phoned in" until I read this . Really poor effort. Mercy was100% better and it seemed this one was a weak imatation. I give it one star only because there is no half of a star choice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Starkit

    I hqve to stop rping.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    the math doesn't add up

    i cannot believe this book was published. it was so horrible, i had to force myself to finish it. where were the proofreaders? the scene about ellie doing the math problem at the university was so absurd. she didn't even get the right answer. 50 times 100 is not five thousand fifty. IT'S FIVE THOUSAND!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Garwood can do MUCH better!

    Trite dialog and predictable story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    WAY TOO EXPENSIVE FOR AN EBOOK!

    Love Julie Garwood but this is way too expensive!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    Julie Garwood is awesome BUT

    I have read each of her books. I enjoy her writing BUT this will not be purchased by me for my nook. It is WAY TO EXPENSIVE . I can buy the book at Sam's for much less money.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    price restricting

    i can't believe that this is 12.99! the paperback version won't be that much! why whould i pay more for it on the nook? so disappointing...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2