Customer Reviews for

The Ideal Wife

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read

This book was just what I needed... to escape into the drama of these characters and out of my own (smile). Jacquelin Thomas definitely gave us what we wanted in this one! I enjoyed this because it was believable and captivating. I couldn't put it down once I read the f...
This book was just what I needed... to escape into the drama of these characters and out of my own (smile). Jacquelin Thomas definitely gave us what we wanted in this one! I enjoyed this because it was believable and captivating. I couldn't put it down once I read the first page.

posted by Cherelyn on November 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Confused and Boring

This book was too long and boring. It appears the author was confused. I enjoyed her other books but this one was very disappointing.

posted by 1276801 on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 25, 2011

    Excellent Read

    This book was just what I needed... to escape into the drama of these characters and out of my own (smile). Jacquelin Thomas definitely gave us what we wanted in this one! I enjoyed this because it was believable and captivating. I couldn't put it down once I read the first page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Confused and Boring

    This book was too long and boring. It appears the author was confused. I enjoyed her other books but this one was very disappointing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    LOOK DEEP BEFORE YOU LEAP

    JACQUELIN THOMAS HAS DONE IT AGAIN!!!!!!!! MS THOMAS IS ONE OF MY FAVORITE AUTHORS. CHRISTIAN FICTION IS THE BEST. THIS STORY OPENS WITH JANA GETTING EVERYTHING SHE EVER WANTED. THE BEAUTIFUL HOME THE WONDERFUL HUSBAND AND A LIFESTYLE TO DIE FOR BUT AT WHAT COST. WHEN SOMEONE KEEPS ASKING YOU TO CHANGE THIS AND TO CHANGE THAT LOOK OUT, TROUBLE IS RIGHT AROUND THE CORNER. AND JANA FINDS HERSELF SMACK DEAD IN THE MIDDLE. LAWRENCE STARTS TO FLIP THE SCRIPT ON JANA AND SHE IS NOT ABLE TO HANDLE ALL OF THE SKELETONS THAT COME RUNNING OUT OF LAWRENCE'S CLOSET. THIS BOOK WOULD MAKE A GREAT WEDDING GIFT FOR YOUNG LADIES EVERYWHERE WEATHER YOU ARE SAVED OR NOT. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK. ENJOY........

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Miss T

    I liked it I loved it !!!!!! Would read it over and over !!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Quick Read

    This is an excellent book. It focused on Godly principles without being too preachy. Jacquelin uses many analogies in her books regarding biblical characters. This book also focused on how people can twist the bible to soothe their minds from their wrong doing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    AN INTERESTED AND COMPLEX READ! THE IDEAL WIFE by Jacquelin Thom

    AN INTERESTED AND COMPLEX READ!
    THE IDEAL WIFE by Jacquelin Thomas is a Christian Contemporary Fiction/Women's Fiction. Is is written with the scripture tale of Queen Vasti. It is the story of newlywed Jana Collins and her husband Lawrence Collins,an attorney with dark secrets that jeopardize his marriage. A christian wife marries a man with different views on religious beliefs,including the "swinging" life style. Lawrence wants to show off his beautiful wife. "His Ideal Wife" but he goes further by wanting her to do thinks against her will and her beliefs. An interesting,compelling, and complex tale of a modern marriage. Received for an honest review from the publisher. Details can be found at Pocket Books,a division of Simon & Schuster,the author's website,and My Book Addiction and More.



    RATING: 4

    HEAT RATING:Sweet: No sex or scenes of physical intimacy except some kissing. No graphic violence or profanity

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    The Ideal Wife

    This was a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Another Hit!

    Thomas managed to captivate my reading experience once again with colorful realistic characters and a storyline the kept my mind exploring options while pondering the results.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Loved it

    Could not put it down type books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    interesting...

    Probably should noted that the content is very mature!!! Not your typical christian fiction...storyline has a strong point but probably most situations in this book wouldn't pertain to most christian marriages (hopefully). However...a good read for those that can relate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    Love It!

    I loved this book. It kept my attention from the very beginning. If you haven't read it, you gotta read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Trophy Wife,

    Jana has met the man of her dreams. Lawrence is a wealthy, handsome attorney. And he's a Christian. He meets all of her expectations and more. God has truly blessed her with a good husband. The lord has also blessed Lawrence with a good wife. Jana is a Christian, beautiful, intelligent and she loves to cook.

    They dated for six months and then he made all of her dreams come true when he provided her with the wedding of her dreams. Now that they are home from their honeymoon, Jana is beginning to see a little change in her husband.

    Lawrence begins to make demands about how Jana should dress, wear her hair, spend her time and worship. It causes Jana to wonder why he married her if there was so much about her that he didn`t approve of. This drastic change in Lawrence's attitude has Jana pondering whether he married her because he truly loved her or merely as an asset.

    "The Ideal Wife" is an excellent and quick read by Jacquelin Thomas. I highly recommend this book to all.


    Reviewed by: Carmen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    "Ideal" gets twisted.

    I've been a Jacquelin Thomas fan since the beginning of her career. My very favorites have always been Singsation and A Change Is Gonna Come and more recently Redemption. Just when you think an author couldn't write a better story, couldn't possibly tug at your emotions more than they already have...they do it. The Ideal Wife was not a book I thought I'd enjoy. The title suggested a woman working hard at being the perfect Biblical wife and that's been done a million times over in Christian publishing. What I didn't fathom was the criteria for "ideal" in this novel. Without giving it away, being "the ideal wife" had a whole lot to do with a room in the house that was no where near the kitchen or an ironing board. This story took us into the bedroom - you guessed it, the marriage bed and what tangled sheets they were.

    Ms. Thomas kept me in suspense with on the edge of the seat conflict and lots of "No he didn't" moments. I loved not knowing where this story was going. There were surprises around every corner, interesting characters and good, snappy dialogue.

    I also applaud her for dealing with this taboo subject, while bringing home several spiritual messages, one of the most resounding being that "we" need to be careful to not let others twist the meaning of the scriptures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Whose Report Will You Believe

    Rather than follow her plan to attend Bible College young Jana follows her heart and marries the wealthy Hollywood attorney Lawrence Collins. They are truly in love and Jana is determined to become the ideal wife. Lawrence intends for her to be that for him, unfortunately their definition of what that is will become the point of contention that challenges the strength of this newlywed couple.

    Set against the background of the rich and famous, The Ideal Wife brings readers into a world that is usually spoken of behind closed doors. It will be behind those close doors where Jana will have to decide who she is, what she stands for and if she is strong enough to stand for what and who she believes in.

    Author Thomas is to be applauded for shedding light on a subject that many have fallen prey to and one that many others are seeking a way out of.

    Reviewed by Dr. Linda Beed
    On Assignment Reviews @ http://letusbearfruit.blogspot.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2